Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Jerome Robbins Collections: Unrestricted Access

A guide to the collections and other materials related to Jerome Robbins.

Collections with Open Access

Jerome Robbins Photographs *MGZEB 99-9451

The photographs of Jerome Robbins contain professional and personal photographs covering all aspects of his life and his works. The earliest photos are of Robbins family in Russia, and continue through his childhood in New York and his career as an actor, dancer, and choreographer. Photographers represented include Martha Swope, Fred Fehl, Jacques Moatti, Friedman-Abeles, Maurice Seymour, Steven Caras, Richard Tucker, Will Rapport, and Robbins himself. 

Jerome Robbins Papers, Additions *MGZMD 479

This collection contains a mix of items dating from 1944 to 1989. Of note are original manuscript scores for On the Town ("Presentation of Miss Turnstiles") and Dybbuk (bridge from "Leah's Dance to Demon"); and two notebooks: a diary kept by Robbins, and a notebook containing writings on The Poppa Piece. Additionally, a souvenir program for Jerome Robbins' Broadway is accompanied by a letter that he wrote to himself upon the premier of the show.

Jerome Robbins Scrapbooks, *MGZRS 99-9450

This collection contains press clippings and reviews, journal articles, and press releases related to Robbins’ career. The years represented are January, 1986 to April, 1990.

Floria Lasky files on Jerome Robbins, *MGZMD 461

The Floria Lasky files on Jerome Robbins, dated 1959-1999, contain mostly legal and financial records for the American Theatre Laboratory, Inc., and to a lesser extent Ballets: U.S.A., Inc. (both companies created by Jerome Robbins; 1918-1998). Other topics include planning for the Jerome Robbins Chamber Dance Company trip to China; negotiations for a film titled Nijinsky; Robbins' power of attorney; and information regarding the estate of Tom S. Abbott (d. 1987, dancer and choreographer). Floria Lasky (1923-2007), acted as Robbin's attorney in later years. The collection holds agreements, certificate of incorporation, clippings, correspondence, financial statements, minutes and other legal documents.

No worries here...

Jerome Robbins, Portrait. Credit: Frederick Melton, 1951.

Frederick Melton Photographs, Jerome Robbins Dance Division, NYPL Digital Collections, Image ID 58108050.