Introduction
The New York Public Library provides access to over 500 databases with new editions each year. This includes, but is not limited to historical and current newspapers and periodicals, many that are difficult to access elsewhere. Patrons can find primary source materials, scholarly e-books and journals, reference materials, business resources, statistics, maps, digitized rare books and more in multiple languages! This guide focuses on e-resources that were acquired to support the four Research Libraries.
Many of these e-resources are available from home with a valid New York Public Library Card and PIN number. Just look for the blue house. 
If you are at a New York Public Library location and using an onsite only database, the majority of these databases are accessible on your own laptop computer, as long as you are at one of our NYPL locations.
Articles & Databases
News
New Databases!
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and is a resource for scholarly literature on Western art. It retains the editorial policies which made BHA one of the most trusted and frequently consulted sources in the field. The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files.
- New York Post Collection This link opens in a new window
Search current and archived issues of the New York Post with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles, and content only published online. Please see below for the coverage available for each type of content.
Full-Text Articles: 1999-Present
Full-Color Newspaper Pages: 2020-Present
Online-Only Content: 2010-Present
- RIPM Jazz Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Répertoire International de la Presse Musicale (RIPM), this resource includes articles, reviews, illustrations, and advertisements from jazz publications spanning the early 20th century to the early 21st century.
- Pixton This link opens in a new window
Pixton is a digital comic creation website for kids and teens. No drawing skills are required—just select from preset characters and backgrounds from a variety of pop culture, literary, scientific, and historical themes. Personalize the character appearances and costumes, choose poses and facial expressions, and write dialogue to tell a story. Comics are saved automatically to a user’s account and can be easily shared or printed from the Pixton site.
Patrons will need a library card to sign in through the NYPL website and access their NYPL Pixton account. - Gale Business: Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window
Learn how to start, finance, or manage your small business. Includes sample business plans, how-to guides, articles, and more.
- Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Search a range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices.
- Gale Legal Forms This link opens in a new window
Access a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms and resources across the most popular legal areas.
- Gale OneFile: High School Edition This link opens in a new window
Search magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference materials on a range of topics. Best for middle- and high-school students.
- Gale OneFile: Leadership and Management This link opens in a new window
Search authoritative periodical content covering topics like organizational dynamics, adult learning, and more.
Report a Database Problem
Are you having trouble accessing a database? You can submit a report here.
Privacy Statement
Before using any database, patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of each resource before searching.