It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Arturo (Arthur) Schomburg Research Guide: Archival Collections
A guide to resources related to bibliophile and curator Arturo Schomburg.
This is the main archival collection documenting Arthur Schomburg. The papers reflect Schomburg's endeavors as a writer and researcher, as well as a collector and curator of books and manuscripts documenting black history and culture. The collection contains personal and professional papers, including correspondence, writings, material relating to Schomburg's position as curator of the Schomburg Collection at the 135th St. branch of the New York Public Library, and research material relating to black literature, art, and history.
Minutes, constitution, and bylaws of the Dos Antillas Political Club, a revolutionary organization founded by Arthur A. Schomburg and others in 1892 to work for the independence of Cuba and Puerto Rico. The minutes document the donation of weapons, money, and medical supplies.
A small collection consisting primarily of correspondence to Arthur Schomburg; press clippings, mostly in scrapbooks, of articles by and about Schomburg; ephemera; and memorials of Schomburg written after his death.
These files consists of correspondence and minutes of meetings of the Schomburg Committee of the Trustees of The New York Public Library, and some news clippings relating to the 1926 purchase of Schomburg's book collection. The post-1926 papers include correspondence pertaining to efforts to keep Arthur Schomburg on the library payroll, acquisition of additional material, and Arthur Schomburg's research plans.
A collection of photographs depicting aspects of Schomburg's personal life and his activities as a Freemason, bibliophile and curator from the 1870s to 1938. The collection includes individual and group portraits, candid shots and snapshots of Schomburg; his wives and family members; and friends and professional associates. Also depicted are social activities and gatherings; exterior views of buildings and residences; reproductions of letters, citations, clippings and a passport; and snapshot views of a trip to Spain and France.
The items below are available in the Art and Artifacts Division of the Schomburg Center. Appointments are required. For more information about visiting the division, see here.
PA.35.001.2 Pastor Argudin y Pedroso, Portrait of the Curator, Arthur A. Schomburg, 1935.
PA.X.038.1 Albert Alexander Smith, A.A. Schomburg, date unknown.
DR.25.001.8 William Earnest Braxton, Portrait of a Man (Arthur A. Schomburg), 1911.
DR.66.392 Richard Brent, Portrait of a Man with Polka Dot Baute (Arthur Schomburg), date unknown.
SC.04.002 Al Write, Arthur Schomburg, date unknown.
A typescript by Arthur Schomburg listing the roles of Ira Frederick Aldridge (1807-1867), one of the most important Black actors of the nineteenth century. Aldridge toured for over forty years throughout England as well as in France, Russia, Sweden, Czechoslavakia, Turkey, Germany and Austria.
Alexander Gumby was an African American bibliophile and proprietor of a Harlem Renaissance salon known as the Gumby Book Studio. His collection contains over one hundred scrapbooks, including one on "Libraries" which features clippings and ephemera relating to Schomburg. View this collection at the Columbia University Rare Book and Manuscript Library or in an online exhibition here: https://exhibitions.library.columbia.edu/exhibits/show/gumby