Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dance, Dance, Dance!: Exploring Dance Collections at the Schomburg : General Research

This research guide aims to give researchers an introduction to some of the dance collections that are housed across multiple departments within the Schomburg Center for Research in Black culture

Jean Blackwell Huston Research and Reference Division

The Jean Blackwell Hutson Research and Reference Division holds and provides access to books, serials, and microforms containing information by and about people of African descent throughout the world, concentrating on the humanities, social sciences, and the arts. You can expect to find media such as 

  • Books
  • Microfilm
  • Micofiche 
  • Maps
  • Periodicals 
  • & More

This division is open to the public and does not require any appointment to view materials. You can search this collection by going to

  1. Legacy Catalog (In which you can narrow down by collection/division) 
  2. NYPL Research Catalog 

 

Feel free to check out the Conducting Research page to learn more about how to conduct research here at the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture 

Choreography

Dance Forms & Culture

Visiting the Collection - Jean Blackwell Huston Research and Reference Division

Religious dancing of the Blacks, termed "Shouting".

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Jean Blackwell Hutson Research and Reference Division, The New York Public Library. "Religious dancing of the Blacks, termed "Shouting"." The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1872.

Can researchers walk in to access the collection?

We are open for research and quiet study, and to access the Library's general collections.

Are research appointments required to access the collection onsite?
General collections are available to view without an appointment.

Who can researchers contact with further questions?
Please email us at schomburgreference@nypl.org with any additional queries.

Learn more about this division

Ask a librarian