Research Guides: Guide to the Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs: Collection Highlights

Artists & Pamphlet Files

Image of Artist File Boxes Some libraries, especially museums and historical societies have vertical files of miscellaneous ephemeral material that can include information on artists and cultural institutions. The Artist and Pamphlet Files consist of ephemeral materials on painters, sculptors, architects, fashion designers, designers, jewelers, craftsmen, collectors, and artisans. The range of material is broad and consists of articles from magazines and newspapers, reproductions, photographs, manuscripts, gallery and museum announcements, exhibition brochures and press releases. Its greatest strength lies in its inclusion of both major and minor artists. This information is not available through our online catalog, instead, you can consult our department staff directly.

Artists' Books Collection

Image of an Artist Book

The Artists’ Books Collection (ABC) of the New York Public Library is one of the largest and most important collections in the country. To date, the collection holds more than 8,500 items. The majority of the Library’s holdings of artists’ books are concentrated in the Print Collection, which holds the best examples of this unique genre. Interested in learning more? Check out our research guide to the NYPL Artists' Books Collection.

NYPL Digital Collections

Hara, Asa no Fuji

Many collection items from the Wallach Division have been digitized and are available freely by visiting our Digital Collections page! For example, Andō Hiroshige's landscape series The Fifty-three Stations of the Tōkaidō are available to view and download.

Greeting Cards and Postcards

Image of a post card

The Picture Collection offers a variety of greeting cards and postcards for research. Ranging from the mid-1800s to the present, the greeting cards represent mostly western holidays from Christmas to birthdays and include international examples. A variety of styles from handmade to commercially produced can be found. Postcards in the Picture Collection have circulated from at least the early 1920s and were likely housed with subject files until later segregated into a separate collection. The circulating collection of postcards is organized by the name of the country or territory, while the collection of reference postcards follows the subject headings we use for our general files. The collection comprises over 25,000 postcards. The acquisition of postcards and greeting cards in the Picture Collection has been entirely through donations by supporters and collectors.

Get Help

For further assistance in using any of these resources you can contact the Art & Architecture staff by visiting us in Room 300 of the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building or through email at art@nypl.org.