About
The Moving Image and Recorded Sound Division collects and preserves audio and moving image (AMI) materials related to the experiences of people of African descent. In this division, they hold media formats such as:
- VHS
- DVD
- Vinyl
- Cassette Tapes
- & more.
Here you can listen to interviews of choreographers and performers, dance instruction videos, and other programs.
This division does take walk-ins, however, it is always better to make an appointment first
The Ernie Smith Collection
The Ernie Smith Collection
The Ernie Smith Collection is a treasury of moving images for different kinds of media and genres, but all focused on Jazz and Jazz Dance performances. You can expect to find media such as:
- Feature-length films
- Film Clips
- Short Films
- Musical and Comedy Acts
- & More!
Featured Performers in this collection include Duke Ellington and Nat King Cole.
Within the collection there are two compilations:
- The Ernie Smith Jazz and dance film collection: From Bessie to Miles lecture Compilation
- Ernie Smith jazz and dance film collection: social, popular, and tap dancing lecture compilation
African Dance
Soolima Females Dancing.
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division, The New York Public Library. "Soolima Females Dancing." The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1825. https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47da-6fb5-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99
Dancing in the many cultures is almost always tied to religion or some sort of sacred ceremony. There are dances to call forth the rain, dances for a good harvest, and even traditional dances one must do when they reach a certain age or milestone in their life.
The Moving Image and Recorded Sound Division hold incredible audio and video recordings of different styles of African dance, interviews with African dance troupes and choreographers, and behind-the-scenes footage into the rehearsal process and early beginning of dance companies, performers, and choreographers.
African healing dance / with Wyoma [and the dancers of Damballa].Call Number: Sc Visual VRA-1082The program is a "step-by-step course on the healing tradition and expressive movements that are unique to Africa's dance heritage". Demonstrated are six African dances: Sowu, Gbêgbé, Focodoba, Umoya, Nago, Yonwalu, Healing journey.- Anasa Briggs on the cultural side. [Diamano Coura West African Dance Troupe]Call Number: Sc Visual DVD-782Zak Sao Diouf, director, choreographer and founder of the Diamano Coura West African Dance Troupe explains his start in dance and introduces three dance performances by the troupe
- Cuando los espíritus bailan mambo = When the spirits dance mamboCall Number: Sc Visual DVD-267Filmed primarily in Cuba, this documentary is a tribute to the spiritual energy that traveled from West Africa to Cuba. Tracing the role of sacred African thought and practice in the formation of the Cuban society, culture and popular music.
- Mbeni : dance of the Akamba.Call Number: Sc Visual DVD-548Mbeni dance, performed by the Akamba community of Kenya is renowned for its fast paced and precise movements that are prompted by heavy drumming and terse instructions by the dance leader, referred to as ngumii. Adapted from ancient dances, it was given a facelift by soldiers returning from serving in the second world war, injecting in it many military characteristics including marching, saluting, shouting of instructions, shooting demonstrations etc.
- Ndumo : dance of the Agikũyũ.Call Number: Sc Visual DVD-558"The Agikũyũ community is endowed with a rich cultural heritage in which music and dance is highly valued. Ndumo, an integral part of this heritage is strictly a girls' dance and was originally performed during the times of plenty harvests in special arenas known as ihaaro. This dance facilitated courtship for the girls thus they were expected to be morally upright and exhibit the best dancing and singing skills
Two African dances
Jerome Robbins Dance Division, The New York Public Library. "Two African dances" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1866. https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/0d88f2b0-ada3-0133-4b51-00505686a51c
Harlem WPA Street Dance
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Art and Artifacts Division, The New York Public Library. "Harlem WPA Street Dance" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1935 - 1943. https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/4a6c0440-2893-0132-4636-58d385a7bbd0
Collections
- Lavinia Williams oral history collection, with Haitian dance demonstrations]Call Number: Sc Visual VRA-38a-gThe Lavinia Williams Oral History Collection documents the life of Lavinia Williams and includes dance demonstrations for sacred dances and other activities.
- Oral history interview with Ernie SmithCall Number: Sc Visual DVD-1319The Oral History Interview with Ernie Smith documents segments of his early years, his interest in jazz and dance, and his activities as a film collector.
- Oral history interview with Katherine DunhamCall Number: Sc Visual VRA-1174In this interview, Katherine Dunham primarily discusses the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater's tribute program, "The Magic of Katherine Dunham" which was in rehearsals at the time of the interview. She reminisces about the origins of the pieces featured in the tribute, "L'Ag'Ya" and "Barrelhouse," "Cakewalk," and "Choros."
- Oral history interview with Pearl Primus.Call Number: Sc Visual DVD-1554The Oral History interview with Pearl Primus documents Pearl Primus' early years, dancing career, and anthropological pursuits.
Law! Miss Feely Whip! - wouldn't kill a skeeter!
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division, The New York Public Library. "'Law! Miss Feely Whip! - wouldn't kill a skeeter!'"" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1897. https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47df-e54b-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99
- Beat street / directed by Stan Latham.Call Number: Sc Bluray-25Three friends who dream of breaking out of their South Bronx existence find a ray of hope in the form of a local composer/choreographer, who takes interest in their individual talents.
- Beyond the steps : Alvin Ailey American dance theater / directed by Phil Bertelsen.Call Number: Sc Visual DVD-374Provides a rare backstage look at one of America's oldest modern dance companies at a defining moment in its history as it settles into its own permanent home and training facility in New York City.
- Impressions / Danny Sloan Dance Company; choreographed by Danny SloanCall Number: Sc Visual DVD-1369
- Daybreak. Gotta dance [videorecording]Call Number: Sc Visual VRB-1951Choreographer Alvin Ailey talks about his start in dance and his work with the American Dance Theater.
- Destination freedom : dance anthropologist. (Radio program.)Call Number: Sc Audio C-407 Side 1A radio dramatization based on the story of Katherine Dunham, modern dancer and noted choreographer, also one of the great interpreters of Caribbean dances; script by Richard Durham.
- It's all about dancing: a Jamaican dance-u-mentaryCall Number: Sc Visual DVD-64Examines the form of popular dance in Jamaica associated with "dancehall" music. Includes instructional segments. Features interviews with dance competition participants.
- Missing pages, a moment in Black history. DanceCall Number: Sc Visual VRB-49 [No. 11] Dance.Illustrates the contributions of Arthur Mitchell and Katherine Dunham to the world of dance.
- Ruth Williams dance studioCall Number: Sc Visual DVD-901A look at Ruth Williams' dance studio in Harlem where generations of young girls have attended dance classes. Former and current students, parents, and Ruth Williams, herself, comment