Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dance, Dance, Dance!: Exploring Dance Collections at the Schomburg : Archival Collections

This research guide aims to give researchers an introduction to some of the dance collections that are housed across multiple departments within the Schomburg Center for Research in Black culture

The Schomburg Center's Manuscripts Archives and Rare Books Division

135th Street Branch. Interior.
New York Public Library Archives, The New York Public Library. "135th Street Branch. Interior." The New York Public Library Digital Collections. https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/92eadd7f-8071-ffa7-e040-e00a18064a9e

 

The Manuscripts, Archives, and Rare Books Division of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture provides access to primary source materials created by and about Black people. This page will focus on different collections related to all forms of dance. You can expect to find Manuscripts, Letters, scrapbooks, and more! 

Images of the Nicholas Brothers dance team from the

Images of the Nicholas Brothers dance team from the "Cotton Club Parade" program, circa 1938

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Photographs and Prints Division, The New York Public Library. "Images of the Nicholas Brothers dance team from the "Cotton Club Parade" program, circa 1938" 

Ada

Ada "Bricktop" Smith, entertainer and nightclub owner, outside Café le Grand Duc, Paris

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Photographs and Prints Division, The New York Public Library. "Ada "Bricktop" Smith, entertainer and nightclub owner, outside Café le Grand Duc, Paris" 

Shogola Oloba dance troupe with Asadata Dafora (front, center) and Esther Rolle (front, right)

Shogola Oloba dance troupe with Asadata Dafora (front, center) and Esther Rolle (front, right)

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Photographs and Prints Division, The New York Public Library. "Shogola Oloba dance troupe with Asadata Dafora (front, center) and Esther Rolle (front, right)" 

Front page of a folded flyer for Asadata Dafora's Shogola Aloba Group production of "Kykunkor," at the Congo Room of the Saratoga Club, Harlem, New York, performed on March 24, 1934

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division, The New York Public Library. "Began capering and dancing with her."" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1897.

tow women dancing in colorful garments

Piper and Dancer. Tripoli. Dancing Woman. Sockna.

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division, The New York Public Library. "Piper and Dancer. Tripoli. Dancing Woman. Sockna." The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1821.

Archival Collections