Skip to Main Content

Jewish Cookbooks: About

Description

Jewish Cookbooks at NYPL

Cover of book The gefilte manifesto, with black plate of brown gefilte fish on a white backgroundCover of book Modern Jewish cooking, showing small squares of dark bread with cream and loxCover of book Jerusalem: a cookbook, with a round black skillet of eggs and tomatoes sprinkled with herbsMore Information about this TitleMore Information about this TitleMore Information about this TitleMore Information about this TitleMore Information about this TitleMore Information about this TitleIndexIndex

Welcome to the Jewish cookbook collection at The New York Public Library (NYPL). The Library has one of the largest and most diverse Jewish cookbook collections in the world, primarily housed in the Dorot Jewish Division. The collection now includes more than 3,000 Jewish cookbooks written in 18 languages and published from the 19th century to the present, representing regions and cuisines from all over the world.

The collection was developed through the generous donations and bibliographic expertise of the late Roberta Saltzman (1960-2013), former Assistant Chief of the Dorot Jewish Division.

You are invited to explore the collection through this guide, the collection guide, and the Library's catalog. We welcome offers of donations of cookbooks not already in the collection. Please contact us at dorotjewish@nypl.org

Contact Dorot Jewish Division

Dorot Jewish Division Reference Librarians's picture

Dorot Jewish Division Reference Librarians

Ask a Librarian

Contact:

476 Fifth Avenue (42nd St and Fifth Ave)
First Floor , Room 111
New York, NY 10018

(212) 930-0601

dorotjewish@nypl.org

Website

Social: Facebook; Twitter

Subjects: Dorot Jewish Division, Jewish Studies

Accessibility for Print Disabilities

For researchers with print disabilities, the Library has resources and services available upon request. The following services are available:

Digitization of Select Research Materials

Researchers who are homebound or have a print disability or visual impairment can explore many of our research collections online and request digitization of specific items of interest. To request the digitization service, email accessibility@nypl.org. Please note that you must be a patron of the Andrew Heiskell Library. This digitization service only includes material belonging to the research collections and does not apply to branch/circulating collections. 

Screen Readers and Enlargers 

Every public PC at all New York Public Library locations is equipped with JAWS screen reading software and MAGic software for enlarging the screen, changing colors and contrast, and screenreading. 

Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library

The Andrew Heiskell Library offers popular reading materials in accessible audio and braille formats, as well as free membership to the Bookshare database of over one million accessible texts. It also offers individual coaching and a large variety of group workshops on topics related to accessible technology. Check the listings on our website, call 212-206-5400, or email talkingbooks@nypl.org for details. It also hosts many networking groups, resource fairs, writing workshops, accessible art workshops, book clubs, and other events. All are listed in the quarterly newsletter, available by email, website (text or audio), or over the phone.

For more information, see the Accessibility at NYPL page.