A Selection of Printed World Gazetteers and Similar Resources
Here are resources, many available on the reading room shelves, in the Lionel Pincus and Princess Firyal Map Division:
1874 Ritter's geographisch-statistisches Lexikon
1922 Lippincott's gazetteer of the world
1952 The Columbia Lippincott gazetteer of the world
1962 The Columbia Lippincott gazetteer of the world
1967 Glossary of geographical names in six languages
1977 Nomenclature internationale des bureaux de poste
1949 to 1980s, [Gazetteer] / United States Board on Geographic Names. (Separate volumes by country.)
1998 The Columbia gazetteer of the world
Please note that other editions (earlier and later) of many of these titles can be found in various locations within the Library. Check the Research Catalog (also known as Classic Catalog) to find more editions, as well as additional titles.
A Selection of Printed Gazetteers, Lists, and Indexes of Place Names for Countries and Larger Regions
UNITED STATES 1884 The national gazetteer; a geographical dictionary of the United States
CANADA 1895 Lovell's gazetteer of British North America
MEXICO 1888-1891 Diccionario geográfico histórico y biográfico de los Estados unidos Mexicanos
HAITI 2016 Dictionnaire géographique et toponymique de la République d'Haïti
GUATEMALA 1953 Departamentos, municipios, ciudades, villas, pueblos, aldeas y caseríos de la República de Guatemala
BRAZIL 1972 Dicionário geográfico brasileiro
EUROPE, CENTRAL AND EASTERN 1991 Where once we walked : a guide to the Jewish communities destroyed in the Holocaust
BRITISH ISLES 1887 Gazetteer of the British isles, statistical and topographical
IRELAND 1851 General alphabetical index to the townlands and towns, parishes, and baronies of Ireland
SCOTLAND 1846 A topographical dictionary of Scotland
FRANCE 1844-1846 Dictionnaire geographique, historique, industriel et commercial de toutes les communes de la France
HUNGARY 2005 Genealogical gazetteer for the Kingdom of Hungary
ETHIOPIA 1888 L'Abissinia e i paesi limitrofi
GHANA 1927 List of names in Gold Coast and British Togo
INDIA 1885-1887 The imperial gazetteer of India
INDONESIA 1916 Beknopt aardrijkskundig woordenboek van Nederlandsch-Indië
IRAN 1969 Farhang-i ābādīhā-yi kishvar
PHILIPPINES 1902 A pronouncing gazetteer and geographical dictionary of the Philippine Islands
TAIWAN 1960 Taiwan di ming ci dian, Chen Cheng-siang
VIETNAM 1961-1975 Where we were in Vietnam
AUSTRALIA 1848 A geographical dictionary or gazetteer of the Australian colonies
OCEANIA 1944 Place names in the Caroline, Marshall, and Mariana islands (except Guam)
ANTARCTICA 1995 Geographic names of the Antarctic
Also be aware that digitized versions of some of these gazetteers are freely available for viewing on sites such as hathitrust.org and archive.org.
A Mid-20th Century Gazetteer of Afghanistan, from the U.S. Board on Geographic Names series -- example of brief format with latitude and longitude
Courtesy of HathiTrust. United States. Geographic Names Division, and United States. Office of Geography. Afghanistan: Official Standard Names. Washington, 1971.
A Selection of Printed Gazetteers, Dictionaries, and Indexes of Place Names for States and Regions within the United States
NEW YORK STATE 1860 Gazetteer of the State of New York
NEW JERSEY 1880 Cities, towns and post-offices of New Jersey - in 1880
PENNSYLVANIA 1989 Pennsylvania gazetteer of streams
NEW ENGLAND 1909 Dictionary of American-Indian place and proper names in New England
NEW HAMPSHIRE 1817 A gazetteer of the state of New-Hampshire
OHIO 2000 Ohio towns and townships to 1900 : a location guide
ILLINOIS AND MISSOURI 1823 A gazetteer of the states of Illinois and Missouri
LOUISIANA 1927 (2008) Louisiana place names of Indian origin
TEXAS 1904 A gazetteer of Texas
UTAH 1990 Utah place names
CALIFORNIA 1975 California gold camps
ALASKA 1967 Dictionary of Alaska place names
PUERTO RICO 1901 A gazetteer of Porto Rico
An Early 19th Century Gazetteer of New Hampshire -- example of narrative format
Courtesy of HathiTrust. Merrill, Eliphalet, and Phinehas Merrill. Gazetteer of the State of New-Hampshire ... Exeter: Printed by C. Norris & co. for the authors, 1817.
An Early 20th Century Gazetteer of Puerto Rico -- example of brief text format
Courtesy of HathiTrust. Gannett, Henry, 1846-1914, and Geological Survey (U.S.). A Gazetteer of Porto Rico. Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1901.