Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
  • Accessible at all NYPL locations and outside the Library with your NYPL card
New
The American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection provides digital access to American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. The fifty thematic subsets include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals not available from any other source and provide content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more. See below for collections:
  • Accessible at all NYPL locations and outside the Library with your NYPL card
New
Artifex Press is a publisher of digital catalogues raisonnés. A catalogue raisonné is the definitive, comprehensive, and annotated compilation of all the known works of an artist. Artifex Press combines art-historical research with the flexibility of digital publishing, creating digital archives for various artists, including: Chuck Close, Jim Dine and Tim Hawkinson. When accessing the digital archives click on "institutional login." **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
  • Accessible at all NYPL locations and outside the Library with your NYPL card
New
The Business Source Complete database includes full text business journals and magazines, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
  • Restricted: This database is accessible at certain NYPL locations only. Please see description for details.
New
This database provides over 100 years of U.S. corporate actions data on events such as mergers & acquisitions, spin-offs, exchange offers and reorganizations for their tax consequences. Also includes U.S. offerings from foreign corporations. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
  • Restricted: This database is accessible at certain NYPL locations only. Please see description for details.
New
This comprehensive database provides expert research resources and guidance covering the full range of tax issues, including the United States Tax Reporter, which includes full coverage of income and estate tax matters and IRS practice; and the New York Tax Reporter. This service also includes the Tax Cases, memoranda, revenue rulings, Treasury decisions, comprehensive presentations of U.S. tax treaties, and a range of the IRS publications. Current news sources and tax guides are also available. A preview of the service is available here.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
New
The ProQuest Communist Historical Newspaper collection provides full-text access to major American communist newspapers.
  • Accessible at all NYPL locations and outside the Library with your NYPL card
New
This digital archive contains over 2 million pages of primary resource materials that present a broad history of crime in the 19th Century, through manuscripts, books, broadsheets, and periodicals. During this time period, crime and criminals were followed intensely in the newspapers and served as a popular subject for literature and art. This archive covers topics such as the development of the police force, the reformation of the judicial system, the evolution of the penal system, forensic techniques, and popular detectives. Materials in this archive include: police force reports, trial transcripts, prison postcards, true crime fiction, Penny Dreadfuls, The National Police Gazette, and manuscript collections from famous police, criminals, and detectives.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Global Banking Resource
  • Restricted: This database is accessible at certain NYPL locations only. Please see description for details.
New
The Global Banking Resource is a detailed worldwide directory of banking institutions. It includes central banks, branches, savings and loans, credit unions and holding companies, and identifies foreign correspondents. Data includes five years of financials, credit ratings, country and state rankings. Please note that the Global Banking Resource supersedes The Bank Directory (Accuity) and American Financial Directory (McFadden). This resource is updated daily. Please see a staff person at the SIBL EIC desk to access this resource. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
  • Accessible at all NYPL locations and outside the Library with your NYPL card
New Popular
The International Herald Tribune archive covers 126 years of reportage, with contributors from various countries and cultures. The International Herald Tribune began as the European edition of The New York Herald in 1887. In 1967, after the end of the New York Herald Tribune, the newspaper was renamed the International Herald Tribune. The archive includes over 500,000 pages with over 6 million articles. The archive covers a diverse range of content, from war reporting to cultural criticism.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
  • Restricted: This database is accessible at certain NYPL locations only. Please see description for details.
New
The archive consists of over 6 million pages of newspaper content from titles North and South of the Irish border. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
  • Accessible at all NYPL locations and outside the Library with your NYPL card
New
Kanopy video streaming is now available for our adult patrons. The Kanopy collection offers a broad selection of more than 30,000 feature films, documentaries, foreign language, and training videos, including: the Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, the Frontline series, and international films. Verify you are a library patron by entering your library card number when creating an account and films can be watched from anywhere, anytime, on smartphones, tablets, PCs and smart TVs. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Neighborhood Change Database (NCDB)
  • Restricted: This database is accessible at certain NYPL locations only. Please see description for details.
New
NCDB allows users to compile census tract data from the Long Form results of the US Censuses for 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000 and 2010. That data includes population, household, and housing characteristics, income, poverty status, education level, employment, housing costs, immigration, and other variables. The database's distinctive feature is the normalization of data to the latest tract boundaries. Original boundaries can be accessed one census at a time. It is most useful if users already know their tract numbers.
  • Accessible at all NYPL locations and outside the Library with your NYPL card
New
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the Philadelphia Inquirer provides full images of articles published from its first issue in 1860 through 2001.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
  • Accessible at all NYPL locations and outside the Library with your NYPL card
New
This historical newspaper, the largest daily newspaper serving the Pittsburgh metropolitan, provides full-text images of the newspapers from their first issues in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries through the end of the twentieth century. Dates of Coverage: 1786-2003. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
  • Restricted: This database is accessible at certain NYPL locations only. Please see description for details.
New
A comprehensive database of real estate information, commercial as well as residential, for all NYC boroughs. NYPL has one user license, therefore patrons must be signed in to the database by a library staff member.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
  • Accessible at all NYPL locations and outside the Library with your NYPL card
New
The Regional Business News database provides extensive coverage for full-text regional business publications from the United States and Canadian provinces. This database also contains newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts, trade publications, magazines, newswires and videos. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
  • Accessible at all NYPL locations and outside the Library with your NYPL card
New
Digital access to thousands of large-scale New York State maps, searchable by address and GPS coordinates. Dates of Coverage: 1867-1970. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
  • Accessible at all NYPL locations and outside the Library with your NYPL card
New
Is a one-stop-shop for introductory business information. It provides general operational information for any type of business with searchable advisory videos. It has state-specific startup guides and a broad range of industry information including articles and market research reports. It also provides the full text of the business-related guides from the Nolo Press. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
  • Restricted: This database is accessible at certain NYPL locations only. Please see description for details.
New
The complete run of Vogue Italia fashion arts magazine from its launch in 1964 to the present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
  • Accessible at all NYPL locations and outside the Library with your NYPL card
New
The Women's Magazine Archive provides digital access to decades of women's-interest magazines in high-resolution color and in full-text from cover to cover. This collection covers magazines from the 19th and 20th centuries.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...