Food Studies in Manuscripts, Archives, and Rare Books: Access

An NYPL Special Collections Account is required to request and schedule an appointment to view materials.

The best method for requesting archival material is through the Archives Portal.

• Each collection guide opens to an overview tab that summarizes its contents and scope.   
• At the top of the guide, click the "Detailed Description" or "Printable (PDF) Version" tabs to view an inventory of the collection and identify the specific items you wish to view (boxes, volumes, etc.).  
• Once you have selected the material you'd like to see, return to the "Overview" tab and click on the "Request an in-person research appointment" link.

Rare Book collections requestable via the Library's Research Catalog.

• Locate material of interest, then use the "Request Appointment" button to make the request and schedule an appointment.

Learn more about the Special Collections Account and scheduling research appointments by visiting the Special Collections Account User Guide.

The printed cookery materials which are part of the Rare Book collection are typically pre-1800 with a European focus and offer insight into cooking and household management in a historical sense. 

Subject heading searches via the catalog locate holdings across NYPL: 

In the search results, you can limit to Rare Book or Manuscripts and Archives collections by selecting the  button at the top of the page and refining by Location. A more detailed demonstration of this feature is found on this guide.

For detailed instructions on locating archival material at NYPL without a citation, see this guide to Starting Archival Research.