Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Newspapers at The New York Public Library: Databases and News Sources

Introduction

This complied list of databases and aggregated news websites are organized by continents, countries, and regions. Subscription databases are available through our Articles and Databases page and include providers such as: Readex, ProQuest, and Gale among others. 

Africa

Africa Newspapers, 1800 - 1922

This database provides access to more than 60 African newspapers including titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe. Coverage includes newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. 

African Newspapers Union List (AFRINUL)  

AFRINUL is a centralized database of newspapers published in sub-Saharan Africa. Including over 2000 publications, titles can be found by language, frequency of publication, country, or through a keyword search. 

Africa Newsroom 

Free multimedia database containing press releases, videos, photos, and documents from 350,000 journalists, bloggers and social networks. This database also contains documents from international institutions, governments, and African-based PR agencies. 

allAfrica 

allAfrica produces and distributes daily informative news from over 100 African news organizations, and operates from Cape Town, Dakar, Abuja, Johannesburg, Nairobi and Washington DC to produce news by and about Africa. 

World-Newspapers.com - Africa 

Since 2002, World Newspapers.com has provided free access to anyone interested in world news. A beneficial resource that provides access to multiple newspapers and news sites from various countries in Africa.

EGYPT

Egypt Daily

Provides daily news article from Egypt including politics, business, culture, lifestyle, sports and interviews and opinion columns. 

SOUTH AFRICA

Rand Daily Mail (1902-1985)

The Rand Daily Mail was published in Johannesberg, South Africa from 1902 until 1985. Published in English, The Rand was a critic of South African government policies during Apartheid. 

Caribbean

Caribbean Newspapers (1718-1876)

Includes more than 140 newspaper titles from 22 countries, and provides primary source content on colonial history, slave trade, and commerce.  

Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)

The dLOC is a cooperative, multilingual and multi-institutional digitization project of partners within the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean that provides users with open access to Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials held in archives, libraries, and private collections. Includes the Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library, the Caribbean Map Collection, Panama and Canal Zone materials, and The Vodou Archive.

Latin American Newsstand

Latin American Newsstand provides full-text information in Spanish and Portuguese from 41 newspapers from Puerto Rico and 11 Latin American countries, including Mexico, Argentina, and Brazil. 

Europe

Europeana - Newspapers

Offers European cultural heritage material from over 3700 different institutions, including newspapers articles, advertisements and opinion pieces from over 20 countries dating from 1618 to the 1980s.

EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History

A great open-access resource which includes European historical documents, video and sound files, photographs and access to multiple newspapers in various languages. 

International Herald Tribune, 1887-2013

Covers 126 years of reportage, with contributors from various countries and cultures. The newspaper began as the European edition of The New York Herald in 1887. In 1967, the newspaper was renamed The International Herald Tribune. The archive includes over 500,000 pages with more than six million articles, and covers a diverse range of content, from war reportage to cultural criticism. 

BELGIUM

Belgica: the KBR Digital Library 

An open-access online resource of 112 major Belgian newspapers. Languages covered are Dutch, French and German. Includes newspapers from the early 1800s to 1970s. 

DENMARK

Royal Danish Library - Mediestream 

Provides a full-list of searchable newspaper titles from the Royal Danish Library. Please note: global access does not include full-text items. 

FINLAND

National Library of Finland digitized newspapers 

Includes newspapers from the last 100 years, from the first Finnish newspaper published to more current titles. A full list of available newspapers can be viewed here

FRANCE

Le Monde 

One of France's most important and widely known newspapers. Established in 1944 Le Monde has covered national and world news, providing in-depth analysis of events worldwide. 

Le Temps 

Le Monde's predecessor, Le Temps was a newspaper of record. This essential historical archive provides full-text access to the years of 1861-1942. 

GERMANY

Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung 

Published daily in Frankfurt, F.A.Z. has become one of Germany's largest circulating newspapers nationwide. 

IRELAND

Irish Times (1851-2011) & Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958)

Full-text access to the Irish Times (1851-2011) and the Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958)

See also United Kingdom.

ITALY

Corriere Della Sera

Published in Milan, Corriere della Sera is Italy's oldest and most-read newspaper. 

Internet Culturale catalogs and digital collections of Italian libraries 

An archive from the Ministero Della Cultura, this resource offers access to Italy's libraries catalogs as well as full-text to various Italian newspapers. 

Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Rome 

This digital newspaper collection is searchable by the title and year of a newspaper, by viewing the full list of titles included, or by browsing the historical newspapers collection. 

THE NETHERLANDS

Nationale Bibliotheek - Delpher: Dutch Language Newspapers

Delpher contains text from over 1.7 million newspapers and is full-text searchable.  

Digital Collections of the Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin 

Contains full-text, open access to multiple German newspapers. Features include: the ability to search within a title, summary/ overview of a work, page views, downloadable features, and cite options. 

POLAND

Polona.pl

Digital collections website organized by the Polish National Library. Includes holdings from numerous Polish research libraries. Newspapers are included under the Press section.

RUSSIA

Novoe Russkoe Slovo Digital Archive

Searchable full-text and page images of the Russian emigre newspapers Russkoe Slovo (1910-1920) and Novoe Russkoe Slovo (1920-2010) published in New York City. Not all years have been digitized.

Pravda Digital Archive Russian newspaper. Coverage includes 1912 - 2017. 

SPAIN

Biblioteca Nacional de España - Digital Newspaper Collection 

The National Library of Spain, digital newspaper library, contains the most important publications of the Spanish printed press from 18th to the 20th century. A full list of titles can be viewed here

SWITZERLAND

Swiss National Library Digitized Collections 

This collection contains 164 titles and 69,002,257 articles from 1692 to the present. A full list of titles can be found here

Australia

Sydney morning herald

Founded in 1831, this widely read daily is the oldest newspaper published in Australia. 

The Australian 

Published since 1964, it is the only Australian newspaper distributed nationally. 

Asia

NewspaperSG 

Provides access to newspapers published in Singapore and Malaya between 1831-2009. The advance search feature allows users to explore newspapers by language, date of publication, or content type. Also includes information on over 200 newspaper titles in the National Library's microfilm collection.

South Asian Newspapers

This database offers online access to a few newspapers published in India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka during the 19th and early 20th century. A full list of included titles can be viewed here.

CHINA

People's Daily

Founded in 1997, People's Daily is China's largest newspaper and information exchange platform. It provides news coverage from 1946 to 2005. Searches may be limited by language, and past dates are browsable in the Archives tab.

South China Morning Post (1903-1996)

One of the first English language newspapers in Hong Kong, South China Morning Post is a searchable, full-text and full-image database providing articles from 1903-1996.

INDIA

Times of India, 1838-2003

 A daily Indian English-language newspaper. It is the country's oldest English language newspaper. 

JAPAN

Japan Times Archives

Japan Times is the oldest English-language Japanese newspaper. Dates of coverage include 1897-2015. 

VIETNAM

Vietnam Studies Group

The Vietnam Studies Group provides scholarly resources and information on Vietnam and is a sub-committee of the Southeast Asia Council of the  Association for Asian Studies. This online resource center contains a small section of newspaper titles published in Vietnam. 

The Americas

Latin American Newspapers (1805-1922)

This database provides access to more than 300 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922, including titles from Brazil, Argentina, Mexico, Peru, Venezuala, Chile, Guatamala, and others.  It covers the people, issues, and events that shaped Latin America during the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Latin American Newsstand

This database provides full-text information in Spanish and Portuguese from 41 newspapers from Puerto Rico and 11 Latin American countries, including Mexico, Argentina, and Brazil. 

Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) 

LANIC is a free, open access online resource from the University of Texas at Austin that provides access to online information about Latin America as well as information to and from Latin America.  It provides access to major Latin American newspapers. Users can browse newspapers by country or region. Also included are additional international resources. 

The University of Chicago Library - Latin American Spanish Language Newspapers 

Offers over 16 newspaper titles published in Mexico among other Spanish language newspapers. Searches can be limited by day, week, month, year or decade of the publication. 

CANADA

The Globe and Mail (1844-2011)

The Globe and Mail is a Toronto-based newspaper and one of Canada's most widely read newspapers. This database provides searchable, full-text and full-image articles from 1844-2011. 

The Vancouver sun (1986)

 First published in British Columbia, The Vancouver Sun is fully searchable and covers the years 1987-2003. 

MEXICO

Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de México - Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México 

Including nearly nine million digital pages, it is the largest virtual repository of images from newspapers and magazines printed in Mexico between 1722 and 2010.

Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press - University of Arizona 

This open access reference database documents and showcases publications published in Mexico and America. Includes Mexican-American history, from the Mexican Revolution to the Chicano Movement. Contains a timeline of available publication dates. 

The Middle East

The National Library of Israel - Jrayed Collection - Arabic Newspapers 

The National Library of Israel Jrayed Collection is a digital archive of Arabic newspapers and journals. Searchable and browsable by title, date, city, and frequency, it provides users with a wide range of newspapers and journals primarily from late Ottoman and Mandatory Palestine.

The National Library of Israel - Historical Jewish Press

The Jewish Press documents the history and culture of world Jewry from various countries and in multiple languages. An indispensable source documenting several decades of Jewish history from the 1780s to present day.

The University of Manchester Library - Nashriyah: digital Iranian history

United Kingdom

17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers

Includes more than 700 bound volume newspapers related to politics, education and economics from England, Ireland, and Scotland.  Also included are newsbooks, acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, and proclamations.

19th Century British Newspapers

Full runs of 46 newspapers, 17 national and 29 regional, selected by the British Library. Includes newspapers covering political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule, as well as penny papers targeting working and clerical class readers.

19th Century UK Periodicals. Series I & II

With more than 1.2 million pages, this online archival collection of British magazines, journals and specialty newspapers provides a comprehensive view into Victorian life, customs and society. Searchable and browsable by the publication's title, country, city and range of dates. 

Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive

Providing coverage from 1902-present, TLS includes articles from and about the most influential figures of our time, the controversies of today, and the response of their contemporaries, making it a rich research and teaching tool for students and scholars. 

The British Newspaper Archive 

Includes over 160 historic national, regional, and home country newspapers from the British Isles. 

Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004

This database offers the searchable, full-text content of Britain's Daily Mail, including all of the major news stories, features, advertisements, and images.

Guardian and Observer (1791-2003)

The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003), includes full-page and article images, with searchable full text.

Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003

A unique visual archive of 19th century Victorian Britain includes illustrations and photographs of events ranging from the Great Exhibition of 1851 to the Boer war.  

Independent Digital Archive, 1986-2012

The Independent is a major British national newspaper which launched in 1986. This database provides searchable full-text and full-image articles from 1986-2012. 

The Sunday Times, 1822-2006

Full-text archive of the London Sunday Times from its first issue in 1822 through 2006.

Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000

The Telegraph features articles on foreign affairs and foreign cultures. This historical archive contains 150 years and over 1 million full-text and fully searchable newspaper backfiles from its first issue to the end of 2000. 

Times of London Digital Archive (1785-2010)

The Times is regarded as one of the most influential news coverage resources of the eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth-century. This historical archive was the first online digitized newspaper collection of British newspapers. Includes full-text and page images of the entire newspaper, editorials, announcements, obituaries, and advertisements. 

NewsVault

A cross-searchable database of British historical news archives. Users can simultaneously search across The Times Digital Archive, 17th and 18th Century Burney Collections, Financial Times Historical Archive, The Economist Historical Archive, and many more.  

SCOTLAND

Scotsman (1817-1950)

Searchable full-text and full-image articles from The Scotsman from 1817-1950.