Skip to main content

Exploring Black LGBTQ Studies in the Schomburg Center's Archive: Schomburg Manuscripts, Archives, and Rare Books Division Materials

This guide is designed to highlight collections devoted to LGBTQ Studies.

Queer Studies Collections

The Queer Studies Collections in the Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division of the Schomburg Center include over 20 collections spanning from 1921- 2014. These collections include personal papers of Black LGBTQIA+ people and organizations. This section will highlight a few of these collections.

Personal Papers

Bill Gunn Papers 1950-1989

Playwright, novelist, screenwriter, filmmaker and actor

Black and white photo of Joseph Beam looking at the camera, with his chin on his left hand.

Joseph Beam Papers 1967-1990

Gay rights activist and author

Black and white photo of Storme DeLarverie in drag, wearing a tuxedo. Two women in drag are on his left and right, and another woman in drag is seated at his feet.

Storḿé DeLarveríé papers 1980-2014

Singer, male impersonator, and gay rights activist. Believed to have thrown the first punch at the Stone Wall Riot.

Black and white photo of Assotto Saint. His right hand is at his cheek, and he is looking off into the distance.

Assotto Saint Papers 1981-1994

Gay activist, poet, and performance artist

Making an Appointment

Open to researchers Tuesdays- Saturdays

Tuesday- Wednesday 12 pm-5:45 pm

Thursday-Saturday 10 am-5:45 pm

Closed Sundays and Mondays

When filling out your Appointment Request please provide us with:

The day(s) of your visit

The title of the collection(s) you would like to use

Up to six boxes (or rare books) for each day of your visit.