Mergent Archives also offers PDFs of D&B directories and other sources with a backfile. Some of these are available in other databases, and in some cases the library keeps a backfile in print. This part of the database is most useful for old information.
Here you will find PDFs of print volumes of Standard and Poor's Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios, an important source for industry financial information. Select a year, going back to 1979, and a "book." "Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios" provides a volume containing all industries. The also prove volumes broken out by industry group. Pages are printed in landscape, so appear sideways; you'll have to rotate the view in your PDF reader. The library keeps a back file of Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios on paper, and it is available in database form, rather than PDF, as part of Mergent Intellect.
Going back to 1959, the Million Dollar Directory is a standard source for listings of American businesses. Simply select a year to view and download a PDF copy. The library maintains a paper backfile.
Hoovers is a series of directories offering fuller profiles of companies they cover. Select a directory, then a year. The library maintains a backfile on paper. Fuller current information is available in the D&B Hoovers database.
Current First Research industry reports are best searched in the standalone First Research database. Older reports are available here.
Mergent Archives offers D&B country reports covering their political and economic situation and risks. Simply select a country. These reports go back to 2001. More extensive information and reports are available through Fitch Solutions Country & Industry Research.
