Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guide to the Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs: About

Welcome! This guide will provide an overview about the five collections that make up the Wallach Division of Art, Prints, and Photographs

Introduction

The Stephen A. Schwarzman Building

Welcome to the Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs. Our Division is one of the nine divisions located within the historic Stephen A. Schwarzman Building, which is often referred to as the "Main Branch," of the New York Public Library. This Beaux-Arts landmark building on Fifth Avenue and 42nd Street houses outstanding research collections in the humanities and the social sciences.

About the Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs

Image of Wallach Reading RoomsEstablished in 1987 thanks to a gift from the Wallach family, The Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs unites what had formerly been separate departments under a single banner. Divisional holdings comprise works of art as well as reference materials on painting, sculpture, drawing, printmaking, photography and the history of architecture from prehistoric times to the present. The Wallach Division also serves as the access point to the Spencer Collection of illustrated books and manuscripts and fine bindings. In 2017, the Picture Collection also joined the Wallach team. Together, these five collections include more than one million works of art in various mediums and formats, complemented by nearly 700,000 monographs and periodicals. The quality, depth and scope of these holdings have earned the Wallach Division an international reputation among a broad variety of scholars and lovers of art. If you would like a more detailed description of a particular collection, please click on the Collection's website available below.

Reference Librarians

Art & Architecture Collection Reference Librarians's picture
Art & Architecture Collection Reference Librarians
Contact:
476 Fifth Avenue (42nd St and Fifth Ave)
Third Floor, Room 300
New York, NY 10018
(212) 930-0835
Website