Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Comic Books and Graphic Resources at the New York Public Library: Electronic Resources

Electronic Resources

JSTOR

A database of scholarly journals, providing a wide range of coverage in the humanities, arts and sciences. This database provides articles for educators on ways to incorporate comic books and graphic novels into their curriculum. It also contains articles on the history and criticism of comics, and collection development guides.

ERIC 

U.S. Department of Education's Educational Resource Information Center database. Contains full-text articles from educators who are incorporating comic books into their course study. Provides an extensive scope on teaching with comic books/graphic novels, in various subjects, such as: finance, arts, humanities and sciences. 

Project Muse 

A full text database that provides access to peer-reviewed scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Provides reviews on recently publish comic book titles. 

Academic Search Premier

An extensive database covering more than 4,600 magazines and journals in numerous disciplines. This database offers full text articles, in addition to indexes and abstracts. Articles in relation to the study of comics and graphic novels included: conference and convention information,  current market value of comics and the study of sociological themes in this literary medium. 

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

This database provides access to all ProQuest Historical Newspaper databases including, The New York Times, The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune and others. It covers historical events in comic book history such as the American Comics Self-Censorship period. 

Art Full Text 

Art Full Text provides full text articles and abstracts in various languages such as: English, French Spanish, German and Swedish. It includes articles on how comic books and graphic works are impacting literature, arts, education and graphic art.