Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

African American Theater: Other NYPL Collections

Guide contains resources about African-American theater. Guide by A J Muhammad.

Besides the Schomburg Center, NYPL has a myriad of resources including a digital collection and holdings at other libraries including Library for the Performing Arts and the Schwarzman Building that offers researchers access to one-of-a-kind materials in a variety of formats. 

Theatre On Film and Tape Archive

Library for the Performing Arts' Theater on Film and Tape Archives houses video recordings of Broadway, Off-Broadway, indie theater and regional performances dating back to the 1970s. Recordings of productions from the Crossroads Theater Company, a Tony award-winning New Jersey-based company that has been on the forefront of shepherding new works by Black dramatists to the stage for decades, are contained in the TOFT.

Billy Rose Theatre Division

The Billy Rose Theatre Division within the Library For the Performing Arts has unpublished play scripts, libretto, programs, reviews, photographs, posters, personal papers and a clipping collection. This division also has scholarly journals, books, periodicals, and a circulating collection.

The Rogers and Hammerstein Archives of Recorded Sound

Library for the Performing Arts' The Rogers and Hammerstein Archives of Recorded Sound holdings include classical music, operas, original cast albums, speeches, radio dramas and more. This collection contains more than 70,000 recordings and is one of the largest music repositories in the world.

Jerome Robbins Dance Division

The Jerome Robbins Dance Division at the Library for the Performing Arts boasts the world's largest comprehensive archive on dance. In this division researchers may access a moving image archive of over 25,000 titles, a dance audio archive, archival manuscripts, rare books, clipping files, programs, journals, ephemera and more.  

Stephen A. Schwarzman Library

Researchers can find published play script texts and other resources in the General Research Division of the Schwarzman Library that may not be available at the Schomburg Center. 

NYPL's Digital Collection

Rehearsals for A Raisin In the Sun

David Cogan, Lorraine Hansberry, Lloyd Richards, Philip Rose and Sidney Poitier during rehearsals for the play A Raisin in the Sun. Friedman-Abeles Photograph Collection. The Billy Rose Theatre Division at the Library For the Performing Arts.