¿Eres Boricua? Are you Puerto Rican? Wondering how to find your roots?
Primarily focused on NYPL collections, this guide presents: an overview of Puerto Rican migration, suggested reference works, catalog and database research tips (for NYPL and beyond), information on finding vital and church records, an overview of understanding naming conventions, and recommended venues in which to continue your research beyond the Library.
This guide features tips and resources for accessing information resources, including links to print and digital collections accessible at The New York Public Library (NYPL). Access to some databases requires that you have a NYPL library card - you can apply for one online or at any branch of The New York Public Library.
SimplyE: Download NYPL’s e-reader app to access e-books and audiobooks—all for free.
Look for books, microfilm, periodicals, archive collections, and more at NYPL Classic Catalog
Search archive and manuscript collections, including Family Files, at archives.nypl.org and the NYPL Classic Catalog.
Explore maps, photographs, city directories, and other digital resources free online at NYPL Digital Collections
Search for genealogy databases and other online resources at NYPL Articles & Databases: Genealogy
Sign up for an online genealogy class at NYPL and access additional research guides and blogs at www.nypl.org/locations/divisions/milstein
Lionel Pincus and Princess Firyal Map Division, The New York Public Library. "Map of Porto Rico [Puerto Rico]". Chicago: Fort Dearborn Publishing Co., 1898.
About
The Irma and Paul Milstein Division of United States History, Local History and Genealogy collects publications documenting American history on the national, state, and local levels, including extensive holdings on New York City history. The Division has a renowned collection of family histories and other genealogical collections, with a particular focus on the New York region. Included in the collections are published works from the New York Genealogical and Biographical Society library, photographs, vertical files, postcards, and other visual ephemera.
Reference Librarians
(42nd St & Fifth Ave)
First Floor, Room 121
New York, NY 10018
This guide was created in 2017–2019 by Diane Dias De Fazio.