Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Exploring Black LGBTQ Studies in the Schomburg Center's Archive: More Schomburg and NYPL Resources

This guide is designed to highlight collections devoted to LGBTQ Studies.

Introduction

The Schomburg Center and the New York Public Library offerers a wide variety of resources that document the LGBTQIA+ community across the research libraries. including research guides, databases, books, zines, and more. To find additional resources, check the NYPL catalog, or the NYPL Archives Portal.

NYPL Research Guides

These Research Guides have been created by New York Public Library Librarians. Use them to discover more resources concerning LGBT studies. 

Black Feminism Introductory Research Guide

Stonewall 50: A Guide Honoring the 50th Anniversary of the Stonewall Riots and LGBT History

Periodical Collection

At the Schomburg Center researchers can find a vast collection of periodicals that document the global Black experience with popular and rare titles published in the U.S. and abroad. 

Search the Schomburg/ NYPL Periodical Collection using the follow subject headings to find results dealing with LGBT studies:

Popular Databases

Below is a short list of databases accessible with an active New York Public Library card. Within these databases you can search for people, keywords, or subject terms.

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

LGBT Life with Full Text

The History Makers

Alternative Press Index

America History and Life with Full Text

Independent Voices

Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society

Other NYPL Resources

The Manuscripts and Archives Division holds over 100 collections pertaining to the history of gay men and lesbians, and to the history of the AIDS and HIV epidemic. View a list of those collections here.

Listen to New Yorkers tell their stories through the NYC Trans Oral History Project.

Books to start with