Economics Reference and Data Sources: Federal Reserve, Central Banks, and Money

The Library's print holdings begin in 1924. Now useful for historical research.

This encyclopedia provides a comprehensive explanation of the Federal Reserve System, describing its structure and process, policies, people, and key events. Arranged alphabetically, over 250 entries define and describe topics related to the Fed and United States monetary policy, including Alan Greenspan, Black Monday of 1929, Euro, Federal Reserve Act of 1913, Prime rate, and Treasury financing.

This book contains essays presented at a conference held in November 2010 to mark the centenary of the famous 1910 Jekyll Island meeting of leading American financiers and the US Treasury. The 1910 meeting resulted in the Aldrich Plan, a precursor to the Federal Reserve Act that was enacted by Congress in 1913. The 2010 conference, sponsored by the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta and Rutgers University, featured assessments of the Fed's near 100-year track record by prominent economic historians and macroeconomists. The final chapter of the book records a panel discussion of Fed policy making by the current and former senior Federal Reserve officials.

The Encyclopedia of Central Banking provides definitive and comprehensive encyclopedic coverage on central banking and monetary theory and policy. Containing close to 250 entries from specially commissioned experts in their fields, elements of past and current monetary policies are described and a critical assessment of central bank practices is presented. Since the global financial crisis of 2008-09, all major central banks have intervened to avert the collapse of the global economy, bringing monetary policy to the forefront. Rochon and Rossi give an up to date, critical understanding of central banking, at both theoretical and policy-oriented levels. This Encyclopedia explains the complexity of monetary-policy interventions, their conceptual and institutional frameworks, and their own limits and drawbacks. The reader is provided with the body of knowledge necessary to understand central banks' decisions in the aftermath of the global financial crisis and controversial explanations of the crisis are illuminated from a historical perspective. Academics and students of economics will find this an indispensible reference tool, offering current and necessary insight into central banking and monetary policy. Practitioners in the financial sector will also benefit from this refreshed insight into such a fundamental topic.

Lists addresses and contact information, key personnel with phone number and email address, and brief history and other textual description of each bank. Also includes statistical tables in front matter.

A comprehensive introductory resource with entries covering the development of money and the functions and dysfunctions of the monetary and financial system.

This reference work covers the monetary systems of 203 countries and four confederations. The major section, the dictionary, provides historical and orthographical information for all monetary systems according to country. Countries are arranged alphabetically from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.Chronologies address the evolution of each unit over the last 100 to 150 years and are accompanied by a brief historical narrative of the unit's respective country or confederation.

"How Money Works" demystifies processes and answers the hundreds of financial questions we all have. Money facilitates the billions of transactions that take place every day across the globe. "How Money Works" shows you how this is possible. It explains economic theories, how governments raise and control money, what goes on in the stock exchange, how analysts predict where shares are heading, and many other issues.