Mapping Local and Commuter Rail Transit in NYC: About

When researching rail transit in New York City, you might find maps to be a useful tool to better understand how rail transit has developed in this urban landscape. Some questions you might be asking yourself are: 

• What areas had rail transit available, and when?
• Which companies were involved in which routes?
• What types of rail transit (elevated, subway, or rail) were utilized in certain areas?
• What was the design of the maps, at specific periods of time?

This guide is designed to help you answer these questions as they pertain to subways, elevated rails, and surface tracks.  In this guide, you will learn how to:

• utilize NYPL's catalogs to locate maps related to rail transit
• locate supplementary resources to provide context for these maps
• utilize digital resources from NYPL and other reputable institutions

Please click the above tabs to learn more about how to generally use our catalogs to search for rapid transit maps,  related cartographic materials for specific rail companies and recommended ways to search, how to search for commuting lines before the subway, and additional non-cartographic resources that can supplement the maps.  

Image Source: Cover panel for Map of the underground railway of New York (greatest underground railway in the world) : showing its connections with the New York Central & Hudson River Railroad at Grand Central Station and at other points. 1905. NYPL Digital Collections Image ID 5073575

The recommended items in this research guide are only a selection of the vast amount of materials we have at NYPL. Make sure to utilize the page Using Our Catalogs, as well as the "Catalog Tips" on each page, to ensure that you are searching our entire collection. In terms of arrangement, please note that on each page of this research guide, when a selection of material is presented, they are arranged in chronologically order by publication date. 

Under each title are bullet points. These bullet points will include, in the following order:

• A call number. Certain items might have more than one call number- if so, additional call numbers will be listed.
• If any information might prove useful to understanding the item in the context of rail transit (i.e. creator, what is featured on the map), that information will be listed as an additional bullet point. 
• If the item is available digitally, the associated link will be included as an additional bullet point.

If you have any questions about our collection or inquiries related to your research, please email us at maps@nypl.org

You can request a virtual or in-person consultation in our online portal to talk to reference staff about your research and formulate next steps. 

For certain cartographic items in the Map Division, you will need to register for a NYPL Special Collections account. With this account, you can request cartographic materials to view in advance of your visit. 

To do so, you can visit the Online Research Catalog to search for collections and use the “Request Appointment” or “Request to Use On-Site” buttons to make your requests. If an item does not have either button, please contact maps@nypl.org 

If you are requesting materials specifically from the printed Dictionary Catalog, please use your Special Collections account to fill out this specific form.  

Apply for a NYPL Library Card via our online application.

With your card, you can:

• make advance requests to see maps from the Map Division
• make appointments or virtual consultation requests
• use our online databases

Please note that you do not need to live in New York City to receive a card. Click here to learn more about NYPL Library Card policies and eligibility.

For researchers with print disabilities, the Library has resources and services available upon request. The following services are available:

Digitization of Select Research Materials

Researchers who are homebound or have a print disability or visual impairment can explore many of our research collections online and request digitization of specific items of interest. To request the digitization service, email accessibility@nypl.org. Please note that you must be a patron of the Andrew Heiskell Library. This digitization service only includes material belonging to the research collections and does not apply to branch/circulating collections. 

Screen Readers and Enlargers 

Every public PC at all New York Public Library locations is equipped with JAWS screen reading software and MAGic software for enlarging the screen, changing colors and contrast, and screenreading. 

Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library

The Andrew Heiskell Library offers popular reading materials in accessible audio and braille formats, as well as free membership to the Bookshare database of over one million accessible texts. It also offers individual coaching and a large variety of group workshops on topics related to accessible technology. Check the listings on our website, call 212-206-5400, or email talkingbooks@nypl.org for details. It also hosts many networking groups, resource fairs, writing workshops, accessible art workshops, book clubs, and other events. All are listed in the quarterly newsletter, available by email, website (text or audio), or over the phone.