Research Guides: Economics Reference and Data Sources: General Data Sources

General Statistical Sources

Statistical Abstracts of the United States
Published annually by the federal government since 1878,this source has long provided a broad compendium of statistics on the United States, including economic statistics. It's often a good first stop, providing top level statistics, and as a source for additional sources of information, through footnotes under every table. This ProQuest database covers 1878 to present.
This database is only accessible at the following NYPL locations: Stephen A. Schwarzman Building; New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center; Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture; Thomas Yoseloff Business Center; All Branch Libraries

Latest print edition:
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library - Adult Non-Fiction 317.3 P
1900-2012 available at:
SASB - SIBL - General Research - Room 315 *R-SIBL HA202
See catalog

Historical Statistics of the United States
This compendium of statistics provides quantitative, historical data about American social, economic and political conditions and development. The data is provided in both PDF and Excel formats. This is the online version of the 2006 print edition.

Print edition available at:
SASB - Milstein Division Reference Rm 121 *R-USLHG HA202 .H57
This database is only accessible at the following NYPL locations: Stephen A. Schwarzman Building; New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center; Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture; Thomas Yoseloff Business Center; Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library (SNFL)
Statistical Abstracts of the World
An aggregate of the statistical abstracts of nearly forty countries, generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments. Also includes global and regional statistical compendia issued by international organizations and research firms. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
This database is only accessible at the following NYPL locations: Stephen A. Schwarzman Building; New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center; Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture; Thomas Yoseloff Business Center; All Branch Libraries

Economic Report of the President Transmitted to the Congress (1995-date)

The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.

Latest print edition:
Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library - Business Center Reference *R-SIBL HC106 .A272 B. Altman Reference Desk
1947/48- : JBK 90-26

County and City Extra
Compendium of county and city level statistics, often hard to find elsewhere.

Latest edition: SASB - SIBL - General Research - Room 315 *R-SIBL HA203 .C68
Available at: JBM 94-90 (1992- ); See catalog
Continues: County and City Data Book (1947-2007; irregular): JBM 94-95; See catalog

New York State Statistical Yearbook
A compendium of New York State statistics.
Call Number: See catalog