Introduction
Finding places seems straightforward enough: from the index of an atlas to a comprehensive internet map site to the enormous powers of a computer search engine, there are lots of easily accessible resources that make the search seem like no problem. But what if the name has changed or is no longer in use? What if the form of the name varies by language or by system of romanization? What if the source of the name—a document, a publication, or an aural source—doesn't provide an accurate spelling? This guide points to resources, both online and traditional, as well as methods, that have been useful to the staff of the Lionel Pincus and Princess Firyal Map Division in assisting researchers and casual users find the places they are looking for. A major type of resource for this purpose, before the internet and even now, is a gazetteer.
Definition
What is a gazetteer? In printed form, it's a geographical dictionary or index, usually with an alphabetical arrangement of place names, and an entry for each place name that describes the place's location. In online form, it's a database composed of place names and their locations. Location may be described in terms of other presumably more well-known places (usually in a narrative format), and/or in terms of x- and y-coordinates describing an intersecting point or box location. Coordinates may be the universally recognized degrees, minutes, and seconds—or degrees with decimals—of latitude and longitude, or they could be a local grid system (used, for example, by one state or country), or even the letters and numbers that are the unique indicators along the margins of a particular map.
In This Guide ...
This guide, while not exhaustive, provides links to:
- some basic online place-name databases;
- catalog descriptions for printed gazetteers available at NYPL.
There is an emphasis in the latter category on historical resources that are helpful for finding place names that might have changed or that might no longer be in use. It also provides:
- suggestions for discovering additional resources;
- tips for using gazetteers and coordinates with maps to find places.
Examples of Printed Gazetteers
Contact Us for Assistance with Your Research
If you have any questions about our collection or inquiries related to your research, please email us at maps@nypl.org
You can request either a virtual or in-person consultation with our reference staff to talk about your research and formulate next steps.
For requesting materials to view in-person at the Map Division's reading room, please review Requesting Maps to View at the Map Division's Reading Room.
Reference Librarians
476 Fifth Avenue (42nd St and Fifth Ave)
First Floor , Room 117
New York, NY 10018
Accessibility for Print Disabilities
For researchers with print disabilities, the Library has resources and services available upon request. The following services are available:
Digitization of Select Research Materials
Researchers who are homebound or have a print disability or visual impairment can explore many of our research collections online and request digitization of specific items of interest. To request the digitization service, email accessibility@nypl.org. Please note that you must be a patron of the Andrew Heiskell Library. This digitization service only includes material belonging to the research collections and does not apply to branch/circulating collections.
Screen Readers and Enlargers
Every public PC at all New York Public Library locations is equipped with JAWS screen reading software and MAGic software for enlarging the screen, changing colors and contrast, and screenreading.
Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library
The Andrew Heiskell Library offers popular reading materials in accessible audio and braille formats, as well as free membership to the Bookshare database of over one million accessible texts. It also offers individual coaching and a large variety of group workshops on topics related to accessible technology. Check the listings on our website, call 212-206-5400, or email talkingbooks@nypl.org