Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Getting Started with Archives: Glossary

This guide serves as an introduction to locating and evaluating collection description, and beginning archival research at NYPL

Glossary

Archives terminology

Collection: a set of materials which are organized together because of a shared characteristic

Series or subseries: a set of material within a collection organized together because of a shared characteristic

Creator: the person, group, or organization responsible for bringing a collection together

Papers: documents accumulated by a person or family in the natural course of their affairs

Records: documents accumulated by person, group, or organization in the conduct of their business

Autograph collection: a set of documents intentionally acquired because of the prominence of their authors

Provenance: the origin of a set of materials

Finding aid: a document which describes the provenance and organization of an archival collection (also called a collection guide)

Container list: part of a finding aid which lists the physical arrangement of materials

Correspondents list: part of a finding aid which partially lists individual authors of correspondence in a collection

Granularity: the level of detail to which all or part of a collection is processed and described in the finding aid

Container list abbreviations

b. = box (can range in size from a couple inches to a linear foot)

f. = folder (can contain one or several archival items)

of. = oversize folder

v. = volume (any bound, unboxed item, such as a scrapbook, a register, a printed book)

r. = reel (microfilm)

t. = tube (large, rolled item, such as architectural plans)

sr. = sound recording (usually an audiocassette)

er. = electronic record (digital files which need to be accessed on special computer station)

di. = disk image (a use copy of computer software)

[Unit ID] = a set of numbers which identifies an audiovisual document