Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archives of American Art
The Archives of American Art is the world’s preeminent and most widely used research center dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.
A comprehensive database of artists and their works. Users can search the website by an artist’s name, the name of an artistic work, or for a particular art museum.
The Art Story
Contains articles on artists, movements, and times periods that were central to modern art.
Artsy | The Art World Online
Features the world’s leading galleries, museum collections, foundations, artist estates, art fairs, and benefit auctions, all in one place.
An online database containing close to 300,000 artists, providing biographies, images, citations, museums owning their work and galleries representing the artist's work.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA)
The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its website. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA).
Getty Research Portal
The Getty Research Portal is an online platform providing global access to digitized art history texts. The Portal is comprised of catalog records that link to full, digitized texts hosted by the contributing institutions or their service providers.
Search the world's most comprehensive index of full-text books.
The History Makers
The HistoryMakers is a national 501(c)(3) non-profit research and educational institution committed to preserving and making widely accessible the untold personal stories of both well-known and unsung African Americans. Through the media and a series of user-friendly products, services and events, The HistoryMakers enlightens, entertains and educates the public, helping to refashion a more inclusive record of American history.
ICAA Documents of Latin American and Latino Art
Explore over 8,000 Documents of 20th and 21st-century art in Latin America, the Caribbean, and among US Latino communities.
International Foundation for Art Research (IFAR)
Offers impartial and authoritative information on authenticity, ownership, theft, and other artistic, legal, and ethical issues concerning art objects. IFAR serves as a bridge between the public, and the scholarly and commercial art communities. We publish the award-winning quarterly IFAR Journal; organize conferences, panels, and lectures; offer a unique Art Authentication Research Service and provenance research services; provide comprehensive Web-based resources, such as the Catalogue Raisonné Database and the Art Law & Cultural Property Database; and serve as an information resource. We invite all people interested in the visual arts to join our organization and help support our activities.
Latin American and Caribbean Contemporary Art Web Archive
The Latin American and Caribbean Contemporary Art Web Archive is a collection developed by the Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation's Art & Architecture Librarians, and is an extension of an existing effort focused on collecting publications in all formats that document contemporary art and artists of Latin America and the Caribbean. The agreement defines contemporary art as it refers to 'developments in the visual arts from 1975 to the present,' with material sought 'for the entire career of artists who have been active at any time since 1975.' This archive aims to preserve for researchers the personal and official websites belonging to notable contemporary Latin American and Caribbean artists, artists’ collectives, artists’ groups, galleries, museums, and related entities in order to assure the continuing availability of the important content they contain.
The Met presents over 5,000 years of art from around the world for everyone to experience and enjoy.
The Met’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection.
New York Architecture
Tom Fletcher is an Australian architect who works in New York. He created this website which has a lot of useful information on architecture including images and notes.
New York Art Resources Consortium (NYARC)
The New York Art Resources Consortium (NYARC) consists of the research libraries and archives of three leading art museums in New York City: The Brooklyn Museum, The Frick Collection, and The Museum of Modern Art. With funding from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, NYARC was formed in 2006 to facilitate collaboration that results in enhanced resources to research communities.
NYPL Digital Collections
Provides access to over 700,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
Photographers’ Identities Catalog
Photographers’ Identities Catalog (PIC) is an experimental interface to a collection of biographical data describing photographers, studios, manufacturers, and others involved in the production of photographic images. Consisting of names, nationalities, dates, locations and more, PIC is a vast and growing resource for the historian, student, genealogist, or any lover of photography's history. The information has been culled from trusted biographical dictionaries, catalogs and databases, and from extensive original research by NYPL Photography Collection staff.
Union List of Artist Names® Online
The Union List of Artist Names ® (ULAN), the Art & Architecture Thesaurus ® (AAT), the Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names ® (TGN). the Cultural Objects Name Authority ® (CONA), and the Iconography Authority (IA) are structured resources that can be used to improve access to information about art, architecture, and material culture. Through rich metadata and links, it is hoped that the Getty vocabularies will provide a powerful conduit for research and discovery for digital art history and related disciplines.
WATCH: Writers, Artists, and Their Copyright Holders
A database of copyright contacts for writers, artists, and prominent people in other creative fields. It is a joint project of the Harry Ransom Center and University of Reading Library in England. Founded in 1994 as a resource principally for copyright questions about literary manuscripts held in the U.S. and the U.K., it has now grown into one of the largest databases of copyright holders in the world.
Whitney/Guggenheim Art Resources from the Mid-20th Century
Via archive.org: Digitized Highlights from the Collections of Hilla Rebay and Juliana Force - A Collaborative Project Between the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum and the Whitney Museum of American Art. This collection contains digitized versions of key selections from the personal libraries of two women who helped shape the mid-century New York art world— Hilla Rebay at the Guggenheim (then the Museum of Non-Objective Painting) and Juliana Force at the Whitney.