Skip to main content

Exploring Black LGBTQ Studies in the Schomburg Center's Archive: Schomburg Archival Media

This guide is designed to highlight collections devoted to LGBTQ Studies.

Organization

The Schomburg Center is organized by material format. This section will highlight materials in the Moving Image and Recorded Sound Division and the Photographs and Prints Division of the Schomburg Center.

Moving Image and Recorded Sound Division

The Moving Image and Recorded Sound Division provides access to materials that document the experiences of people of African decent through audiovisual technology. Please contact the division to make an appointment to view audiovisual materials. SchomburgAudiovisual@nypl.org.

Here is a sample of some of the materials concerning Black LGBTQIA+ life that are available in this division:

  • "City Line: Sharon Davis," Communications Excellence to Black Audiences (CEBA) Award collection [Sc Visual DVD-1393]

  • "Black Studies' Queer Future," Black Studies Panel collection

  • "Brother to Brother: An Interview with Essex Hemphill and Dorothy Beam," Ernest "Tad" Truesdale audio and moving image collection

  • "LGBT Lives in Contemporary Cuba," Schomburg Center Public Programs collection [Sc Visual DVD-356]

The following are audiovisual components to collections in the Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division. Please inquire with MIRS Staff for access:

  • Gay Men of African Descent audio and moving image collection

  • Ada "Bricktop" Smith audio collection

  • Assotto Saint audio collection

  • Joan Jett Blakk audio and moving image collection

  • SDiane Adamz-Bogus audio and moving image collection

  • Thomas Glave audio and moving image collection

  • Other Countries audio and moving image collection

  • Stormé DeLarverié moving image collection

Photographs and Prints Division

The Photographs and Prints Division provides access to documentary and fine art photographs that document global black life, and the work of photographers of African decent. Please contact the division to discuss relevant items to view, and to make an appointment.  SchomburgPhotography@nypl.org.

The following are a sample of photograph collections depicting Black LGBTQIA+ individuals.

Vibrant Energy: Black Men Revealed 

James Baldwin Photograph Collection

Ada "Bricktop" Smith Photograph Collection 

Stormé DeLarverié  Photograph Collection

Marsha P. Johnson hands out flyers for support of Gay students at N.Y.U

undefined

Manuscripts and Archives Division, The New York Public Library. "Marsha P. Johnson hands out flyers for support of gay students at N.Y.U." New York Public Library Digital Collections.