Skip to Main Content

Navigating Research at the Map Division: Getting Started at the New York Public Library: Searching the Catalogs

Learn methods and strategies, to search for maps at NYPL's Lionel Pincus and Princess Firyal Map Division.

Introduction to Catalogs

For the collection at the Map Division, there are two ways to find items of interest:

  • Online Research Catalog
    • Includes materials held at NYPL, Columbia University, Princeton University, and Harvard University
    • Includes option to request electronic scans of texts. [If available, option will be included under "Request" button]

 

  • Dictionary Catalogs aka GK Hall

    • Includes material that was added to the collection before 1971. Some material listed in these catalogs are not in the Online Research Catalog

    • All 10 volumes are digitally available on HathiTrust

 

Tips for Searching the Catalog for Maps

  • Be flexible with the dates that you are the parameters of your search (+/- 5 years)
    • If you are looking for a 1915 map, give yourself the flexibility to take a look at maps from 1910-1920

 

  • Rethink what a "Creator"/"Author" is. Remember that companies, organizations, and government entities can be considered as the "Creator"/"Author" of a map
    • Example: If you are looking for subway maps, you can search by using "New York (State) Metropolitan Transit Authority" as the "Creator"/"Author"

 

  • Remember that locations can change names, be found under multiple names, and have changing boundary lines. Often, these changes will be reflected in how you search for a map, as well as the data present on a map. Check our research guide, Finding Places, that lists gazetteers that will be useful in locating a place, its various names, and its changing boundaries. 
    • Example: Pre-1991 Ukraine maps will be found under "U.S.S.R." Meanwhile, post-1991 Ukraine maps will be found under "Ukraine."

Online Research Catalog

To access the collections at NYPL's Research Centers, click the tab labeled "Research" on the NYPL Home Page. In the search box, type in your query. Feel free to use the drop-down menu by the search box, to specify the type of search you would like to conduct. 

You will see a number of search results from NYPL's Research Centers. 

  • On your results page, you are also welcome to continue faceting your search by clicking the "Filter Search" button under your search query.
  • To only access map materials only, under Format, checkmark "Cartographic."
  • And, feel free to use the Date fields to limit your search to a specified year range. 

Online Research Catalog and buttons to pressed are marked

When reviewing a catalog record, you can expect to find the following details, which will help determine if the item will be of interest and accessing it:

  1. Title
  2. Creator/Author - will be hyperlinked, if you would like to see works by said authors
  3. Call Number (Map Div. ____)
  4. Additional Authors - will be hyperlinked, if you would like to see works by said authors
  5. Subject Headings - will be hyperlinked, if you would like to see works of a similar nature
  6. Is it digitized? - will be hyperlinked to the digitized copy
  7. Request button

Dictionary Catalog of the Map Division

The Dictionary Catalog is arranged alphabetically, by either location name, creator name, or subject. 

Looking at the example below of a page from Volume 8 (Pid-San), you can see that we have records for a map created by George W. Pirtle as well as a map of Pisa, Italy. 

These are further organized by date.

NYPL Dictionary Catalog record examples

To learn more about the Dictionary Catalog, please review Maps in the Gap: Discovering The Map Division’s Dictionary Catalog, Now Online

How to Request a Map

Depending on which catalog you use will determine how you will place your request:

If using the Online Research Catalog:

On the catalog record of the item you are interested in seeing, click the request button. 

  • If the item is a general item: The system will prompt you to log-in with your NYPL Library Card number.
  • If the item is considered to be part of Special Collections: The system will prompt you to log-in with your NYPL Special Collections account. 
    • In the resulting Special Collections request form, please note that the section under Appointment is recommended, but not required. If you do not fill in the Appointment section, the item will remain on hold for you for two weeks in the Map Division's Reading Room from when it is retrieved.

If you need any assistance requesting materials, please let us know the title and call number for the items you are interested in requesting, and we can assist in submitting the requests for you. 

If you are using the Dictionary Catalog:

Visit the Map Division's home page.

Click on the form that is listed for Dictionary Catalog requests. The system will prompt you to sign into your NYPL Special Collections account. 

Once you are signed in, the request page will ask you to fill the following: 

  • Title of Map
  • Year of Publication
  • The volume and page number that the item appears on
  • The specific row (1-7) and specific column (1-3) that the item is located on the page

Always remember, the more information provided, the better!

If you need any assistance requesting materials, please let us know the above information for the items you are interested in requesting, and we can assist in submitting the requests for you.