Research Guides: Market Research: Consumers

Additional Resources

New Strategist Series:

Reference books on consumers. spending and demographics. Check for latest editions on open shelves.

Includes :

"Who's buying.....", "Who we are...",

American Generations: who they are & how they live.

Best Customers: demographics of consumer demand

Try these resources for consumer market research

SimplyAnalytics
Use this resource to create your own comparison tables and maps on consumers and product use.
(Includes thousands of variables from government and private data plus data from the MRI Consumer Survey (Mediamark Research) on product use, consumption, media choices, demographics, lifestyles and attitudes. Also includes data from SimmonsLOCAL for brand level and media usage behavior.)
Mintel
Mintel contains market research on consumer markets in broad categories including automotive, beauty and personal care, drink, finance, food, foodservice, health and well being, household, international travel. No printing or downloading of Mintel reports is permitted.
This database is only accessible at the following NYPL locations: Thomas Yoseloff Business Center
Users will be asked to create a profile prior to proceeding to the reports. NYPL's subscription is for view only. No printing, no downloading, no copying, no reproduction by any digital device of Mintel content. Users are reminded that the Library expects and will enforce strict adherence to copyright regulations and to the conditions of access under which Mintel access is provided.
Sports Market Analytics
Now: Sports Market Analytics: Use for research on sports markets. Includes nationwide data on sports, fans, sports participation, teams, venues and more.
Reference Solutions
Reference Solutions. Use the module: U.S. Consumer/Lifestyles to find consumers who have answered market research surveys about their preferences. An advanced search in the Lifestyles module will provide names and addresses which can be used for direct mail campaigns.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States
Published annually by the federal government since 1878, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best known statistical reference publication in the country. It provides information to statistical questions and a guide to statistical sources. Beginning in 2012, ProQuest assumed responsibility for updating and maintaining the Statistical Abstracts. This database incorporates all editions from 1878 to the present. All tables are available as GIF images and Excel files. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
This database is only accessible at the following NYPL locations: Stephen A. Schwarzman Building; New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center; Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture; Thomas Yoseloff Business Center; All Branch Libraries

Consumer Expenditure Survey: Provides information on buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income and consumer unit characteristics.

Pew Research Center: conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.

The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.