Skip to Main Content

History of the 42nd Street Library: About

Explore the history of the Stephen A Schwarzman Building (SASB), the landmarked library on 42nd and Fifth Avenue.

Welcome

Postcard of the outside of the Library with one of the lions in view.

This guide features materials documenting the history of the Stephen A Schwarzman Building (SASB), the landmarked library on 42nd and Fifth Avenue. In these pages, you will find materials for researching the Library’s collections, institutional past, architecture, and role in New York City since 1911 including: 

Note: This guide is limited to published works about the 42nd Street Library, one of the New York Public Library's research libraries which also include the Library for Performing Arts, and the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. It does not cover materials in the New York Public Library's institutional archives.

Sepia-toned image of the New York Public Library's Fifth Avenue building in 1908. The large, classical structure has tall columns and arched windows, with the caption 'Sanctum Sanctorum for Writers' at the top. The sidewalk in front shows pedestrians and a horse-drawn carriage. A note at the bottom reads, 'New York City - New York Public Library.

From the "New York City — New York Public Library" Folder in the Picture Collection

Black and white photograph of the interior of the New York Public Library. The room, identified as the Salomon Room, has high ceilings with large skylights and is decorated with numerous framed paintings on the walls. Several chandeliers hang from the ceiling. People, including both men and women, are seated on benches or standing around the room, some appearing to be reading or conversing. A note at the bottom reads, 'New York City - New York Public Library

From the "New York City — New York Public Library" Folder in the Picture Collection

Black and white photograph of the south hall of the main reading room in the New York Public Library, taken in 1986. The room features a highly ornate and intricately detailed ceiling with decorative moldings and paintings. Large chandeliers hang from the ceiling, illuminating the space below. The room is filled with tables and chairs, with several people seated and reading. Bookshelves line the walls, and tall arched windows allow natural light to enter the room. A note at the bottom reads, '#24054 (1986) South Hall of Main Reading Room. New York City - New York Public Library.

From the "New York City — New York Public Library" Folder in the Picture Collection

A spacious reading room at the New York Public Library featuring large arched windows, chandeliers, and people seated at wooden tables with green lamps, engrossed in books and study materials.

From the "New York City — New York Public Library" Folder in the Picture Collection

 

Cover of the New Yorker from Jan 13 2014 featuring a nighttime urban scene with snow-covered polar bears sitting on the steps of the New York Public Library, and a snowplow on the right clearing the street.

From the "New York City — New York Public Library" Folder in the Picture Collection

From the "New York City — New York Public Library" Folder in the Picture Collection

Library staff proudly stand at large tables in the rose reading room

From the "New York City — New York Public Library" Folder in the Picture Collection

Black and white photograph of a room in the New York Public Library, taken in 1911 by Peter A. Juley. The image shows a spacious interior with a large skylight, ornate detailing, and several people working or reading at wooden desks. Handwritten text at the bottom of the image reads,

From the "New York City — New York Public Library" Folder in the Picture Collection

Color photograph of the main reading room at the New York Public Library, taken in 1983. The image shows rows of wooden tables with reading lamps and numerous people studying or reading. Handwritten text below the image reads,

From the "New York City — New York Public Library" Folder in the Picture Collection

Two black and white photos of libraries. The top photo shows the main reading room of the New York Public Library, with large windows, chandeliers, and numerous people reading at long tables. The bottom photo depicts a man kneeling to work with a large card catalog system at the Library of Congress, highlighting the transition from traditional to modern systems

From the "New York City — New York Public Library" Folder in the Picture Collection

Black and white photograph of the open-air reading room in Bryant Park, opened on August 17, 1935. The image shows people sitting at tables and benches, reading and engaging in conversation. There is a small pavilion in the center with a canopy and a few people standing around it. Trees and bushes surround the area, creating a shaded and inviting atmosphere. A sign and a newspaper stand are also visible. A note at the bottom reads, 'The open-air reading room in Bryant Park, opened August 17, 1935.

From the "New York City — New York Public Library" Folder in the Picture Collection

Black and white photograph of researchers in the southwest main reading room of the New York Public Library. The room features high ceilings with large arched windows and elegant chandeliers. People are seated at long tables with reading lamps, absorbed in their work, while others are standing, reading books or documents. Bookshelves line the walls, filled with books and creating an atmosphere of study and research. The overall setting reflects a busy and focused library environment.

From the "New York City — New York Public Library" Folder in the Picture Collection

Sepia-colored image of the main reading room of the New York Public Library under construction. Bookshelves in the process of being built line the walls and pepper the floor. The image reads

From the "New York City — New York Public Library" Folder in the Picture Collection

Reference Librarians

© The New York Public Library, 2023 | Stephen A. Schwarzman Building, Fifth Avenue & 42nd Street, New York, NY 10018 | (917) ASK-NYPL (917-275-6975) | Email ASK NYPL