Business Plans Sources at NYPL: From the Library Catalog

Demographics of the U.S.: Trends and Projections provides a necessary perspective, highlighting the most important trends of the 21st century¿trends everyone should be tracking. Demographics of the U.S. explains the increasingly complex, often confusing, and rapidly changing nation we live in today. It makes sense of our recent past and shines a light on our future. The reference is divided into 11 chapters, organized alphabetically: Attitudes, Education, Health, Housing, Income, Labor Force, Living Arrangements, Population, Spending, Time Use, and Wealth.

"Based on data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2014 Consumer Expenditure Survey, [this book] examines spending patterns by the demographic characteristics of households ... [It] analyzes household spending on more than 300 products and services by age of householder, household income, household type, race and Hispanic origin of householder, region of residence, and educational attainment of most educated household member. It identifies which households spend the most on a product or service (the best customers) and which control the largest share of spending (the biggest customers) ... New Strategist has calculated the indexes and market shares to reveal the trends. Text accompanies each table that identifies the best and biggest customers, analyzes spending patterns, describes spending trends for the product over the past few years, and products future trends based on the nation's changing demographics."--Introduction, pages 1-2.

The 11th edition of American Incomes: Demographics of Who Has Money is your map to the changing consumer landscape, exploring and explaining the economic status of Americans in the aftermath of the Great Recession. It looks at household income trends through 2014 by age, household type, race and Hispanic origin, education, region, and work status; examines trends in the incomes of men and women by a variety of demographic characteristics; and provides data on the wealth of American households, showing the impact of the Great Recession on household assets and debt. The poverty population is also a focus of American Incomes.The five chapters in American Incomes are:Household IncomeChapter 1 examines trends in household income over the past 14 years. It also presents current household income statistics by age of householder, race and Hispanic origin of householder, type of household, and other important demographic characteristics.Men's Income TrendsChapter 1 examines trends in household income over the past 14 years. It also presents current household income statistics by age of householder, race and Hispanic origin of householder, type of household, and other important demographic characteristics.Women's IncomeChapter 3 examines trends and the current status of women's income, which has become increasingly important to family economic well-being.WealthThe statistics shown in Chapter 4, from the Federal Reserve Board's Survey of Consumer Finances, provide a comprehensive portrait of the assets, debts, and net worth of American households by a variety of demographic characteristics. This chapter also examines the 2007-to-2013 trends in wealth.PovertyThis chapter shows how poverty has grown and reveals the demographic characteristics of those who are falling behind.You can gain more insight into the economic well-being of Americans by thumbing (or scrolling) through the pages of American Incomes than you could by spending all afternoon surfing databases on the Internet. By having it on your bookshelf or computer desktop, you can get the answers to your questions even faster than you can online.

The 10th edition of Who's Buying Apparel is based on unpublished data collected by the Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2013 Consumer Expenditure Survey--you can't get these data online. It examines how much Americans spend on apparel by the demographics that count--age, income, high-income households, household type, race and Hispanic origin, region of residence, and education. To round out the spending picture, it also presents who-are-the-best-customers analyses of the data, showing the best and biggest customers at a glance. It looks at who buys apparel and shoes for infants, boys and girls, men and women, plus jewelry, sewing material, laundering, dry cleaning, and more.

This collection of over 50 actual business plans is intended to be of use to entrepreneurs in developing their business needs. Each plan includes the following categories of information: type of business; statement of purpose; executive summary; market; product and production; and management/personnel. The text begins with a general discussion of business plans, followed by the plans themselves, which are taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries. Home-based industries, high-interest businesses and other common small businesses are covered, and the plans are arranged alphabetically by business type, such as advertising services, antiques dealer etc.
Note: Volumes 1 to current are available through the database Gale Virtual Reference Library/Gale eBooks [https://www.nypl.org/research/collections/articles-databases/gale-ebooks-formerly-gale-virtual-reference-library]

This essential step-by-step guide for anyone launching or expanding a successful business has been used by over a million entrepreneurs. It includes expert help, worksheets to jumpstart the process, a sample business plan, tips on impressing funders, winning tips for competitions, and more. Used in the top business schools throughout the nation, the book covers every aspect of a successful business plan, from the components of the actual plan, to making the plan compelling, to presentation methods, to looking for money, and much more.

A guide to writing a successful business plan--in just one hour A strong business plan greatly increases a business chance of success, especially in an economic environment in which more than 50 percent of businesses fail within three years. Your business plan can serve as a foundation for your successful business. The One-Hour Business Plan, written by seasoned entrepreneur and business instructor John McAdam, helps you lay that foundation. With the help of this book, aspiring entrepreneurs can write a viable business plan in just one hour. Offers step-by-step guidance on the process of writing a business plan, with field-tested instructional techniques that are simple, strong, and easy to implement Written by John McAdam, a "been there, done that" hired CEO and serial entrepreneur with decades of real-world experience, who helps ordinary people become entrepreneurs and helps entrepreneurs become successful The One-Hour Business Plan outlines a process and a framework for creating a business plan that sets you up for success. Give your business the best odds for success, in just one hour of your time.

More than 15 years ago, the staff at Entrepreneur Media introduced bestseller Start Your Own Business. Since its release, Start Your Own Business has sold more than 300,000 copies and has been called "the best startup book of all time.” At it again, the staff at Entrepreneur delivers a new dose of fundamental startup how-to, backed by 33+ years at the forefront of small business. Write Your Business Plan takes aspiring entrepreneurs past one of the hardest steps of startup second to committing to their business goal -- defining how to achieve it. Each chapter is devoted to analyzing, explaining, and presenting practical instruction on developing a business plan relevant to today’s marketplace and lending landscapes. Appropriate for both existing companies and brand-new startups, this guide is divided into three sections: Before Writing Your Business Plan, Writing Your Business Plan, and Enhancing Your Business Plan. Starting with basic FAQs, experts then lead readers into evaluating their venture, identifying what type of plan they need, and getting their plan on paper and polished for their intended audience. Coached by a diverse group of experts and successful business owners, readers gain an in-depth understanding of what’s essential to any plan, what’s appropriate for their industry, and what they can do to ensure success.

Used by more than 1.5 million business owners since its original publication, the new edition of this classic how-to guide provides any entrepreneur the tools to create a well-constructed business plan. All steps are included--from initial considerations to envisioning the organizational structure to creating a growth-powering marketing plan and building for the future with airtight financial documents. The book offers proven, step-by step advice for developing and packaging the components of the plan and keeping them up to date, including cover sheets, table of contents, executive summary, organization and marketing plans, and financial and supporting documents. Five real-life business plans and blank forms and worksheets provide readers with additional user-friendly guidelines for the creation of the plans. The revisions included in the new edition include updated chapters on writing a marketing plan and financing resources as well as a new, complete example of a business plan for a nonprofit organization.