Research Guides: Art Resources from Home: Online Resources &amp; Databases

Find E-Journals and Scholarly E-books by Title

The Find E-Journals and E-Books by Title page is the best place to locate journals in electronic format and scholarly e-books.
One could browse by Subject: Art, Architecture & Applied Arts

Get Help

For further assistance in using any of these resources you can contact the Art & Architecture staff by email at art@nypl.org.

Electronic Resources

Art Research
Multi-Disciplinary Journals, Articles & Abstracts

ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Dates of Coverage: 1974-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online offers users the ability to access the vast content of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms all in one interface. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Artifex This link opens in a new window
Artifex Press is a publisher of digital catalogues raisonnés and is now a part of Cahiers d’Art Institute. A catalogue raisonné is the definitive, comprehensive, and annotated compilation of all the known works of an artist. Artifex Press combines art-historical research with the flexibility of digital publishing, creating digital archives for various artists, including: Chuck Close, Jim Dine and Tim Hawkinson. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Archive.org
A non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Berg Fashion Library
Comprehensive coverage of world fashion from reference titles, journal articles, ebooks, and images. Select "Resource Area" to access lesson plans, thematic reading lists, and biographies. Please note that Fairchild Books and Fashion Photography Archive content is not included in the Library's subscription. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Design and Applied Arts Index
International index to design and craft journals. Dates of Coverage: 1973-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Contains nearly 120,000 annotated references from more than 450 design and craft journals, and data on nearly 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops.

Gallica – The BnF digital library
One of the major digital libraries available for free via the Internet. It provides access to any type of document: printed documents (books, press and magazines) in image and text mode, manuscripts, sound and iconographic documents, maps and plans.
Gallica is intended to all readers, whether users just having a look, booklovers, students or academics.

Harper's Bazaar Archive
The entire run of Harper's Bazaar, in full text and full color, from 1867-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

HathiTrust Digital Library
A collaborative repository of digital content from major research libraries including content digitized via the Google Books project and Internet Archive initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by libraries.

Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
A unique visual archive of 19th century Victorian Britain, including illustrations and photographs of events ranging from the Great Exhibition of 1851 to the Boer war. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A searchable, digitized archive -- from the first date of publication to the last three to five years -- of major scholarly journals in many academic fields. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of JSTOR. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
New York Times (1851-2020) w/ Index This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and page images from The New York Times archive with the option to search by subject headings (index covers 1851-1993). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
This database is only accessible at the following NYPL locations: Stephen A. Schwarzman Building; New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center; Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture; Thomas Yoseloff Business Center; All Branch Libraries
Smithsonian Collections Online
Gale and the Smithsonian Institution have partnered to give libraries a unique opportunity to provide students, faculty, and researchers the chance to look behind the glass of the Smithsonian exhibits and collections. The database covers The National Museum of American History's Trade Literature Collection and the Warshaw Collection of Business Americana (ca. 1820-1926) and six Worlds Fair and Exposition collections (1831-1940). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
The Women's Magazine Archive provides digital access to decades of women's-interest magazines in high-resolution color and in full-text from cover to cover. This collection covers magazines from the 19th and 20th centuries. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Dates of coverage:1846-2005. Better Homes & Gardens (1922 to 2005); Chatelaine (1928 to 2005); Good Housekeeping (1885 to 2005); Ladies' Home Journal (1883 to 2005); Parents (1926 to 2005); Redbook (1903 to 2005); Cosmopolitan (1886 to 2005); Essence (1970 to 2005); Seventeen (1944 to 2005); Town and Country (1846 to 2005); Woman's Day (1937 to 2005)

Academic OneFile
This article database includes full-text and abstracts of scholarly, trade, and general-interest periodicals covering topics in the areas of current events, general sciences and technology, social sciences, arts, and humanities. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
African American Periodicals 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and page images of over 170 periodicals, published in 26 states, by and about African Americans. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, and annual reports. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of Readex/Newsbank. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Ancestry Library Edition
Access billions of names in thousands of genealogical databases including Census and Vital Records, birth, marriage and death notices, the Social Security Death Index, Passenger lists and naturalizations, Military and Holocaust Records, City Directories, New York Emigrant Savings Bank records, and African American and Native American Records. Library version of Ancestry.com.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
This database is only accessible at the following NYPL locations: Stephen A. Schwarzman Building; New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center; Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture; Thomas Yoseloff Business Center; All Branch Libraries
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Indexes biographical listings in print dictionaries and encyclopedias covering millions individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. A good resource for researching those who are less well-known or famous. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical information on 650,000+ people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines. For more in-depth biographies of figures from American history, consult American National Biography. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Brill Online Books and Journals
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals and book-length scholarship in the humanities and social sciences. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Credo Reference
Provides full-text online access to hundreds of multidisciplinary reference book collections, including art, history, law, medicine, psychology, technology, bilingual dictionaries and encyclopedias. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Credo is a vast, online reference library, providing access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. And Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, and much more. Find speedy, simple answers and authoritative, in-depth articles.Credo Reference contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range or subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology, via maps, math, management, martial arts, media studies, medicine, mountains, moons, music, multimedia, mythology.
EBSCOHost
Provides access to over 30 databases with citations, abstracts and selected full-text. Includes Academic Search Premier, Business Source Complete and other subject-specific resources. Specific databases available through EBSCOhost are listed at the EBSCOhost site and in this directory. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Flipster
Access over 100 popular magazines, including Bon Appetit, Sports Illustrated, Time, and People, through this digital platform. Send issues to the app (available in the Apple App Store and Google Play) for offline reading. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Please Note: In order to access magazines through the Flipster app please follow the steps below:
1. Download the Flipster app onto a device.
2. Go to the NYPL articles & databases page and access Flipster through our website. Or type the following URL in your web browser on your phone or device: https://www.nypl.org/collections/articles-databases/flipster
3. Click on Connect to Database, you will be asked to sign in with your library card and pin number if accessing remotely. Look up the magazine you want, choose "Read this Issue".
4. There is an option in the upper left hand corner (looks like 3 lines), chose open in App.
5. The Flipster app usually opens automatically, but if not just go to the Flipster App and click on "shelf" the magazine should be downloaded and can be read offline.
General OneFile
This general periodical database contains over 12,000 periodicals, newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources, over half of which are full text. The backfile extends nearly 30 years. Subjects include humanities, education, environmental issues, technology, health care, politics, and more. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
MasterFILE Premier
Contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
MasterFILE Premier provides full text for over 1,800 general interest, business, consumer health, general science, and multicultural periodicals. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,500 periodicals.
Newspapers.com This link opens in a new window
Newspapers.com is the largest online newspaper archive consisting of 300+ million pages of historical newspapers from 11,100+ newspapers from around the United States and beyond, with a special focus on full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles in addition to small local newspapers. The collection includes a broad range of dates, mostly covering the 19th and 20th centuries. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of ProQuest and its partner Newspapers.com. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
PressReader
Provides access to current newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. Includes over 2,000 U.S. and international titles. Formerly called PressDisplay. Registering as a user with the site is optional and allows for personalized, saved settings. Patrons should consult PressReader's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy before registering. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Please Note: In order to access newspapers and magazines through the PressReader app please follow the steps below: 1. Go to the NYPL Articles & Databases page and access PressReader through our website. Visit https://www.nypl.org/collections/articles-databases/pressreader 2. Sign in with your library card credentials. 3. Locate the green button on the bottom of your screen or device and click Open in app. 4. Download the app. 5. To ensure that you have access in the app, please activate HotSpots. To do this, tap on Settings in the menu > HotSpots > Enable HotSpots.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 500 peer-reviewed scholarly journals and top quality book-length scholarship in the humanities and social sciences. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
ProQuest Research Library
Provides articles from periodicals covering arts, business, children, education, health, humanities, law, multicultural studies, sciences, social sciences, and general interest. Full text is available for nearly two-thirds of its titles. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
ProQuest Research Library contains articles from over 2600 newspapers and periodicals covering the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, sciences. Of those journals approximately 1700 are available with the full text and/or image.
Ethnic NewsWatch (1959-present)
Collection of ethnic, minority, and native newspapers, magazines, and journals published in America. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and page images of the leading Black newspaper of the 20th century. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
This leading Black newspaper of the 20th century reached its peak in the 1940s. The Amsterdam News was a strong advocate for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and also covered the historically important Harlem Renaissance.

Art Resources from Home: Online Resources & Databases

Find a Database

Find E-Journals and Scholarly E-books by Title

Get Help

Electronic Resources