Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Puerto Rico Genealogy: Further Reading

A research guide to online and print resources for genealogy related to individuals from Puerto Rico.
Guide by Diane Dias De Fazio.

The Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs: Print Collection, The New York Public Library. "Panorama de San Juan de Puerto-Rico." [detail]. The New York Public Library Digital Collections.

Libraries, Archives, and Museums

Online Resources

Free FamilySearch.org Webinars:

Forums and Groups:

Taino Resources:

Taino are indigenous people of the Caribbean, and inhabited the island (then called Boriken) for centuries before Christopher Columbus' arrival in 1493.

Works Cited in This Guide

Via ProQuest Historical Newspapers (available at Library locations):

  • DIRECT WIRE TO, THE TIMES. 1900. "PORTO RICANS LAND AS AMERICAN CITIZENS." Los Angeles Times (1886-1922), Dec 02, 1. 
  • Special Dispatch to, The Chronicle. 1901. "TO WORK IN SUGAR FIELDS." San Francisco Chronicle (1869-Current File), Jan 02, 5.
  • DIRECT WIRE TO, THE TIMES. 1900. "PORTO RICANS PROTEST." Los Angeles Times (1886-1922), Dec 07, 1.

Via NYPL Digital Collections:

Lionel Pincus and Princess Firyal Map Division, The New York Public Library. "Map of Porto Rico [Puerto Rico]" New York Public Library Digital Collections. Accessed  2018. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/b891c270-c52a-012f-a02a-3c075448cc4b

The Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs: Photography Collection, The New York Public Library. "Casa Blanca and Sea Wall, San Juan, P. R." New York Public Library Digital Collections. Accessed 2018. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47d9-a78c-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99

The Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs: Print Collection, The New York Public Library. "Panorama de San Juan de Puerto-Rico." New York Public Library Digital Collections. Accessed 2018. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47d9-7dc4-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Art and Artifacts Division, The New York Public Library. "Inland, Porto Rico" New York Public Library Digital Collections. Accessed 2018. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/7f2846d0-d56d-0131-2fb1-58d385a7bbd0

From Websites Available Outside the Library:

"Milestones: 1866-1898 - The Spanish-American War, 1898." United States Department of State, https://history.state.gov/milestones/1866-1898/spanish-american-war

"The World of 1898: the Spanish-American War - Jones Act." Library of Congress Reading Rooms, Hispanic Collections, http://www.loc.gov/rr/hispanic/1898/jonesact.html