Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Newspapers at the New York Public Library: Getting Started

Getting Started

This guide will assist users in finding international newspapers via print, microfilm, and online resources - databases.  The first step to get started in your research is to acquire a Library card. A Library card will provide you with access to our print and digital collections. NYC residents or visitors to NYC (domestic or international), can apply online here. Please note, a photo ID and proof of address is needed to validate your card when you visit. Further information on Library cards can be found here. The General Research Division houses a major collection of historical newspapers with over 700 local, national and international newspapers. Our microfilm readers are located in the Rose Main Reading Room, third floor of the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building.        

Picture of the back of a New York Public Library card

1939 photograph of man reading newspaper while leaning against car

             Man sitting on automobile fender reading a newspaper.                                     Market square, Waco, Texas

Research Catalog

You can explore Subject Headings in our Research Catalog via the Subject Heading Index. Another great way to explore our collection is with "Keyword" searches. Noted below are examples of Subject Headings and Keyword searches: 

Subject Headings:

Keywords searches:

The Research Catalog also provides patrons with access to offsite storage items from NYPL, Columbia University, Princeton University and Harvard University collections. Items are delivered to The Stephen A. Schwarzman Building in 1- 2 business days. 

How to Find Material Outside of NYPL

WorldCat --  A catalog which links multiple libraries holdings in a one stop search engine for easy searching across libraries worldwide.  

Interlibrary Services and Document Delivery (ILL) Interlibrary Services provides access to materials held at libraries outside the NYPL system. To begin using ILL, please create an online account here.

How to Request Material

Items that are located offsite can be requested via the blue "Request Button" found in the catalog. 

After you have logged in with your Library card and pin number, the following screen allows you to select the location where you want the material to be delivered or if you would like a small portion of the item scanned. Please Note: Material located onsite in the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building can only be requested in person or in advance at least 3 days prior to your visit via the advance request form here. Same day requests and deliveries of onsite items may take up to 2 hours for delivery.  

Consultations with a Librarian

Questions???

Meet Virtually with a Librarian (Consultation) 

Researchers of all levels are welcome to schedule an online consultation with our librarians. Consultations include: catalog navigation, demonstration of online services and database (articles, abstracts etc...), as well as exploration of sources for a specific topic. To schedule a consultation, please click on the link above or email us at: generalresearch@nypl.org. A Librarian will review your query and get back to you as soon as possible.

Research Librarians

Profile Photo
General Humanities Reference Librarians
Contact:
476 Fifth Avenue (42nd St and Fifth Ave)
Third Floor , Room 315
New York, NY 10018
Website