Residencies provide either time, space, or both for artists to create their work, experiment, or finish projects. This is a list of artist residencies, both within New York City and New York State, as well as others around the country and a few internationally. All residencies listed are by application, not selection, and all are open to visual artists.
For artists located in New York State, here is a further database of artist residencies located in the state, via New York Council of the Arts.
New York City & State Residencies
- Whitney Museum of American Art Independent Study Program The Whitney Independent Study Program is a free, year long program with three interrelated parts: Studio Program, Critical Studies Program, and Curatorial Program. The Whitney ISP program provides participants the opportunity to engage in ongoing discussions and debates that examine the historical, social, and intellectual conditions of artistic production. Those eligible for participation in the ISP include graduate students, candidates for advanced postgraduate degrees, undergraduates with a demonstrated capacity for advanced scholarship, or those who have recently completed formal academic study. Located in New York City.
- Studio Museum Artists in Residence The Studio Museum in Harlem offers 11 month artists residencies to artists of African and Afro-Latinx descent. Artists receive institutional guidance and professional development, research support, studio space, and a stipend paid out over the course of the residency. In addition to their time in the studio, artists participate in Museum public programs and educational studio visits with community partners. Located in New York City.
- Constance Saltonstall Foundation for the Arts Residency The Saltonstall Foundation for the Arts Residency is for painters, sculptors, and visual artists who live in New York State. Residencies can be for 1,2,3 or 4 weeks, as well as a unique residency for working parents. Artists receive an apartment and studio space for the duration of their residency. No cost to apply or participate. Located 8 miles outside of Ithaca, New York.
- Millay Art Foundation Core Residency This fully funded residency provides artists with studio and living space, as well as shared prepared meals for the duration of the 3 and a half week residencies. Each cohort contains 6-7 artists of all disciplines. Located in the Hudson Valley, in Austerlitz, New York.
- Art OMI Residency The Art OMI is an arts center in Ghent, NY, that focuses on contemporary art and sculpture and architecture. The Artist Residency is open to artists who have been working professionally for at least 3 years. Artists live and work at the arts center located on on 300 acres of land, and have the opportunity to meet art world professionals and discuss their work and practice.
- Artist Alliance LES Studio Program The LES Studio Program is for underrepresented, early career, or mid career artists to have access to studio space in the Lower East Side to create new work. The residences last 3 to 6 months long. Artists of all mediums are encouraged to apply.
- Lightwork Artist in Residence Program Lightwork Residency provides artists with a $5,000 stipend, an apartment, studio facility access, and staff support during the 1 month duration. Located in Syracuse, NY.
- Woodstock Byrdcliffe Artist in Residence The Woodstock Byrdclyffe Guild is a center for arts and crafts in Woodstock, NY. They host both summer and winter residencies for visual artists and architects. Summer residencies range from 3 weeks to 5 months, and offer living space, studio space, and community. Winter residencies are for mid-career visual artists, and provide living and studio space from November to April.
- Yaddo Artist Residency The Yaddo Residency is a nonprofit artists retreat in Saratoga Springs, NY. It is open to visual artists (painting, drawing, sculpture, printmaking, photography, mixed media, and installation art). The residency includes room, board, and a studio. Residencies last from two weeks to two months.
- Watermill Center Artist Residency The Watermill Center is an arts nonprofit located in Watermill, NY on Long Island. Artists are encouraged to include a public educational aspect to their residency. The residency includes housing, workspace, and local transportation. Residencies are two to four weeks in length.
- Center for Book Arts Artist in Residence The Center for Book Arts offers two residency programs. One is a monthlong summer residency in June, that offers workspace and inclusion in a group exhibition after the residency. The other is a Book Artist residency, where for a whole year residents get a cash stipend, access to studio space, and free tuition to classes offered by CBA. Both are for artists who demonstrate a clear commitment to book arts as part of their practice.
- Dieu Donne Lab and Studio Residencies The Dieu Donne Art Center offers two types of residencies; the Lab Grant residency and the Work Space residency. The Lab Grant residency is for mid-career professional artists to learn the art of papermaking and create work with it. The Workspace Residency provides emerging artists the opportunity to explore papermaking as a medium. The Dieu Donne Art Center is located in New York City.
- Flux Factory Artist in Residence Program Flux Factory is an artist collective based in Long Island City. Residencies are in 3, 6. 9, or 12 month terms. Residents will have studio space, and be expected to participate in creating programming (exhibitions, etc) at the Flux Factory during their time there.
- International Studio & Curatorial Program The International Studio Program is a residency program located in Brooklyn, NY open to artists from around the world. Residents are provided with private studios, and stipends are available for living expenses, materials, travel, and housing. Residencies are typically 3 to 6 months, with the maximum length of 1 year.
- Lower East Side Print Shop Studio and Publishing Residencies The Lower East Side Print Shop is a nonprofit collective printshop located on the Lower East Side of New York City. The Keyholder Residency provides 24 hour studio access for 1 year to emerging artists to foster new work in printmaking. Artists from all artistic backgrounds are encouraged to apply.
- UrbanGlass Studio Residency Urban Glass is a arts nonprofit, located in downtown Brooklyn, dedicated to experimentation and exploration of glass as an artistic medium. The Studio Residency offers 4 artists $5,000 to use towards studio classes, with $500 going towards materials. At the conclusion of the residency, the artist gives a public artists talk.
- Sculpture Space Artist Residency Sculpture Space is an international residency program based in Utica, NY for sculptors. Artists in residence stay for two month period, in which they have access to studio space and provided housing.
- Baldwin for the Arts Fellowship Baldwin for the Arts is an artist residency program open to visual artists located in the Hudson Valley. It is directed for artists in the "Global Majority" to have time and space to think and work. Residencies are 1-4 weeks in length. All costs (food, travel, housing, etc) are covered by the residency.
- Lower Manhattan Cultural Council The Lower Manhattan Cultural Council offers a number of artist residencies for artists living and working in New York City. There is a 9-month workspace residency, a 4-month Arts Center Residency on Governors Island, and a residency focused on bringing artists into senior centers throughout the city.
- BRICLab: Contemporary Art BRIC is an arts and media organization located in downtown Brooklyn. Through their BRIClab residency for contemporary art, they provide emerging to mid-career artists essential support and opportunities to share their work. Each artist receives a $2,500 stipend. Artists also receive free studio space for 10 months in downtown Brooklyn; a stipend for an artistic advisor; photo documentation of their work during the residency; as well as participating in Open Studio Events, and doing studio visits with curators and arts professionals. The residency culminates in an exhibition featuring all of the residents. Each residency has a particular theme, which influences which artists are selected.
- Smack Mellon Artist Studio Residency Smack Mellon is an artist nonprofit located in Dumbo, Brooklyn. Their Artist Studio program provides 6 emerging artists with studio space for an 11 month period (September 1st to August 15th). They host two Open Studio events, as well as sponsored studio visits from curators and gallerists in New York City.
- Women's Studio Workshop The Women's Studio Workshop is located in Rosendale, NY, in the Hudson Valley of New York. It is a primarily print studio that hosts classes an exhibitions. It also hosts multiple artists residencies of varying lengths; residencies, publication residency grants, and workspace residency grants. T= The WSW purposefully states that they support artists of multiple gender identities: women, trans, nonbinary, and gender fluid applicants.
- Interlude Artist Residency The Interlude Residency is located in Hudson Valley, and is specifically geared towards providing residencies to parents who are working artists. They provide a studio and living space that can support families. They provide a stipend that can be used for transportation or child care. Residencies are 3-4 weeks, and they welcome visual artists.
- Residency Unlimited Residency Unlimited is an arts non-profit located in Carroll Gardens, Brooklyn. It provides customized residencies for international and local artists and curators in New York City focused on network support, project/production assistance, and public exposure. They provide studio space, and exhibition space.
- Penumbra Workspace Residency Penumbra is a nonprofit photography education organization. The Penumbra Workspace Program benefits six emerging artists* (three New York City-based and three US-based) with access to time, facilities, critical and technical support, and honoraria. The extension of the program ranges from two weeks to four weeks depending on the time requested by the selected artists. Participants have liberal access to the workspace facilities. They are expected to use their time to pursue their own projects: researching, photographing, scanning, printing, working on an exhibition or editing a book.
- Baxter St Residency Each year, Baxter St at Camera Club of NY invites emerging lens-based artists living in New York City to apply for the Baxter St Residency Program. This residency offers lens-based artists much-needed workspace in New York City. Residents receive a monthly stipend appropriate to our W.A.G.E. certification level during the three months of workspace access as well as an additional production fee to realize your exhibition. Each resident will be granted a solo exhibition at Baxter St at CCNY after their term of residency.
National and International Residencies
- American Academy in Rome -- Rome Prize The American Academy in Rome offers a unique opportunity to artists and scholars from the United States to live and work in an ancient and cosmopolitan city, Rome Italy. It is open to visual artists, as well as architects and designers. Full term fellowships run September through June, with half term fellowships available as well. There are 30 winners per year, and each winner receives a stipend, meals, a bedroom with private bath, and a private workspace.
- Chinati Foundation The Chinati Foundation, located in Marfa, Texas, was started by the artist Donald Judd. It offers artists to work in the striking natural environment of west Texas. The Foundation provides housing and a studio to residents. They receive a stipend of $1,500 for travel and materials. Residencies are two months long.
- Oxbow Artist Residency Ox-Bow is an art education center in rural Michigan dedicated to providing artists with educational opportunities, space, and community. The summer residencies happen for three week periods over the summer. Artists are provided with living space, shared bathrooms, studio space, meals, and community events (artist talks, presentations, studio visits). The summer residencies are open to artists at any level (undergraduate students, graduate students, emerging, or established artists should apply).
- MacDowell Colony The MacDowell Colony is an artist residency program located in rural New Hampshire. The residency is open to visual artists, architects, video artists, and interdisciplinary artists. Residents are provided with living space, studio space, and meals. There is financial assistance available for travel and other costs. Residencies last for up to 6 weeks.
NYPL Artist Fellowship Opportunities
The New York Public Library Picture Collection has an artist fellowship, open to artists from all over the country. The Picture Collection is a vast visual resource of pictures clipped from books and magazines, since 1915. Pictures are organized by the content of the photograph, so the collection lends itself to idiosyncratic visual exploration. Artists are invited to submit a project proposal using the Picture Collection as the foundation for the research of the project. Over the course of their fellowship, the artists receive a stipend (ranging from $2,000 to $6,000) to complete their project.
The Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center for Scholars and Writers offers fellowships that are open to visual artists who are working on a book or literary project. The Cullman Center Fellowship gives appoints 15 fellows to a 9 month term at the Stephen A. Schwarzman building, from September through May. Fellows are given a dedicated study desk, and a stipend of $75,000 for the year. They have full access to the physical and electronic resources in the library. Each fellow gives an in progress lunch talk about their work, and may be asked to participate in other library programming as well.
NYPL Fellowships Page has a complete list of all the other research fellowships that take place at the three research libraries across NYPL (the Schwarzman Building, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and the Library of Performing Arts).