Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Remote Map Research at NYPL: Prepare for Your Next Library Visit

Access to Collections and Services

Use the Catalogs

While we look forward to the reopening of libraries everywhere and a return to life as we have known it, you can prepare to do research in the Lionel Pincus and Princess Firyal Map Division once again, face-to-face with needed items from the full extent of our paper map collection and our knowledgeable staff, by consulting our catalogs.  They include the online, easily searchable Classic Catalog (also known as the Research Catalog) and the Dictionary Catalog of the Map Division, a 10-volume wonder of the riches our collection held as of 1970.  You can learn more about the Dictionary Catalog, its arrangement, and the images of its pages now available online, by reading a blog post celebrating the catalog.

Dictionary Catalog of the Map Division

Image of spines of several volumes of the Dictionary Catalog of the Map Division on the shelf in the NYPL Map Division

Online Research Consultations

Map Division librarians and curators are available via email to answer research-specific questions and provide research consultations.

Sample Partial Page from Dictionary Catalog

Partial page from Dictionary Catalog of the Map Division, v. 10, showing entries for Verona, Italy, Verona, New Jersey, and Verona, New York

Courtesy of HathiTrust, Dictionary Catalog of the Map Division, v. 10, page 398. Boston: G.K. Hall &  Co., 1971.

Online Classic Catalog a.k.a. Research Catalog

Image of landing page/basic search page of NYPL's online catalog, known as both the Classic Catalog and the Research Catalog