Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Any images you plan to use in a scholarly work from print or the Web should be cited according to required format style, such as MLA, Chicago/Turabian, and APA formats. If you need help finding these resources please check the Library's catalog.
Recommended Image Resources
NYPL Digital Collections
Provides access to over 700,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
A non-profit organization that builds and distributes the Digital Library, an online resource of more than 2 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
Berg Fashion Library
Provides integrated text and image content about world dress and fashion throughout history.
Explore millions of artworks, artefacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives.
Search and view millions of photographs from the Associated Press archive.
New York City Image Resources
OldNYC: Mapping Historical Photographs of New York City
Provides an alternative way of browsing the NYPL's incredible Photographic Views of New York City, 1870s-1970s collection.
Museum of the City of New York (MCNY) Collections Portal
Explore New York’s past through nearly 205,000 objects from the collection of the Museum of the City of New York.
New-York Historical Society Digital Collections
Presents selections from the New-York Historical Society Museum and Library’s holdings, featuring highlights from the collections of paintings, drawings, photographs, manuscripts, broadsides, maps, and other materials that reveal the depth and breadth of over two centuries of collecting.
New York City Municipal Archives Online Gallery
Gives research access to over 900,000 items digitized from the Municipal Archives' vast holdings, including photographs, maps, motion-pictures and audio recordings. Some of the images in the Online Gallery may be subject to third-party rights such as copyright and/or rights of privacy/publicity.
New York Real Estate Brochure Collection
The New York Real Estate Brochure Collection, housed in Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library's Classics Department, consists of over 9,200 advertising brochures, floor plans, price lists, and related materials that document residential and commercial real estate development in the five boroughs of New York and outlying vicinities from the 1920s to the 1970s. The majority of the collection is offerings for apartment and other residential spaces.
New York Transit Museum Digital Collections
Over 10,000 photographs, posters, maps, and artifacts from the Museum’s collections can be viewed online.
Images of Museum Artworks
Getty Search Gateway
Allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids.
Los Angeles County Museum of Art Collections (LACMA)
This site allows visitors to quickly search and sort images and information based on the user’s individual preferences, ultimately providing quick and easy access to LACMA’s encyclopedic collection. In addition, visitors can now download high-quality images of public domain artworks from LACMA’s permanent collection without restriction on use.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection
Creates, organizes, and disseminates a broad range of digital images and data that document the rich history of the Museum, its collection, exhibitions, events, people, and activities.
MoMA/Grove Art Teaching Resources
Designed by The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), these resources for educators offer an exploration into the history of modern art, drawing on works in a variety of media from the museum's rich collection and articles in Grove Art Online.
National Gallery of Art
The National Gallery of Art implements an open access policy for digital images of works of art that the Gallery believes to be in the public domain. Images of these works are now available free of charge for any use, commercial or non-commercial. Users do not need to contact the Gallery for authorization to use these images.
Public domain images in Rijksstudio may be downloaded for free from the relevant page.
The Frick Digital Collections
This site enables visitors to browse and download jpegs of large format digital files created through projects supported by the National Endowment for the Humanities, The Henry Luce Foundation and METRO. The collections include photoarchive images and documentation, book materials, Frick Collection images, and archival documents.
National Portrait Gallery's Portrait Search
The images of the National Portrait Gallery collection objects are part of Smithsonian Open Access. This means you are free to download, transform, and share thousands of portraits for any purpose, for free, without asking permission from the National Portrait Gallery. Smithsonian Open Access invites you to discover a world where you can learn, research, explore, and create in ways you couldn’t before. What will you imagine?
Victoria & Albert Museum
A working database providing online access to over a million catalogue records and over half a million images of objects in our collections. We make as much information available as we can and continually enrich and update the database. New text and images are added each month.
Library Image Resources
The British Library Images Online
Images Online is the Picture library of the British Library, the national library of the United Kingdom. This resource gives users access to thousands of images from the Library's collections.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC)
Contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.
The White House Historical Association
A private nonprofit educational organization with a mission to enhance the understanding and appreciation of the Executive Mansion. First Lady Jacqueline Kennedy founded the Association in 1961 to help the White House collect and exhibit the very best artifacts of American history and culture.