Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections Account - User Guide: About

This is a reference guide for researchers using the Special Collections Account at NYPL (specialcollections.nypl.org).

On This Page

  • What is a Special Collections Account?
  • Registering for a Special Collections Account
  • Visit Frequently Asked Questions about the Special Collections Account

What is a Special Collections Account?

A Special Collections Account is designed for researchers using special collections at The New York Public Library. Account holders can:

  • propose research visit dates and requests to use materials
  • track and review all requests
  • save an unlimited amount of requests for later submission

The account is web-based and can be accessed from anywhere with an internet connection. It is distinct from the account used to log into the NYPL catalogs, and so will have its own username and password.

Please contact specialcollections@nypl.org with any questions.

Registering for a Special Collections Account

Registration is free and easy.

Click here to register for an account

After reading and accepting selected NYPL policies, you will be prompted to fill out a profile and create a username and password.

Once the form is complete and submitted, you will be directed to the homepage of your Special Collections Account. You can update your personal information and change your password anytime via the My Profile menu in the account.

For additional information, visit our Frequently Asked Questions.