Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Holocaust Research, Education, and Remembrance Online: Genealogy

This guide outlines online resources for Holocaust education and remembrance, including research, curriculum, and multimedia resources.

About Holocaust Genealogy Research

 

 "There is no single list of victims and survivors of Nazi persecution. Instead, researching and individuals’ story during the Holocaust is a process of following trails and piecing together bits of information." - United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

 

Sefer Telz page 192

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pictured: "Zelig Katz, his wife Alla, and their daughter Yokheved-Devorah". Sefer Telz (1984).

Guides

 

 

 

Not sure how to get started with your Holocaust genealogy research?

 

The following guides have practical tips and links for new researchers.

 

 

Image at left: Leon Kimkhi (center) with his students. From ʻIr u-shemah Monasṭir (1972)

 

 

 

 

 

Genealogy: Getting Started (New York Public Library)

Comprehensive guide to beginning your genealogy research.

 

Getting Started with Jewish Genealogy at New York Public Library (Online class recording)

Online course taught by NYPL librarians on conducting Jewish genealogy research.

 

 

Getting Started with Holocaust Genealogy Research (New York Public Library)

Learn about resources for Holocaust genealogy research at NYPL and beyond.

 

 

How can I learn what happened to individuals during the Holocaust? (United States Holocaust Memorial Museum)

Learn more about conducting research at the USHMM

 

 

Holocaust Research Genealogy Guide (Family Tree Magazine)

Where to begin Holocaust genealogy records in online and physical archives

 

 

Holocaust Research Guide (Ackman & Ziff Family Genealogy Institute)

Guide to archival and published materials at the Center for Jewish History

 

 

Websites

Ackman and Ziff Family Genealogy Institute (Center for Jewish History)

Reference and genealogical resources for the Center’s comprehensive collections.

 

Ancestry Library Edition

Vital records database with 200+ Holocaust-related collections. Ancestry Library Edition is accessible with a Library card; the Holocaust-related collections and many others are also freely available at Ancestry.com

 

Arolsen Archives: International Center on Nazi Persecution

Online archive and international inquiry center for victims of Nazi persecution.

 

 

Bundesarchiv (Germany)

Information on researching individuals in the German Federal Archives.

 

Emanuel Ringelblum Jewish Historical Institute

Research institute for Polish Jewry, specializing in genealogy.

 

 

GenealogyIndexer.org

Free search engine for Central and Eastern European directories and yizkor books.

 

JewishGen.org 

Jewish genealogy site, with Holocaust database, yizkor book database and translations.

 

Joint JDC Archives (American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee)

Extensive archival collections including documents and media, partially searchable by database.

 

 

Mapping the Lives (Tracing the Past)

interactive database with street maps of the persecuted in Europe 1933–1945.

 

 

Records and Research on Holocaust-era Assets (U.S. National Archives)

Links to information the vast quantity of records in the collection.

 

 

Research Guide to Holocaust-related Holdings at Library and Archives Canada

Comprehensive listing of archival materials, and a selection of published books in the collection.

 

 

SephardicGen.org

Comprehensive site for Sephardic genealogy, including databases by country.

 

 

Wiener Holocaust Library: Genealogy Records and Resources by Country

Links to genealogical resources, sorted alphabetically by country, including an International section.

 

 

Yad Vashem - Central Database of Shoah Victims’ Names

Names and biographical details for Jews murdered by the Nazis and their accomplices.

 

Yizkor Books 

Guide and links to 700 yizkor (Holocaust memorial) books digitized by The New York Public Library and the Yiddish Book Center.