Welcome
This guide is designed to help you start your research with maps in the Lionel Pincus and Princess Firyal Map Division. Here, you will learn how to:
- to use maps in your research
- to find maps at NYPL
- to utilize digital resources
- tips and strategies in searching our catalogs
Need assistance? Contact us!
If you have any questions about our collection or inquiries related to your research, please email us at maps@nypl.org
You can make a virtual or in-person consultation with our reference librarians to talk about your research and formulate next steps. Click here to make a consultation appointment.
For certain cartographic items in the Map Division, you will need to register for a NYPL Special Collections account. With this account, you can request cartographic materials to view in advance of your visit.
To do so, you can visit the Online Research Catalog to search for collections and use the “Request Appointment” or “Request to Use On-Site” buttons to make your requests. If an item does not have either button, please contact maps@nypl.org
If you are requesting materials specifically from the printed Dictionary Catalog, please use your Special Collections account to fill out this specific form.
Who are we?
The Lionel Pincus and Princess Firyal Map Division is one of the world’s premier map collections in terms of size, scope, unique holdings, diversity and intensity of use. Established in 1898, our holdings include more than 433,000 sheet maps and 20,000 books and atlases published between the 16th and 21st centuries. The collections range from the global to the local scale and support the learning and research needs of a wide variety of users.
Why maps?
Maps are utilized across numerous disciplines and can be effectively cross-referenced with other material types (i.e. archives, photos, street directories). If you fall into one of the categories below, you most likely have used, or will be using, a map at some point!
Lionel Pincus and Princess Firyal Map Division Reference Librarians
476 Fifth Avenue (42nd St and Fifth Ave)
First Floor , Room 117
New York, NY 10018
Apply for a Library Card
Apply for a NYPL Library Card with our online application!
With your card, you can:
- make advance requests to see maps from the Map Division
- make appointments or virtual consultation requests
- use our databases
Please note that you do not need to live in New York City to receive a card!
Accessibility for Print Disabilities
For researchers with print disabilities, the Library has resources and services available upon request. The following services are available:
Digitization of Select Research Materials
Researchers who are homebound or have a print disability or visual impairment can explore many of our research collections online and request digitization of specific items of interest. To request the digitization service, email accessibility@nypl.org. Please note that you must be a patron of the Andrew Heiskell Library. This digitization service only includes material belonging to the research collections and does not apply to branch/circulating collections.
Screen Readers and Enlargers
Every public PC at all New York Public Library locations is equipped with JAWS screen reading software and MAGic software for enlarging the screen, changing colors and contrast, and screenreading.
Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library
The Andrew Heiskell Library offers popular reading materials in accessible audio and braille formats, as well as free membership to the Bookshare database of over one million accessible texts. It also offers individual coaching and a large variety of group workshops on topics related to accessible technology. Check the listings on our website, call 212-206-5400, or email talkingbooks@nypl.org