Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page contains a selected list of historic Library publications offering a place to start exploring departmental reports, staff news, and institutional histories in our collections. If you are researching individuals who may have worked at the 42nd Street Library, these publications are also recommended resources for potential information about the activities of past staff members.
Subject headings are one way to get started with materials on this topic in the Research Catalog. Here are some useful terms to get you started:
Bulletin & Biblion
Bulletin of the New York Public Library.
Call Number: *HND (New York Public Library. Bulletin)
Publication Date: 1897-1977
This periodical is a valuable reference on the Library's history and collection. Biblion: The Bulletin of The New York Public Library, published semi-annually since 1992, is the Bulletin's successor. The majority of the Bulletin of the New York Public Library
is available digitally via Haithitrust.
Bulletin of Research in the Humanities.
Call Number: *R-RMRR Z881 .N6B
Publication Date: 1978-1986
This publication is a continuation of Bulletin published quarterly most years between 1978 and 1986. This new title was intended to put "greater emphasis on research" and connect an emerging community of scholars with the Library. These are digitally available in HathiTrust but labeled as issues of the Bulletin of the New York Public Library
Biblion : the Bulletin of the New York Public Library.
Call Number: *HND (NYPL) 92-1277
Publication Date: 1992-2001
The Bulletin's successor, the Biblion was published semi-annually and offers pieces on the Library's history, collections, and personalities. Its Spring 1995 edition, which features key details on the Library, is especially recommended.
Library Histories in Bulletin & Biblion
Since SASB opened its doors in 1911, staff have meticulously documented the history of the institution, the collections, the divisions, and more. This box highlights some notable histories of the Library that have appeared in the Bulletin of the New York Public Library and, its successor, Biblion.
The New York Public Library : A Universe of Knowledge by
Call Number: Pub. Cat. Z733.N6 D35 2000
Publication Date: 2000-07-08
This richly illustrated popular history tells the story of the 42nd Street Library: how it came to be, how it grew and developed its unique character, and how it came to be an essential resource for generations of New Yorkers and researchers from around the world. See The Phyllis Dain Papers in the New York Public Library Archives for more on Phyllis Dain and her contribution to the Library's historical record.
Peculiar Questions and Practical Answers by
Call Number: 031.02 P
Publication Date: 2019
In Peculiar Questions and Practical Answers, the staff of the NYPL has dug through the archives to find thoughtful and often witty answers to over one hundred of the oddest, funniest, and most whimsical questions the library has received since it began record-keeping over seventy-five years ago.
The New York Public Library Desk Reference
Call Number: JFF 99-2803
Publication Date: 2002-11-20
Fully updated with more than 1,000 pages, The New York Public Library Desk Reference is packed with answers to the most frequently asked questions, as well as easy-to-read charts, graphs, and tables, insightful sidebars, full-color maps, and illustrations, plus cross-references and web addresses to aid more in-depth research.
Staff News & Periodicals
Call Number: *HND (New York Public Library. Report)
Publication Date: 1896-1949
Sometimes called "Report" or "Report of the Director", the Library started issuing an annual report as soon as it formed a system in 1896, thereby anyone researching its history will find a contemporary record of its goals, accomplishments, and aspirations. These typically include reports from the Board of Trustees as well as public service statistics depending on when they were created. Reports can be found in bound volumes in the Library's print collection in the Research Catalog
, in digital copies of Bulletin
on HathiTrust , and on the New York Public Library's website
Call Number: *HND (New York Public Library. Staff news)
Publication Date: 1911-2008
Published in July 1911, this weekly organ of the Library offers a continuing record of the Library's personnel activities, programs, regulations, and internal functions. A smattering of early issues are available on Hathitrust (see the links in the catalog
for a complete list).
Annual Report of the Library School
Call Number: *HND (New York Public Library (1895-), Library School. Annual report)
Publication Date: 1911-1926
A library school was opened at The New York Public Library in October of 1911 and was designed primarily to provide trained assistants for the staff of The Library. It closed in 1926 but researchers can find a record of its activities in the Library School's Annual Report.
The Class Mark by
Call Number: *ZAN-7992
Publication Date: 1935-1939
The first edition of this periodical starts with the ringing proclamation, "We are the librarians, pages, and service workers in the New York Public Library system who are members of the Communist Party and the Young Communist League." This newsletter dedicated itself to fight against "the intolerable working conditions, low salaries, and vicious system of spying," which it said characterized and defined life at the Library.
Local 1930 Newsletter by
Call Number: *ZAN-T4012
Publication Date: 1968-1975
The New York Public Library Guild/Local 1930 was officially born on May 1, 1968. It represents the unionized staff members from the New York Public Library's Branch and Research Libraries. This newsletter includes a record of the Library union's goals, milestones, and activities as well as organizing updates from District Council 37. See The Staff Association Records in the New York Public Library Archives and our guide to Researching Labor Unions at NYPL for more on staff organizing and labor history at the Library.
The Local Line
Call Number: *ZAN-T4011 no. -59
Publication Date: 1969-1975
The Local Line is an internal news bulletin published on the mimeograph in the Local 1930 headquarters. It contains updates on Library union meetings, announcements from the union leaders, and other records of the daily work of Local 1930. See The Staff Association Records in the New York Public Library Archives and our guide to Researching Labor Unions at NYPL for more on staff organizing and labor history at the Library.
Local 1930 News by
Call Number: ReCAP 13-10142 no. 1-2 (Apr.-June 1985)
Publication Date: 1985
Public Service News: Sources and Services in The Research Libraries of NYPL
Call Number: *HND (NYPL) 89-4131
Publication Date: 1989-1990
This quarterly, newsletter - edited by Anne Skillion - was devoted to the staff at the Research Libraries. The newsletter focuses on new programs and services, past and present staff, and highlights in the collections. It is continued by Research Libraries notes after 1990.
Research Library Notes
Call Number: *HND (NYPL) 92-130
Publication Date: 1991-1997
This staff publication continues "Public Services News" and focuses on sharing information by staff for staff among the Research Libraries.
From the Public Relations Office
The New York Public Library Press Clippings
Call Number: Pub Cat. (complete), *ZAN-5823 (microform)
Publication Date: 1970-2003
The Bill Blass Public Catalog Room of the New York Public Library houses various uncataloged books. These include The New York Public Library News Clippings, a collection of newspaper articles about the Library primarily from newspapers in the New York metropolitan area; an introductory volume contains selected clippings from 1896 to 1969, with subsequent volumes covering later years more comprehensively.
Library Lines / The New York Public Library News
Call Number: *HND (NYPL) 78-1493
Publication Date: 1970-1982
This periodical prepared by the Public Relations Office, New York Public Library was released semi-annually between 1970-74; and quarterly, 1975-82. The title varied between The New York Public Library News, used in fall 1970-summer, 1978, and Library Lines, 1978 to 1982.