Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Holocaust Research, Education, and Remembrance Online: Survivors' Stories

This guide outlines online resources for Holocaust education and remembrance, including research, curriculum, and multimedia resources.

Survivors' Stories

Survivors’ personal stories are a powerful primary source for learning about the Holocaust.

 

The websites listed here focus on digitized oral history interviews with survivors.

 

undefined

Pictured: The grave of Hinde Kharlopsky-Shternberg (of blessed memory),

a victim of the Nazis, who died and was buried in Bergen-Belsen in 1945.

Near the grave stands her friend, Regina Kshepitsky-Yakubovitsh.

Sefer zikaron li-ḳehilat Veyelunp. 386.

 

 

undefined

Pictured: Elie Wiesel, Holocaust survivor and renowned author.

NYPL Digital Collections, Image TH-64778.

Websites

AHEYM Project: Archives of Historical and Ethnographic Yiddish Memories (University of Indiana, Bloomington)

Linguistic and oral history project with Holocaust testimonials.

 

Blavatnik Archive Foundation - Veteran Testimonies & Ephemera of Russian Jews

1,200 unique video interviews with Russian Jewish men and women who fought in the Soviet armed forces and partisan detachments during World War Two.

 

Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies (Yale University Library) 

4,400 testimonies comprising 12,000 hours of video.

 

Holocaust Studies: Oral Histories, Memoirs, etc. (NYU Libraries) 

Digital, archival, and communal resources.

 

Holocaust Survivors' Stories (Wexler Oral History Project, Yiddish Book Center)

Oral histories of survivors and their descendants. 

 

Houston’s Survivors (Holocaust Museum Houston)

Survivor testimonies from the local community.

 

Jewish Survivors of the Holocaust: Oral History Recordings (British Library) 

1818 interviews from oral history projects.

 

Jeff and Toby Herr Oral History Archive (United States Holocaust Memorial Museum)

One of the largest and most diverse collections of Holocaust testimonies.

 

Phillip Maisel Testimonies Project (Jewish Holocaust Centre, Judy & Leon Goldman Centre for Holocaust Education) 

1500 recorded testimonies of survivors, mostly from Melbourne, Australia.

 

USC Shoah Foundation: The Institute for Visual History and Education 

55,000 video testimonies of Holocaust and genocide survivors.

 

Video Testimonies Resource Center (Yad Vashem)

Growing collection of survivor testimonies.

 

Voices of Holocaust Survivors: Oral Histories and Personal Narratives (NYPL)

Guide to survivors’ stories in NYPL’s collection and beyond.