The Research Catalog
While this guide focuses on the Library's history, it remains a vital resource for researchers around the world. You can explore millions of materials from the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building, The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts.
Researchers can also use the Research Catalog to access offsite storage materials from NYPL, Columbia University, Princeton University, and Harvard University. Items will be delivered in 1-2 business days to The Stephen A. Schwarzman Building, Rose Main Reading Room.
The Library Card
To access our collections, both on-site and remote, you must have a Library card. Residents of New York City or tourists to the city (locally or abroad) can apply online here. Please keep in mind that you will need to bring a photo ID and proof of address with you when you come to authenticate your card. More information on library cards is available here.
Digital Collections
Explore visual materials chronicling the Library's 42nd Street Library in Digital Collections by using the links below:
Get in Touch
Research librarians and curators are available to answer research-specific questions via email. Reach out to us at generalresearch@nypl.org. You can also visit our website for a full list of contacts in the Schwarzman Building.
Consultations
The 42nd Street Library provides virtual and in-person reference consultations one-on-one. All levels of researchers are welcome. Consultations include catalog navigation, demonstrations of online services and databases (articles, abstracts, and so on), as well as source investigation for a specific topic. Please click on the link above to book a consultation. A Librarian will evaluate your inquiry and will respond promptly.
Other Research Guides for Getting Started
- A-Z List of Research Guides
- Art & Architecture Research at NYPL
- Getting Started with Archives
- Genealogy : Getting Started at The New York Public Library
- Guide to the Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs
- Guide to the Schomburg Center's Manuscripts, Archives, and Rare Books Division
Accessibility for Print Disabilities
For researchers with print disabilities, the Library has resources and services available upon request. The following services are available:
Digitization of Select Research Materials
Researchers who are homebound or have a print disability or visual impairment can explore many of our research collections online and request digitization of specific items of interest. To request the digitization service, email accessibility@nypl.org. Please note that you must be a patron of the Andrew Heiskell Library. This digitization service only includes material belonging to the research collections and does not apply to branch/circulating collections.
Screen Readers and Enlargers
Every public PC at all New York Public Library locations is equipped with JAWS screen reading software and MAGic software for enlarging the screen, changing colors and contrast, and screenreading.
Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library
The Andrew Heiskell Library offers popular reading materials in accessible audio and braille formats, as well as free membership to the Bookshare database of over one million accessible texts. It also offers individual coaching and a large variety of group workshops on topics related to accessible technology. Check the listings on our website, call 212-206-5400, or email talkingbooks@nypl.org