Quick Facts about Elevated Rails
- Alternatively known as "Els"
- Years of Note:
1867: Powered by cables, the first elevated railcar (9th Avenue El) in New York City was operated along Greenwich Street for financial backers. - 1868-1869: Construction continues to build the elevated rail northwards, while providing some passenger service.
- 1871: Converted to steam locomotive power
- 1878-1880: Opening of the 6th Avenue El (1878), 3rd Avenue El (1878), 2nd Avenue El (1879-1880) in Manhattan.
- 1885: First elevated railway in Brooklyn opens, known as the Old Main Line/ Lexington Avenue El.
- 1886: Bronx Els began operation, connected to the 2nd Avenue El.
- 1898: Electrified in Brooklyn.
- 1902: Electrified in Manhattan.
- Today: While many "Els" would be discontinued, elevated rails continue to exist in parts of Brooklyn, Bronx, Manhattan, and Queens as portions of today's subway system.
Image Source: Elevated R. R. Curve at 110th Street, New York City. NYPL Digital Collections Image ID 836551
Catalog Tips
- When using the Advanced Search function of the Online Research Catalog, checkmark "Cartographic" under Format.
- If you are interested in finding maps that showcase elevated railroads, we recommend the following searches:
- Keyword (Cartographic checkmarked): Elevated Railroads [borough/city]
- Example: Elevated Railroads New York City
- Example: Elevated Railroads Brooklyn
- Subject (Cartographic checkmarked)
- Keyword (Cartographic checkmarked): Elevated Railroads [borough/city]
A Selection of Elevated Railway Maps at NYPL's Map Division
Map showing the lines of the elevated railroads on Manhattan Island [cartographic material] / prepared by Gaylord Watson. [1877?]
- Map Div. 15-668
- Note: Shows elevated railroads: New York Elevated Railroad and Gilbert Elevated Railroad indicated in red and blue ink, respectively. Also shows wards, railroads, piers, ferry lines, and 1-mile radial distances from City Hall.
- Available digitally via NYPL Digital Collections: Click here to access.
- Map showing route of proposed elevated railway in Brooklyn / by Maclay & Davies. [1880]
- Map Div. 18-842
- Shows existing and proposed railroads connecting Downtown, Red Hook, Greenpoint, East New York, and Flatbush.
- Available digitally via NYPL Digital Collections: Click here to access
- Map of the City & County of New York showing routes & stations of the elevated railroads / compiled, printed and published by G.W. & C.B. Colton & Co. 1886
- Map Div. 15-709
- Note: Shows railway lines and stops. Also shows wards, piers and ferry lines.
- Available digitally via NYPL Digital Collections: Click here to access.
- [New York City elevated railroads.] [possibly 1897]
- Map Div. 15-765
- 2 maps on verso: New map of the City of Brooklyn showing the recent changes in the names of streets, route of the elevated rail road, location of the new Wallabout Market and correcting many inaccuracies of other maps / American Photo-Eng. Co., N.Y. -- [Map of Mantattan above 64th street and the Bronx.]
- Available digitally via NYPL Digital Collections: Click here to access
- The Home Life Publishing Co., The City of New York. 1904
- Map Div. 16-406
- Note: Shows railroads, elevated railroads and street car lines. Also shows piers, ferry lines, and 1-mile radial distances from City Hall.
- Available digitally via NYPL Digital Collections: Click here to access
- Interborough rapid transit railway and New York City railway lines in greater New York. [1907]
- Map Div. 14-1304
- Note: Shows elevated, surface and subway lines in Manhattan, the Bronx, western Queens and downtown Brooklyn.
- [Map of Manhattan, Bronx, Brooklyn and Queens boroughs showing the subway and elevated systems.]. 1923
- Map Div. 15-494
- Shows elevated and subway lines operated by Brooklyn Manhattan Transit Co. and Interborough Rapid Transit Co.
Image Source: Map showing route of proposed elevated railway in Brooklyn. NYPL Digital Collections Image ID 4067511
Additional Recommended Books and Documents at NYPL
To find supplementary books and documents related to the elevated rails, please conduct the searches listed on this page's "Catalog Tips" with "Cartographic" NOT checkmarked in either our Online Research Catalog or Digital Collections Portal. See below for a list of recommended materials:
- Historical Postcards of New York City
- Located in the Wallach Division Picture Collection
- Available digitally via NYPL Digital Collections. In the collection site, click "Navigation" and click the topic:
- New York City --- Elevated Railroads : Click here to access.
- New York City -- elevated railroads [graphic].
- PC NEW YC-Elev
- Located in the Wallach Division Picture Collection
- Available digitally via NYPL Digital Collections: Click here to access.
- Photographic views of New York City, 1870s-1970s, from the collections of the New York Public Library.
- AZ 12-2335
- Located in Irma and Paul Milstein Division of United States History, Local History and Genealogy
- Available digitally via NYPL Digital Collections. In the collection site, click "Filters" and type:
- "Elevated Railroads" as your search term: Click here to see those results.
- The Third Avenue El Demolition in the Bronx / Michael Fusco. 2012
- IRH 12-7267
- A field guide and handbook of thoughts, musings, observations, case studies, and histories (alternative, conventional & otherwise) on the elevated structure formerly and now known as the High Line of the Borough of Manhattan for flâneurs, cosmopolitans & bon vivants / featuring illuminating texts & images by Mark Dion, Jorge Colombo, Ethan Hauser, Kenneth Helphand, Bryan McGovern Wilson, Garret Miller, and Naomi Reis. 2017
- ReCAP 17-62