Patents Are Only Granted by Individual Countries or Regions
- Individual "international patents" providing legal protection in every country on earth do not exist - patents are only granted on the national or regional level by the intellectual property office of each country or region.
- The Paris Convention allows a 12 month grace period for a patent applicant in one member country to apply for a patent in another member country of which there are 177 including the United States.
- 153 patent-granting jurisdictions, including the United States, are Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) members. An application submitted via the PCT Program establishes a filing date in all PCT member states and makes it easier for an inventor to apply for a patent for his or her invention in several countries simultaneously without having to translate the application into the language of that country/those countries and at a reduced application fee schedule.
- Patentscope is the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) database for searching PCT applications.
- The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is an agency of the United Nations which represents the interests of national intellectual property offices such as the United States Patent & Trademark Office and the European Patent Office.
- PCT applications are keyword searchable as well as classified by International Patent Classification (IPC) or CPC numbers.
- Espacenet is the patent search database of the European Patent Office. It contains patents from almost every country in the world, including the United States. On one site, you can make a Worldwide search of the complete database or search separately through individual national databases.
- Please note that while the United States Patent & Trademark Office allows an inventor up to 12 months to apply for a patent if the invention is first disclosed to the public, many foreign intellectual property offices do not consider an invention patentable once it is disclosed to the public. Therefore, if an inventor intends on obtaining patents outside of the United States, that person must not publicly disclose his or her invention until he or she has applied for either a non-provisional or provisional United States patent.
- USPTO PCT Help Desk telephone number +1-571-272-4300
- Design patents, or Industrial Design patents, can be easily registered in 74 participating countries via the Hague System for the International Registration of Industrial Designs.
- See the USPTO's Pursuing International IP Protection for further information about treaties and agreements providing protection for various forms of intellectual property in countries outside of the United States.
To conduct a search for older, historical foreign patents, SIBL has a large collection of foreign and international patents and patent gazettes. Those in full text are available mainly on microfilm, with more recent patents available on CD ROM, and many older patents available in paper. Those in gazettes (i.e., an abstract of the patent) are primarily on paper. These materials (in particular, materials stored offsite) can be requested through our catalog or from our Access Services using appropriate call number and volume information. For making or obtaining copies of these materials, please speak to a librarian or contact AskNYPL.
WIPO (World Intellectual Property Organization)
WIPO is the United Nations agency dedicated to the use of intellectual property (patents, copyright trademarks,designs, etc.) as a means of stimulating innovation and creativity. WIPO provides the patent search database PATENTSCOPE.
Abstracts and Illustrations
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| May 1978-1994 | PCT Gazette | JSM 97-135 |
Text and Drawings (from patent first pages) [includes WIPO, EPO, US, GB, France, German and Switzerland]
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1971-1996 | GlobalPat | CD-ROM. Numbered GP-1 - GP-116 |
| 1997-May 2000 | GlobalPat | *WSC-882 |
Full Text
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1981-1994 | WO [microfilm] | *XFR-14 Microfilm |
Indexes
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1981-1994 | WO [microfilm] | *XLR-7 |
EPO (European Patent Organization)
The EPO is an intergovernmental organization that was set up in 1977 on the basis of the European Patent Convention of 1973. It has two bodies, the European Patent Office and the Administrative Council, which supervises the Office's activities.
The EPO provides the patent search database ESPACENET.
Applications - Full Text
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1978-1994 | EP [microform] [A1, A2] | *XFR-12 Microfilm |
| Jan. 4, 1995-Jan. 7, 1999 | ESPACE-EPA (European Applications) | *WSC-549 CD-ROM |
| 1995-1999 | ESPACE World (World Patent Applications) |
*WSC-573 CD-ROM |
Search Reports - Full Text
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1992-1994 | EP [microform] [A3] | *XFR-12 Microfilm. |
Granted Patents - Full Text
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1978-1994 | EP [microform] [B1, B2] | *XFR-12 Microfilm. |
| 1995-1999 | ESPACE-EPB | *WSC-574 CD-ROM. |
Indexes
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1978-1994 | EP [microform] | *XLR-6 |
Australia
Abstracts and Illustrations
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1904-June 1986 | The Australian official journal of patents, trade marks, and designs | *VAB+ (Australia. Patents, Trade Marks and Designs Office. Australian official journal of patents, trade marks and designs) |
| July 1986-Jan. 1987 | The Australian official journal of patents, trade marks, and designs | *VAB (Australia. Patents, trademarks and design office. Australian official journal) |
| Jan. 22, 1987-Feb. 1994 | Australian official journal of patents | *VAB (Australia) 88-1937 |
| Mar.1994-Feb 2001, May 2001-Dec 2003 | Australian official journal of patents | JSM 96-27 |
Specifications
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1936-1945 | Patent specification | *VAZ (Australia) (Australia. Patent Office. Patent specification) |
IP Australia - www.ipaustralia.gov.au
Australia - South Australia
Specifications
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1877-1886 | Specs. of patents granted in South Australia | *VAZ (Specs. of patents granted in South Australia) |
Australia - Victoria Province
Patents / Abstracts
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1854-1892 | Patents and patentees. | *VAB (Victoria, Australia. Patent office. Patents and patentees) |
| 1854-1866 (Library has 1870) | Victoria. Abstracts of specifications of patents applied for from 1854 to 1866. | *VAB (Victoria (Australia). Patent Office. Abstracts of specifications) |
Austria
Patent Bulletin
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| July 1881-December 1895 | Illustriertes Österreichisch-Ungarisches patent-blatt [microform]. | *ZAN-U4 Microfilm. |
| 1899-1940, 1951-1961 | Oesterreichisches Patentblatt. | *VAB (Austria. Patentamt. Österreichisches Patentblatt) |
Austrian Patent Office - https://www.patentamt.at/en/
Belgium
Abstracts
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1854-1985 | Recueil des brevets d'invention. Verzameling der uitvindingsoctrooien. | *VAB (Belgium. Propriete industrielle, Office de la. Recueil des brevets d'invention) |
1854-1855, Abstracts only;
1855-1858, Abstracts & illustrations
1858-1896, Abstracts & relevant patent nos.
1897-1954, Abstracts by subject groups
1955-1985, Abstracts by IPC
Full text
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1950-1966 | Brevet d'invention [Record 1: no. 493079 - no.692350] | *VAB (Belgium. Propriete industrielle, office de la. Brevet d'invention) |
| 1967-1973 | Brevet d'invention [Record 2: no. 692351 - no. 796000] | *VAB (Belgium. Propriete industrielle, office de la. Brevet d'invention) |
Belgian Intellectual Property Office (IPObel) - https://economie.fgov.be/en/themes/intellectual-property/belgian-intellectual-property
Canada
Claims and Drawings
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1824-1855 | Patents of Canada | *VAB (Canada. Patent and Copyright Office. Patents of Canada) |
Abstracts only
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1873-1992 | The Patent Office record. La Gazette du Bureau des brevets. | *VAB (Canada. Patent and Copyright Office, Canadian Patent Office record) |
Specifications and Drawings
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1948-1951 | Patents. Brevets | *VAZ (Canada) (Canada. Patent Office. Specification and drawings) |
Library has (Print): no. 450,080 (July 27, 1948)-no. 479,997 (Jan. 1, 1952) (incomplete).
Full text (microforms)
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1976-1981 | Patents. Brevets | *XLR-3 Microfiche. |
Library has: (Microfiche) no. 986,651-1106550; 1976-1981.
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1986 | Patents. Brevets | *XFR-22 Microfilm. |
Library has: (Microfilm cartridges) Library has: 1,198,983-1,216,100;Jan. 7- Dec. 30, 1986.
Canadian Patent Database: http://brevets-patents.ic.gc.ca/opic-cipo/cpd/eng/introduction.html
Cuba
Patent Bulletin
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1906-1908 | Boletín oficial de la Secretaría de Agricultura, Industria y Comercio | *VAB+ (Cuba. Comercio, Secretaria de. Boletín oficial de la propriedad industrial) |
| 1909-1918 | Boletín oficial de la Secretaría de Agricultura, Comercio y Trabajo | *VAB+ (Cuba. Comercio, Secretaria de. |
| 1918-1936 | Boletín oficial de marcas y patentes / Secretaría de Agricultura, Comercio y Trabajo | *VAB+ (Cuba. Comercio, Secretaria de. Boletín oficial de la propriedad industrial) |
| 1937-1965 | Boletín oficial de la propiedad industrial / Secretaría de Comercio | *VAB+ (Cuba. Comercio, Secretaria de. Boletín oficial de la propriedad industrial) |
Denmark
Full text
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1895-1988 | Danske patenter | *VAB (Denmark. Patent- og varemaerkevaesenet, Direktoratet for. Dansk patenter) |
| 1974-1988 | Fremlæggelsesskrifter | *VAB 80-435 |
| 1989-1992 | Fremlæggelsesskrifter | *XLR-10 Microfiche. |
Indexes
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1974-1978 | Register over danske patenter | *VAB 80-437 |
Danish Patent Office - www.dkpto.dk
France
Abstracts
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1791-1900 | Description des machines et procédés pour lesquels des brevets d'invention ont été pris sous le régime de la loi du 5 juillet 1844. | *VAB (France. Commerce, Ministere du. Description des brevets d'invention) |
Abstracts and Illustrations
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1950-1992 | Bulletin officiel de la propriété industrielle. Abreges descriptifs des bevets d'invention. | *VAB (France. Institut national de la propriété industrielle. Bulletin officiel de la propriété industrielle. Abréges descriptifs des brevets d'invention) |
| 1993-2000 | Bulletin officiel de la propriété industrielle. Abreges descriptifs des bevets d'invention. | JSM 99-183 |
Full Text
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1902-1938 | Brevet d'invention. [Record 1: 1902-1938] | *VAE (France. Propriété industrielle, Service. Brevets d'invention) |
| 1939-1959 | Brevet d'invention. [Record 2: 1939-1959] | *VAE (France. Propriété industrielle, Service. Brevets d'invention) |
| 1960-1965 | Brevet d'invention. [Record 3: 1960-1965] | *VAE (France. Propriété industrielle, Service. Brevets d'invention) |
| 1966-1969 | Brevet d'invention. [Record 4: 1966-1969] | *VAE (France. Propriété industrielle, Service. Brevets d'invention) |
| 1970 | Brevet d'invention. [Record 5: 1970] | *VAE (France. Propriété industrielle, Service. Brevets d'invention) |
Patent Applications
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1969-1970 | Demandes de brevets d'invention | *VAE (France. Propriété industrielle, Service de la. Demandes de brevets d'invention) |
| 1970 | Demandes de brevets d'invention | *VAE (France. Propriété industrielle, Service de la. Unique publication de brevets d'invention) |
| 1982-May 1995 | Demandes de brevets d'invention | *XFR-16 Microfilm. |
| 1983-1992 | Demandes de brevets d'invention | *XLR-8 Microfiche Indexes. |
French National Patent Office / Institute Nationale De La Propriette Industrielle (INPI) -www.inpi.fr
Germany
Abstracts & illustrations
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1880-1941 | Auszüge aus den Patentschriften | *VAB (Germany. Patentamt. Auszuge aus den Patentschriften) |
Full Text
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1877-1945 | Patentschrift | *XFR-9 1877-1945 Microfilm. |
| 1946-1972 | Patentschrift | *XFR-9 1946-72 Microfilm. |
| 1957-1968 | Auslegeschrift [Record 1: 1957-1968] | *VAH+ (Germany (Federal Republic, 1949- ). Patentamt. Auslegeschrift) |
| 1969-1977 | Auslegeschrift [Record 2: 1969 -1977] | *VAH+ (Germany (Federal Republic, 1949- ). Patentamt. Auslegeschrift) |
| 1978-1982 | Auslegeschrift [Record 3: 1978-1982] | *VAH+ (Germany (Federal Republic, 1949- ). Patentamt. Auslegeschrift) |
| 1981-1994 | Offenlegungsschrift | *XFR-11 Jan. 1981-1994 Microfilm. |
| 1999-2001 | DEPAROM U [electronic resource] : Deutsche Gebrauchsmuster-schriften. | *WSC-1058 CD-ROM. |
| 1999-2001 | DEPAROM ACT [electronic resource] : Deutsche Patentdokumente, A1, C1-C4, T1 | *WSC-998 CD-ROM. |
German Patent Office - www.dpma.de
Hungary
Patent Bulletin
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1896-1948 | Szabadalmi közlöny | *VAB (Hungary. Szabadalmi közlöny) |
| November 1949-1965; 1972-1977; 1980-1985 | Szabadalmi közlöny és védjegyértesitö [microform] | *ZAN-U9 Microfilm. |
| 1994-1998 | Szabadalmi közlöny és védjegyértesitö [microform] | JSM 96-28 |
Hungarian Patent Office - www.hipo.gov.hu/English/
Japan
Utility model specifications
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1905-1958 | Jitsuy¯o shin'an k¯oh¯o | *V |
Specifications
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1897-1973 | Tokkyo k¯oh¯o = The patent gazette | *VAK |
| 1982-1995 | K¯okoku tokkyo k¯oh¯o = Published examined patent applications | *XFR-21 Microfilm. |
Patent Abstracts
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1996(?)-2001 | Patent abstracts of Japan news : PAJ | JSM 01-106 |
| 1980-1989 | Patent abstracts of Japan [electronic resource] | *WSC-1203 |
| 1994-2001 | Patent abstracts of Japan [electronic resource] | *WSC-1204 |
Designs
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1954-1961 | Ish¯o k¯oh¯o | *V |
Japanese Patent Office - www.jpo.go.jp
Russia/USSR
Indexes and Patents
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1893-1907 | Zapiski Russkago tekhnicheskago obshchestva | *QCB (Russkoye tekhnicheskoye obshchestvo, St. Petersburg. Zapiski) |
Abstracts & Illustrations
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1924-1931 | Vestnik Komiteta po delam izobretenii | *V (Union of Soviet Socialist Republics. Komitet po izobretatelstvu. Vestnik...) |
| July 1931-June 1936 | Vestnik Komiteta po izobretatelstvu. | *V (Union of Soviet Socialist Republics. Komitet po izobretatelstvu. Vestnik...) |
| 1937- | Otkrytiia, izobreteniia, promishlennye obreaztsy, tovarnye znaki. | *V (Union of Soviet Socialist Republics. Gosudarstvennoye byuro posleduiushchei registratsii izobretenii. Biulleten) |
| 1959-1962 | Biulleten izobretenii. | *VAZ (Russia) (Biulleten izobretenii) |
| 1963-1965 | Biulleten izobretenii i tovarnykh znakov. | *VAZ (Russia) (Biulleten' izobretenii i tovarnykh znakov) |
| 1966-1967 | Izobreteniia, promyshlennye obraztsy, tovarnye znaki. | *VAZ (Russia) (Izobreteniia, promyshlennye obraztsy, tovarnye znaki) |
| 1969-1982 | Otkrytiia, izobreteniia, promyshlennye obraztsy, tovarnye znaki : ofitsialnyi biulleten Komiteta po delam izobretenii i otkrytii pri Sovete Ministrov SSSR. | *VAZ (Russia) (Otkrytiia, izobreteniia, promyshlennye obraztsy, tovarnye znaki) |
| [1983-] 1987-1991 |
Otkrytiia, izobreteniia : ofitsialnyi biulleten Gosudarstvennogo komiteta SSSR po delam izobretenii i otkrytii. | *VAZ (Russia) (Otkrytiia, izobreteniia) |
Full Text
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1987-1992 | Patents & Invent. Cert. Patent Nos. 1281186-1785584 |
Microfilm. |
Federal Service for Intellectual Property, Patents and Trademarks (ROSPATENT) -www.fips.ru
Eurasian Patent Organization - www.eapo.org
Sweden
Patent Gazette
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| April 1968-March 25, 1985 (incomplete). | Svensk patenttidning | *VAB (Sweden. Patent- och registeringsverket. Svensk patenttidning) |
Full Text
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1885-1972 | Patent | *VAI (Sweden. Patent- och registreringsverket. Beskrifning) |
| 1968-1990 | Utlaggningsskrift. [Record 1 : 1968-1990] | *VAI (Sweden. Patent- och registreringsverket. Utlaggningsskrift) |
| 1989-1994 | Utlaggningsskrift [microform] [Record 2: 1990-1994] | *XLR-11 |
| 1994-1999 | Patentskrift [microform] | *XLR-13 Microfiche. |
Swedish Patent Office - www.prv.se
Switzerland
Indexes
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1890-1960 | Patent-Liste | *VAB (Switzerland. Geistiges Eigentum, Amt für. Patent-Liste) |
| 1965-1990 | Schweizerisches Patent-, Muster- und Markenblatt / Feuille suisse des brevets, dessins et marques | *VAB (Schweizerisches Patent-, Muster- und Markenblatt) |
Full Text
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1984-1993 | Patentschrift [microform] Patent Nos. 640,381-683,054 |
*XFR-19 Microfilm |
Swiss Federal Institute of Intellectual Property - www.ige.ch
United Kingdom
Official Journal
|
Date |
Title |
Location |
|---|---|---|
| 1854-1993 | Official journal (patents) | *VAB (Great Britain. Patent office. Official journal (patents) |
| 1994-1995 | Official journal (patents) | JSM 96-26 |
Plates and Full Text
A Selection of Early British Patents from the NYPL Collection:
| Year | Date | Number | Inventor | Title | Text | Plates |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1802 | 2575 | de Philipsthal, Paul | Apparatus for Reflecting Objects | Text | ||
| 1836 | 7149 | Ericcson, John | Propeller for Steam Navigation | Text | ||
| 1840 | 8513 | Bush, William | Breeches of Fire-arms, and Cartridges | Text | ||
| 1840 | 8526 | Hawley, John | Pianofortes and Harps | Text | ||
| 1840 | 8573 | Poole, Moses | Locks of Fire-Arms | Text | ||
| 1848 | 12,352 | Bakewell, Frederick Collier | Electric Telegraphs | Text | ||
| 1860 | April 10 | 899 | Rigby, John & Norman, William Nicholas | Improvements in Guns and Other Fire-arms, and in Cartridges to be used therewith | Text | Plate |
| 1863 | Feb. 5 | 326 | Dircks, Henry & Pepper, John Henry | Improvements in Apparatus to be used in the Exhibition of Dramatic and Other like Performances | Text | |
| 1863 | Aug. 3 | 1917 | Munro, John | Improvements in Apparatus for Producing Optical Illusions | Text | |
| 1867 | Feb. 9 | 367 | Stanton, John | An Improved Self-acting Safety Gun Lock | Text | Plate 1 Plate 2 |
| 1869 | Dec. 30 | 3774 | Stanton, John | An Improved Rebounding Safety Gun Lock | Text | |
| 1871 | August 11 | 2124 | Harston, Charles Greville | Improvements in Breech-loading Fire-arms | Text | Plate |
| 1873 | Sept.11 | 2988 | Edison, Thomas Alva | Improvements in Perforated Paper for Telegraphic Purposes, and in Means for Receiving and Transmitting with the Same | Text | Plate |
| 1873 | Sept. 11 | 2989 | Harston, Charle Greville | Improvements in Breech-loading Fire-arms | Text | Plate |
| 1879 | Mar. 21 | 1141 | Rigby, John & Bissell, Thomas | Improvements in Breech Loading Fire Arms | Text | Plate 1 Plate 2 |
| 1879 | Mar. 28 | 1245 | Pepper, John Henry & Walker, James John | Improvements in Apparatus to be Used in the Exhibition of Dramatic, Dioramic, and other like Performances | Text | Plate |
| 1879 | May 29 | 2147 | Reeves, John | Improvements in the Lock Mechanism of Certain Kinds of Breech Loading Small Arms | Text | Plates |
| 1879 | Dec. 18 | 5185 | Denstone, William Huskisson | Improvements in Apparatus to be used in the Exhibition of Dramatic, Illusory and other like Performances | Text | Plate |
| 1880 | Jan. 3 | 31 | Beesley, Frederick | Improvements in the Construction of Break-Down Guns | Text | Plate |
| 1883 | Feb. 14 | 823 | Beesley, Frederick | Improvements in Firearms | Text | Plate |
| 1883 | April 14 | 1903 | Harrison, Edward & Beesley, Frederick | Improvements in Breech-loading Fire-arms | Text | Plate 1 Plate 2 |
| 1883 | June 6 | 2813 | Woodward, James & Beesley, Frederick | Improvements in or Applicable to Breech Loading Small Fire Arms | Text | Plate |
| 1883 | Aug. 9 | 3874 | Horsley, Thomas & Pryse, Charles | Improvements in Breech Loading Small Arms | Text | Plate |
| 1884 | Jan. 2 | 425 | Beesley, Frederick | Improvements in or Applicable to Break Down Hammerless Guns | Text | Plate |
| 1884 | Aug. 18 | 11,382 | Harrison, Edgar & Beesley, Frederick | An Intercepting Block Safety for Guns | Text | Plate |
| 1884 | Nov. 1 | 14,488 | Beesley, Frederick | Improvements in Safety Mechanism for Breech Loading Small Arms | Text | Plate |
| 1885 | April 23 | 5049 | Deeley, John & Penn, Frederick James | Improvements in the Cocking Mechanism of Drop-Down Small Arms | Text | Plate 1 Plate 2 |
| 1886 | July 2 | 8657 | Beesley, Frederick | Breakdown Guns | Text | Plate |
| 1888 | April 9 | 5254 | Castan, Lousi & Castan, Gustav | Improved Mechanism by means of which a Human Being or Other Object Appears to Float Free in the Air | Text | Plate |
| 1889 | Aug. 2 | 12,314 | Southgate, Thomas | Improvements in the Ejecting Mechanism of Breech-loading Double-barrelled Guns | Text | Plate |
| 1889 | Dec.31 | 20,979 | Beesley, Frederick | Improvements in Ejecting Mechanism for Drop-down Guns | Text | Plate |
| 1890 | Jan. 14 | 662 | Southgate, Thomas | Improvements in Ejector Mechanism for Breech-loading Small-arms | Text | Plate 1 Plate 2 |
| 1894 | April 11 | 7242 | Thorn, Henry Alfred Alexander & Wilkinson, William Frederick | Improvements in Break-down Guns, Rifles, and the like | Text | Plate |
| 1895 | May 1 | 8648 | Beesley, Frederick | Improvements in Breechloading Small-arms | Text | Plate |
UK Intellectual Property Office - www.ipo.gov.uk