The Jean Blackwell Hutson Research and Reference Division is located on the C-Level at the Schomburg Center and is where researchers may access published works (including primary and secondary sources) such as play scripts, biographies, periodicals, and databases. No appointment is needed to use resources in this division. An *asterisk in the call number indicates that the item is in the Open Shelves which are located in the Aaron Douglas Reading Room in the Research and Reference Division. Contact this division directly via email at schomburgreference@nypl.org or (212) 491-2218 during regular hours.
Bibliographies
Are you looking for plays by Black playwrights that were published in the 19th through the late 20th centuries, but don't know where to start? Try a bibliography of plays!
Contemporary Black American Playwrights and Their Plays by Call Number: Sc *812.54-PISBN: 0313251908Publication Date: 1988
Periodicals, Databases and Other Resources
The following are few peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed journals that publish articles on Black theater, performance and literature that are available to researchers. Some issues of the journals are available in print and as e-journals and may be accessible with a valid NYPL card.
The following are databases that contain digitized newspapers, scholarly journal articles, and streams/recordings of live theater performances. Databases with the icon of a blue house next to the title may be accessed remotely with your valid NYPL card and four digit pin number. Databases with the icon of a lion next to the title may only be accessed on site at any NYPL branch or research library.
- Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- African American Newspapers 1827-1998
Hundreds of U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience from more than 35 states. A collection feature of America's Historical Newspapers. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of Readex/Newsbank. **Patrons should read theTerms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- African American Periodicals 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and page images of over 170 periodicals, published in 26 states, by and about African Americans. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, and annual reports. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of Readex/Newsbank. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Digital Theatre Plus
Full length British theatre productions, interviews with cast and crew, and documentaries about the production. Includes productions from Shakespeare to contemporary plays, with teaching guides. This database also include, opera, musical theatre, dance/ballet, symphonic and chamber music, as well as theatre from Russia and 20+ from South Asia, and film shorts. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- EBSCOHost
Provides access to over 30 databases with citations, abstracts and selected full-text. Includes Academic Search Premier, Business Source Complete and other subject-specific resources. Specific databases available through EBSCOhost are listed at the EBSCOhost site and in this directory. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Full text of entertainment industry trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting, and theater. Titles include Variety (1905-2000), Billboard (1894-2000), Broadcasting (1931-2000), Melody Maker (1926-2000), and more.
**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.** - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A searchable, digitized archive -- from the first date of publication to the last three to five years -- of major scholarly journals in many academic fields. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of JSTOR. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ProQuest Historical African American Newspapers
African American historical newspapers throughout the United States. Collections include the Atlanta Daily World 1931-2003, Baltimore Afro-American 1893-1988, Chicago Defender 1910-1975, Cleveland Call and Post 1934-1991, Los Angeles Sentinel 1934-2005, New York Amsterdam News 1922-2010, Norfolk Journal and Guide 1921-2003, Philadelphia Tribune 1912-2001, and Pittsburgh Courier 1911-2002. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
The following are resources that contain information on African American theater in the Research and Reference Division.
Clipping FilesThe clipping file collection contains newspaper and magazine clippings, and other ephemera that was collected by the Schomburg Center Research and Reference staff on influential Black people from the African diaspora including performing artists, organizations, etc. (Pt 1. covers 1925-1974; Pt 2 covers 1975-1988. Both parts 1 and 2 are only available on microfiche. Part 3 covers 1988 onward and the clippings are available in their original format).- Kaiser Index to Black resources, 1948-1986Call Number: Sc *071.016-KThis print guide, which is in four volumes and is located both at the Reference Desk and in the Quiet Reading Room, lists articles that appeared in both the African American and mainstream press and is searchable by name, subject or organization. Many of the publications listed in the Kaiser Index have been digitized and are accessible via databases. Other titles may only be available in print or microform.
Play Script Anthologies
10-Minute Plays Anthology Presented by Harlem9, Inc by Call Number: Sc E 17-220ISBN: 9781530826568Publication Date: 2016
25 Plays from the Fire This Time Festival by Call Number: Sc E 22-1320ISBN: 9781350268111Publication Date: 2022Classic Plays from the Negro Ensemble Company by
Call Number: Sc E 96-602ISBN: 0822938820Publication Date: 1995
Contemporary Plays by Women of Color by Call Number: Sc F 18-316ISBN: 9781138189454Publication Date: 2017
Zora Neale Hurston, Eulalie Spence, Marita Bonner, and Others by Call Number: Sc D 97-976ISBN: 0783814364Publication Date: 1996
African American Theater History
African American Performance and Theater History by Call Number: Sc E 01-618ISBN: 0195127242Publication Date: 2001
The African American Theatrical Body by Call Number: Sc E 11-1139ISBN: 9781107014381Publication Date: 2011
The Cambridge Companion to African American Theatre by Call Number: Sc E 13-591ISBN: 9781107017122Publication Date: 2012
A Century of Musicals in Black and White by Call Number: Sc E 93-624 (at reference desk)ISBN: 0313266573Publication Date: 1993
Historical Dictionary of African American Theater by Call Number: Sc *792-089-HISBN: 9780810855342Publication Date: 2008
In Search of Our Warrior Mothers by Call Number: Sc E 18-479ISBN: 9780810136946Publication Date: 2018
The Undiscovered Paul Robeson , an Artist's Journey, 1898-1939 by Call Number: Sc E 01-385ISBN: 0471242659Publication Date: 2001
