Overview
Before visiting any of the Collections it is important to plan ahead.
- All who have a New York Public Library Card are welcome to consult collection material.
- Since we are composed of five collections, we all hold different operating hours and/or additional restrictions.
- Checking the individual collections website can help as a first step.
- As a research library:
- In the Picture Collection users may borrow up to 60 pictures at a time on any subject with a library card.
- Patrons can browse the shelves or ask a librarian to find images.
- The other collections are non-circulating, material must be consulted in the building.
- We are a closed-stack library so patrons will need to request the material they would like to see with library staff.
- In the Picture Collection users may borrow up to 60 pictures at a time on any subject with a library card.
- Navigating our holdings varies from collection to collection.
- The brief descriptions below can help narrow down how to search our holdings for each collection.
- For additional information, check out the Plan Your Research Visit page.
The Art & Architecture Collection
The Art & Architecture Collection is the primary access point for readers and researchers wishing access to published works on fine art, decorative arts, architecture and design history.
- Search the library’s online catalog at catalog.nypl.org to see our vast collection of books, journals and newspapers...
- Need tips on searching the library catalog click here.
- For further information or to request material email art@nypl.org.
The Photography Collection
The Photography Collection includes examples of almost every photographic process, from the daguerreotype to digital imagery.
- Search the Prints & Photographs Online Catalog in order to see our holdings.
- Tip: search by photographer’s name, title of work, photographic process, or time period.
- Books and periodicals on general photography are accessible primarily through the Art & Architecture Collection and are searchable in the Library’s online catalog.
- For further information or to request material email photography@nypl.org.
The Print Collection
The Print Collection holds close to 200,000 original prints, ranging from woodcuts, engravings, etchings, lithographs, and screenprints to digital prints.
- Search the Prints & Photographs Online Catalog in order to see our holdings.
- Tip: search by creator’s name, title of work, process, or time period.
- Books and periodicals on prints can be searched for in the Library’s online catalog.
- For further information or to request material email prints@nypl.org.
The Picture Collection
The Picture Collection is an unparalleled visual resource for creative people in any medium. It contains well over one million original prints, photographs, posters, postcards, and illustrations from books, magazines, and newspapers, classified into subject headings.
- Consult the full list of subjects headings
- Users may borrow up to 60 pictures at a time on any subject with a library card.
- For further information or to request material email picturecollection@nypl.org.
The Spencer Collection
The Spencer Collection surveys the illustrated word and book bindings of all periods countries and cultures.
- Search the library’s online catalog to see our holdings in this collection
- You can do a “Call Number” search under the classmark Spencer Coll.
- For further information or to request material email prints@nypl.org.
Reference Librarians
Third Floor, Room 300
New York, NY 10018
Helpful Research Guides
Learn more about what's available in our collections by visiting these other research guides:
- Art Deco: A Research Guide
- Art Resources from Home
- Costume and Fashion History: A Guide to Resources
- Finding Pictures in the Picture Collection
- Fluxus Materials at The New York Public Library
- Guide to the NYPL Artists' Books Collection
- How to Research an Artist
- Latin American Art & Latine Art: A guide to resources
- Researching Black Artists: An Introductory Research Guide