NYC Metro Area Interactive Maps & Geographic Information Systems Resources: Bibliography

Discover The Geographic Approach to enabling science for a more exceptional planet. Place matters to governments and citizens, and location intelligence and data science have never been more critical for smarter national decision-making. Addressing Earth's Challenges: GIS for Earth Sciences explores a collection of real-life stories about how earth science organizations successfully use geographic information systems (GIS) to visualize and analyze data to streamline workflows, gain competitive insight, drive decision-making, design efficient operations, and foster civic inclusion. Find out how multiple organizations implement GIS in six scientific fields: geoscience, sustainable energy, environmental monitoring, climate science, weather, and marine science. The book also includes a section on next steps that provides helpful ideas, strategies, tools, and actions to help jump-start your use of GIS for earth sciences. A collection of online resources, including additional stories, videos, new ideas and concepts, and downloadable tools and content, complements this book.

ADVANCES IN REMOTE SENSING TECHNOLOGY AND THE THREE POLES Covers recent advances in remote sensing technology applied to the "Three Poles", a concept encompassing the Arctic, Antarctica, and the Himalayas Advances in Remote Sensing Technology and the Three Poles is a multidisciplinary approach studying the lithosphere, hydrosphere (encompassing both limnosphere, and oceanosphere), atmosphere, biosphere, and anthroposphere, of the Arctic, the Antarctic and the Himalayas. The drastic effects of climate change on polar environments bring to the fore the often subtle links between climate change and processes in the hydrosphere, biosphere, and lithosphere, while unanswered questions of the polar regions will help plan and formulate future research projects. Sample topics covered in the work include: Terrestrial net primary production of the Arctic and modeling of Arctic landform evolution Glaciers and glacial environments, including a geological, geophysical, and geospatial survey of Himalayan glaciers Sea ice dynamics in the Antarctic region under a changing climate, the Quaternary geology and geomorphology of Antarctica Continuous satellite missions, data availability, and the nature of future satellite missions, including scientific data sharing policies in different countries Software, tools, models, and remote sensing technology for investigating polar and other environments For postgraduates and researchers working in remote sensing, photogrammetry, and landscape evolution modeling, Advances in Remote Sensing Technology and the Three Poles is a crucial resource for understanding current technological capabilities in the field along with the latest scientific research that has been conducted in polar areas.

Geospatial data acquisition and analysis techniques have experienced tremendous growth in the last few years, providing an opportunity to solve previously unsolved environmental- and natural resource-related problems. However, a variety of challenges are encountered in processing the highly voluminous geospatial data in a scalable and efficient manner. Technological advancements in high-performance computing, computer vision, and big data analytics are enabling the processing of big geospatial data in an efficient and timely manner. Many geospatial communities have already adopted these techniques in multidisciplinary geospatial applications around the world. This book is a single source that offers a comprehensive overview of the state of the art and future developments in this domain. FEATURES Demonstrates the recent advances in geospatial analytics tools, technologies, and algorithms Provides insight and direction to the geospatial community regarding the future trends in scalable and intelligent geospatial analytics Exhibits recent geospatial applications and demonstrates innovative ways to use big geospatial data to address various domain-specific, real-world problems Recognizes the analytical and computational challenges posed and opportunities provided by the increased volume, velocity, and veracity of geospatial data This book is beneficial to graduate and postgraduate students, academicians, research scholars, working professionals, industry experts, and government research agencies working in the geospatial domain, where GIS and remote sensing are used for a variety of purposes. Readers will gain insights into the emerging trends on scalable geospatial data analytics.

ATLAS OF STRUCTURAL GEOLOGICAL AND GEOMORPHOLOGICAL INTERPRETATION OF REMOTE SENSING IMAGES An extensive compilation of case studies in structural geology and geomorphology for interpreting remotely sensed images In the Atlas of Structural Geological and Geomorphological Interpretation of Remote Sensing Images, a team of experts delivers an extensive collection of over 20 different examples of structural geological and geomorphological studies by remote sensing. The book demonstrates how to properly interpret geological features and gather robust and reliable information from remote sensing images. This atlas contains high-quality colour images that depict a diversity of structures and geomorphic features from different tectonic regimes and geographic localities in the Americas, Europe, and Australasia. While its primary emphasis is on structural geology, geomorphology is considered in some depth as well. The examples also cover geological hazards, including volcanic eruptions and earthquakes. Readers will also find: A thorough introduction to the background of remote sensing, including foundational concepts and the classification of remote sensing based on data type, source, platform and imaging media Comprehensive discussions of geomorphology, including explorations of lava fissures, badlands and beaches In-depth explorations of structural geology, including discussions of deformation bands, fault lines and earthquake effects Several examples of how to trace hydrological processes such as glacier retreat, changes in drainage patterns and bar formation Perfect for advanced students and researchers in the geoscience community, Atlas of Structural Geological and Geomorphological Interpretation of Remote Sensing Images will also earn a place in the libraries of practicing professionals with an interest in the interpretation of remote sensing images.

For generations, the map has been central to how societies function all over the world. Cybercartography is a new paradigm for maps and mapping in the information era. Defined as "the organization, presentation, analysis and communication of spatially referenced information on a wide variety of topics of interest to society," cybercartography is presented in an interactive, dynamic, multisensory format with the use of multimedia and multimodal interfaces. Cybercartography: Theory and Practice examines the major elements of cybercartography and emphasizes the importance of interaction between theory and practice in developing a paradigm which moves beyond the concept of Geographic Information Systems and Geographical Information Science. It argues for the centrality of the map as part of an integrated information, communication, and analytical package. This volume is a result of a multidisciplinary team effort and has benefited from the input of partners from government, industry and other organizations. The international team reports on major original cybercartographic research and practice from a variety of disciplinary perspectives, including the humanities, social sciences including human factors psychology, cybernetics, English literature, cultural mediation, cartography, and geography. This new synthesis has intrinsic value for industries, the general public, and the relationships between mapping and the development of user-centered multimedia interfaces.

Deep maps are finely detailed, multimedia depictions of a place and the people, buildings, objects, flora, and fauna that exist within it and which are inseparable from the activities of everyday life. These depictions may encompass the beliefs, desires, hopes, and fears of residents and help show what ties one place to another. A deep map is a way to engage evidence within its spatio-temporal context and to provide a platform for a spatially-embedded argument. The essays in this book investigate deep mapping and the spatial narratives that stem from it. The authors come from a variety of disciplines: history, religious studies, geography and geographic information science, and computer science. Each applies the concepts of space, time, and place to problems central to an understanding of society and culture, employing deep maps to reveal the confluence of actions and evidence and to trace paths of intellectual exploration by making use of a new creative space that is visual, structurally open, multi-media, and multi-layered.

Create useful and usable map apps that your users will love. Turn your next map app project into a success with Designing Map Interfaces: Patterns for Building Effective Map Apps. Whether you're configuring an out-of-the-box solution, building an app using one of the readily available app builder tools, or working on a custom app project, this book will guide you toward developing more useful and usable apps. Current courses for application development focus on technology and architecture rather than the tenets of interface design. This book teaches GIS professionals, developers, and designers the principles and best practices that will help them create stunning consumer-grade apps. Designing Map Interfaces provides a language for planning and building map apps. The elements of this language are made up of user interface (UI) patterns. Each pattern describes a solution to an observed and recurring problem in UI design. This book explains when to use the pattern, why it is important, and what to consider--and in turn will help readers make educated decisions on what, why, when, and how to solve problems to make their apps work. Throughout the book, patterns are illustrated through real-world examples. Key topics include:  getting started with design,  selecting the right layout,  interacting with the map,    dealing with complex data,  designing for mobile devices, building single-purpose apps, and  common mistakes and how to avoid them. This book is aimed at anyone that configures (solution engineers, GIS professionals) or builds (developer community, designers) map apps, especially the fast-growing group of users who employ application builders and tools that create apps to publish their own data and maps on the web. Designing Map Interfaces fills the gap that documentation lacks--practical tips on how to assemble a meaningful UI. This book is the essential guide to designing map interfaces that are usable and efficient, and look good in the process.

With the emergence of smart technology and automated systems in today's world, big data is being incorporated into many applications. Trends in data can be detected and objects can be tracked based on the real-time data that is utilized in everyday life. These connected sensor devices and objects will provide a large amount of data that is to be analyzed quickly, as it can accelerate the transformation of smart technology. The accuracy of prediction of artificial intelligence (AI) systems is drastically increasing by using machine learning and other probability and statistical approaches. Big data and geospatial data help to solve complex issues and play a vital role in future applications. Emerging Trends, Techniques, and Applications in Geospatial Data Science provides an overview of the basic concepts of data science, related tools and technologies, and algorithms for managing the relevant challenges in real-time application domains. The book covers a detailed description for readers with practical ideas using AI, the internet of things (IoT), and machine learning to deal with the analysis, modeling, and predictions from big data. Covering topics such as field spectra, high-resolution sensing imagery, and spatiotemporal data engineering, this premier reference source is an excellent resource for data scientists, computer and IT professionals, managers, mathematicians and statisticians, health professionals, technology developers, students and educators of higher education, librarians, researchers, and academicians.

The burgeoning field of data science has provided a wealth of techniques for analysing large and complex geospatial datasets, including descriptive, explanatory, and predictive analytics. However, applying these methods is just one part of the overall process of geographic data science. Other critical steps include screening for suspect data values, handling missing data, harmonizing data from multiple sources, summarizing the data, and visualizing data and analysis results. Although there are many books available on statistical and machine learning methods, few encompass the broader topic of scientific workflows for geospatial data processing and analysis.

The purpose of Geographic Data Science with R is to fill this gap by providing a series of tutorials aimed at teaching good practices for using geospatial data to address problems in environmental geography. It is based on the R language and environment, which currently provides the best option for working with diverse spatial and non-spatial data in a single platform. Fundamental techniques for processing and visualizing tabular, vector, and raster data are introduced through a series of practical examples followed by case studies that combine multiple types of data to address more complex problems.

The book will have a broad audience. Both students and professionals can use it as a workbook to learn high-level techniques for geospatial data processing and analysis with R. It is also suitable as a textbook. Although not intended to provide a comprehensive introduction to R, it is designed to be accessible to readers who have at least some knowledge of coding but little to no experience with R.

′The Steinbergs have produced a very relevant book for the times. . . . While many books have emerged on the details of GIS, few resources exist to help teach the merger of GIS with more standard research methods. The Steinbergs accomplish this goal in a way that is readily accessible even to undergraduates.′ùTheodore Wagenaar, Miami Universityáá ′The Steinbergs take the reader through all of the essential foundations of GISà using examples drawn from the social sciences throughout. This book will be essential reading for any social scientist looking for a straightforward introduction to GIS.′ùMike Goodchild, University of California, Santa Barbaraáá Geographic Information Systems for the Social Sciences: Investigating Space and Place is the first book to take a cutting-edge approach to integrating spatial concepts into the social sciences. In this text, authors Steven J. Steinberg and Sheila L. Steinberg simplify GIS (Geographic Information Systems) for practitioners and students in the social sciences through the use of examples and actual program exercises so that they can become comfortable incorporating this research tool into their repertoire and scope of interest. The authors provide learning objectives for each chapter, chapter summaries, links to relevant Web sites, as well as suggestions for student research projects.áá Key Features:Presents step-by-step guidance for integrating GIS with both quantitative and qualitative research Provides an introduction to the use of GIS technology written at an accessible level for individuals without GIS experience while providing depth and guidance appropriate to experienced GIS usersá Offers an associated interactive Web siteùhttp:/www.socialsciencegis.orgùto provide a forum for sharing experience and ideas, input to the authors, and a variety of other examples, data, and information related to the topics covered in the text Geographic Information Systems for the Social Sciences offers a nuts-and-bolts introduction to GIS for undergraduate and graduate students taking methods courses across the social sciences. It is an excellent textbook for courses dedicated to GIS research and its applications in the fields of Sociology, Criminology, Public Health, Geography, Anthropology, Political Science, and Environmental Studies. It is also a valuable resource for any social scientist or practitioner interested in applying GIS technology to his or her work.An Instructor′s Resource CD, containing PowerPoint slides, test questions, and suggested Web site links,áamong other items, is also availableáto all professors adopting this text.

Get the latest information about online GIS using ArcGIS® apps and functionality.  Capabilities of Web GIS keep expanding, and Getting to Know Web GIS, fifth edition, describes some of the most cutting-edge and exciting innovations. From publishing data as services and configuring engaging web and mobile apps to automation, scripting, and real-world applications, this book shares how to use the most current software and apps for using ArcGIS in the cloud.  In the newest edition of Getting to Know Web GIS, you can work with the latest releases of ArcGIS Online, ArcGIS Pro, ArcGIS StoryMaps℠, and ArcGIS mobile apps. You can experience ArcGIS Experience Builder, ArcGIS Field Maps, ArcGIS Instant Apps, ArcGIS Image for ArcGIS Online, ArcGIS Mission, and the latest advances in artificial intelligence, virtual reality, and tools for spatial data science. No programming is required, but you can learn more about Web GIS programming in this book using JavaScript, webhooks, and ArcGIS Arcade.  Use the fifth edition to:  improve your online visual storytelling, work with 2D smart mapping and 3D web scenes,  create informative web experiences and dashboards, support field operations and data collection using mobile apps, use new data science tools for spatial analysis and geoprocessing, detect objects using deep learning packages, program a triggered notification using a visual interface, and more.  GIS expert, instructor, and author Pinde Fu provides lecture slides and additional resources in an online story using ArcGIS StoryMaps.   Today's modern GIS is Web GIS--get onboard with one of the most interesting and creative areas of GIS. 

This book provides a non-technical overview of the science and tools behind geographic information systems and geographic information science for researchers, students and academics who do not have a GIS or Geography background. The book covers the history of GIS, from John Snow's Cholera map (1854) right up to today's software and data and cutting-edge analysis techniques. Bearman goes on to cover how to find, use and evaluate the latest data sets to critiquing existing maps, highlighting limitations and common mistakes. A variety of different GIS methods including Google Maps, GPS, big data, context and choropleth maps are discussed and the pros and cons of each are highlighted allowing you to choose the appropriate method or piece of software for your own research. This is the ideal book for anyone thinking about using GIS in their own research.

A self-guided tour of GIS and how it benefits consumers and businesses alike

This introduction to urban planning applications and problem solving with CIS is appropriate for students and professionals in the fields of geography, urban studies, urban planning, urban public health, urban environmental assessment, and hazard and emergency management. Technical jargon is minimized while the analytical concepts are fully described, enabling full use and understanding of GIS techniques. Infused in the included laboratory exercises are real-world activities that are often required in urban GIS projects but rarely included in prepared lab work, such as data acquisition, integrating data into the GIS, and manipulation of real data. Project design and analysis methodologies are also demonstrated with real-life examples of urban GIS projects.

This comprehensive handbook covers Geospatial Artificial Intelligence (GeoAI), which is the integration of geospatial studies and AI machine (deep) learning and knowledge graph technologies. It explains key fundamental concepts, methods, models, and technologies of GeoAI, and discusses the recent advances, research tools, and applications that range from environmental observation and social sensing to natural disaster responses. As the first single volume on this fast-emerging domain, Handbook of Geospatial Artificial Intelligence is an excellent resource for educators, students, researchers, and practitioners utilizing GeoAI in fields such as information science, environment and natural resources, geosciences, and geography.Features Provides systematic introductions and discussions of GeoAI theory, methods, technologies, applications, and future perspectives Covers a wide range of GeoAI applications and case studies in practice Offers supplementary materials such as data, programming code, tools, and case studies Discusses the recent developments of GeoAI methods and tools Includes contributions written by top experts in cutting-edge GeoAI topics This book is intended for upper-level undergraduate and graduate students from different disciplines and those taking GIS courses in geography or computer sciences as well as software engineers, geospatial industry engineers, GIS professionals in non-governmental organizations, and federal/state agencies who use GIS and want to learn more about GeoAI advances and applications.

This book explores how we create deep maps, delving into the development of methods and approaches that move beyond standard two-dimensional cartography. Deep mapping offers a more detailed exploration of the world we inhabit. Moving from concept to practice, this book addresses how we make deep maps. It explores what methods are available, what technologies and approaches are favorable when designing deep maps, and what lessons assist the practitioner during their construction. This book aims to create an open-ended way in which to understand complex problems through multiple perspectives, while providing a means to represent the physical properties of the real world and to respond to the needs of contemporary scholarship. With contributions from leading experts in the spatial humanities, chapters focus on the linked layers of quantitative and qualitative data, maps, photographs, images, and sound that offer a dynamic view of past and present worlds.

Map Use: Reading, Analysis, Interpretation, eigth edition is a comprehensive, foundational textbook designed for the college curriculum. Now updated with a new section on map interpretation, Map Use provides students with the knowledge and skills to read and understand maps, and offers professional cartographers a thorough reference resource. Nearly 600 full-color maps, photographs, and graphs illustrate the concepts behind communicating with maps, while Powerpoint slides (available through the book resource page at esripress.esri.com/bookresources) further support use of the text in the classroom. The book renders basic cartographic principles accessible to all, from students of cartography and map design to those without a formal education in geography. Accommodating new developments in GPS and geographic information system technology, Map Use: Reading, Analysis, Interpretation, eighth edition can serve as an excellent introductory GIS text.

This book elaborates fuzzy machine and deep learning models for single class mapping from multi-sensor, multi-temporal remote sensing images while handling mixed pixels and noise. It also covers the ways of pre-processing and spectral dimensionality reduction of temporal data. Further, it discusses the 'individual sample as mean' training approach to handle heterogeneity within a class. The appendix section of the book includes case studies such as mapping crop type, forest species, and stubble burnt paddy fields. Key features: Focuses on use of multi-sensor, multi-temporal data while handling spectral overlap between classes Discusses range of fuzzy/deep learning models capable to extract specific single class and separates noise Describes pre-processing while using spectral, textural, CBSI indices, and back scatter coefficient/Radar Vegetation Index (RVI) Discusses the role of training data to handle the heterogeneity within a class Supports multi-sensor and multi-temporal data processing through in-house SMIC software Includes case studies and practical applications for single class mapping This book is intended for graduate/postgraduate students, research scholars, and professionals working in environmental, geography, computer sciences, remote sensing, geoinformatics, forestry, agriculture, post-disaster, urban transition studies, and other related areas.

As enlightening as The Facebook Effect, Elon Musk, and Chaos Monkeys--the compelling, behind-the-scenes story of the creation of one of the most essential applications ever devised, and the rag-tag team that built it and changed how we navigate the world Never Lost Again chronicles the evolution of mapping technology--the "overnight success twenty years in the making." Bill Kilday takes us behind the scenes of the tech's development, and introduces to the team that gave us not only Google Maps but Google Earth, and most recently, Pokémon GO. He takes us back to the beginning to Keyhole--a cash-strapped startup mapping company started by a small-town Texas boy named John Hanke, that nearly folded when the tech bubble burst. While a contract with the CIA kept them afloat, the company's big break came with the first invasion of Iraq; CNN used their technology to cover the war and made it famous. Then Google came on the scene, buying the company and relaunching the software as Google Maps and Google Earth. Eventually, Hanke's original company was spun back out of Google, and is now responsible for Pokémon GO and the upcoming Harry Potter: Wizards Unite. Kilday, the marketing director for Keyhole and Google Maps, was there from the earliest days, and offers a personal look behind the scenes at the tech and the minds developing it. But this book isn't only a look back at the past; it is also a glimpse of what's to come. Kilday reveals how emerging map-based technologies including virtual reality and driverless cars are going to upend our lives once again. Never Lost Again shows us how our worldview changed dramatically as a result of vision, imagination, and implementation. It's a crazy story. And it all started with a really good map.

On-board image processing systems are used to maximize image data transmission efficiency for large volumes of data gathered by Earth observation satellites. This book explains the methods, mathematical models, and key technologies used for these systems. It introduces the background, basic concepts, and the architecture of on-board image processing, along with on-board detection of the image feature and matching, ground control point identification, on-board geometric correction, calibration, geographic registration, etc.

• Describes algorithms and methodologies for on-board image processing with FPGA chips.
• Migrates the traditional on-ground computing to on-board operation and the image processing is implemented on-board, not on-ground.
• Introduces for the first time many key technologies and methods for on-board image processing.
• Emphasizes the recent progress in image processing by using on-board FPGA chips.
• Includes case studies from the author’s extensive research and experience on the topic.

This book gives insights into emerging technologies for on-board processing and will benefit senior undergraduate and graduate students of remote sensing, information technology, computer science and engineering, electronic engineering, and geography, as well as researchers and professionals interested in satellite remote sensing image processing in academia, and governmental and commercial sectors.

Discover the geographic approach to conservation land management and landscape conservation.  Geographic information system (GIS) technology offers a comprehensive tool for conservation professionals. A modern GIS gives users a real-time look at their data, locations, and their relationships. When applied to conservation, it reveals dependencies and challenges across multiple environments. Through maps and apps, conservation professionals can observe the field, analyze and organize their data, and collaborate with other organizations and the public on addressing threats and opportunities found. Preserving Our Planet: GIS for Conservation explores a collection of real-life stories about conservation organizations successfully using GIS to meet challenges to biodiversity preservation in our rapidly changing world. The book also includes a section on next steps that provides ideas, strategies, tools, and actions to help you jump-start your own use of GIS for conservation. A collection of online resources, including additional stories, videos, new ideas and concepts, and downloadable tools and content, complements this book. Edited by David Gadsden, director of conservation solutions at Esri, and Matt Artz, an Esri content strategist. 

An accessible guide to the ideas and technologies underlying such applications as GPS, Google Maps, Pokemon Go, ride-sharing, driverless cars, and drone surveillance.Billions of people around the globe use various applications of spatial computing daily-by using a ride-sharing app, GPS, the e911 system, social media check-ins, even Pokemon Go. Scientists and researchers use spatial computing to track diseases, map the bottom of the oceans, chart the behavior of endangered species, and create election maps in real time. Drones and driverless cars use a variety of spatial computing technologies. Spatial computing works by understanding the physical world, knowing and communicating our relation to places in that world, and navigating through those places. It has changed our lives and infrastructures profoundly, marking a significant shift in how we make our way in the world. This volume in the MIT Essential Knowledge series explains the technologies and ideas behind spatial computing. The book offers accessible descriptions of GPS and location-based services, including the use of Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, and RFID for position determination out of satellite range; remote sensing, which uses satellite and aerial platforms to monitor such varied phenomena as global food production, the effects of climate change, and subsurface natural resources on other planets; geographic information systems (GIS), which store, analyze, and visualize spatial data; spatial databases, which store multiple forms of spatial data; and spatial statistics and spatial data science, used to analyze location-related data.

This book presents fundamental new techniques for understanding and processing geospatial data. These "spatial gems" articulate and highlight insightful ideas that often remain unstated in graduate textbooks, and which are not the focus of research papers. They teach us how to do something useful with spatial data, in the form of algorithms, code, or equations. Unlike a research paper, Spatial Gems, Volume 1 does not focus on "Look what we have done!" but rather shows "Look what YOU can do!" With contributions from researchers at the forefront of the field, this volume occupies a unique position in the literature by serving graduate students, professional researchers, professors, and computer developers in the field alike.

Top 20 Essential Skills for ArcGIS® Pro introduces the most important skills you need to get up and running with desktop GIS. With its location data advantage, geographic information systems (GIS) software is a tool to help with key projects, decisions, and problems. But how do you start using GIS on your projects? If you need a fast track to use this valuable tool, learn and get experience with Top 20 Essential Skills for ArcGIS Pro. With this book, you can start using ArcGIS Pro quickly and successfully. Written for ArcGIS Pro, Esri's powerful desktop GIS application Easy to understand, step-by-step exercises Conversational, upbeat language with lots of illustrations and tips Interesting user stories covering how GIS is applied in many situations Exercises for working with spatial data, creating maps, and doing basic analysis This handy resource with easy to follow, how-to steps will help you build your skill set to become adept at understanding and using ArcGIS Pro.

This book focuses on geospatial information in living spaces, providing many examples of its collection and use as well as discussing the problems of how it is used and its future prospects. Geospatial information science is in the process of evolving and being systematized, with the technical and usage aspects of the real world stimulating each other. This book systematizes the technical aspects of positioning; of geography, which manages and represents what is measured in units of earth coordinates; and of data science, which aims to efficiently express and process geographic information, all by introducing contemporary examples that are systematized with regard to their use in our living spaces. Examples of geospatial information used in almost all aspects of our lives, including urban areas, transportation, disaster prevention, health and medical care, agriculture, forestry and fisheries, culture, ecology, and topography, are presented, along with examples of their use in each area. One of the major features of this book is that it describes the use of data from earthquake disasters that is unique to Japan, as well as the use of open data and personal data in Japan, which is a trend that is gaining attention in many countries.  In this way the book systematically describes events and circumstances in living spaces that are revealed by the expression and analysis of geospatial data, with case studies and discusses their use in the IoT era.

The story of the rise of modern navigation technology, from radio location to GPS-and the consequent decline of privacy What does it mean to never get lost? You Are Here examines the rise of our technologically aided era of navigational omniscience-or how we came to know exactly where we are at all times. In a sweeping history of the development of location technology in the past century, Bray shows how radio signals created to carry telegraph messages were transformed into invisible beacons to guide ships and how a set of rapidly-spinning wheels steered submarines beneath the polar ice cap. But while most of these technologies were developed for and by the military, they are now ubiquitous in our everyday lives. Our phones are now smart enough to pinpoint our presence to within a few feet-and nosy enough to share that information with governments and corporations. Filled with tales of scientists and astronauts, inventors and entrepreneurs, You Are Here tells the story of how humankind ingeniously solved one of its oldest and toughest problems-only to herald a new era in which it's impossible to hide.