Jewish Studies in the Manuscripts and Archives division: Holocaust studies

Eugen Lauchheimer family records Eugen Lauchheimer was a Jewish resident of Nördlingen, Germany. Vital records, being principally family lineage records, 1817-1939. Includes documents which reflect the persecution of Jews during the Nazi regime.

Raphael Lemkin papers  Raphael Lemkin (1900-1959), a Polish-born lawyer who coined the term "genocide", emigrated to the U.S. in 1941 and devoted his life to the crusade for the international adoption of the U.N. Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide. 

Sol Bloom papers  Sol Bloom (1870-1949) was a U.S. Congressman from New York City, 1923-1949, and served as chairman of the Committee on Foreign Affairs, 1939-1949. Collection consists of Bloom's public papers as a member of Congress. Some case files concern Jews and refugees in Europe and elsewhere who sought permission to emigrate to the United States before, during and after World War II. 

Arthur D. Morse papers  Arthur David Morse (1920-1971) was an author and television producer for the Columbia Broadcasting System. Includes page proofs, research notes, and other papers relating to the pubication of Morse's book, WHILE SIX MILLION DIED: A CHRONICLE OF AMERICAN APATHY (1968). Material about the War Refugee Board. Also, other writings concerning nutrition, health, and education.

Rose Pesotta papers Rose Pesotta was a celebrated labor leader, union official, garment worker, and writer. She was born in 1896 in the Jewish ghetto of the Ukrainian town of Derazhynia, and died in Miami, Florida in 1965. Her papers include personal accounts, manuscripts of writings, among others, and a program to commemorate the Warsaw Ghetto uprising of 1945. 

Moe Berg papers Morris (Moe) Berg (1902-1972) was an American baseball player, linguist, lawyer, and spy during World War II. Collection consists of correspondence, speeches, reports, photographs, newspaper clippings, and other memorabilia reflecting Berg's career in major league baseball, his service during World War II, his interest in linguistics, his travels, and other matters.

Herbert J. Seligmann papers  Herbert Jacob Seligmann (1891-1984), writer and civil rights activist, published books and articles on civil rights, World War II, artists, and related topics. Papers document the career and personal life of Herbert J. Seligmann through letters, writings and printed and visual materials. His works include studies of the rise of Nazism during World War II, reviews of fine art books, and photographs of Europe include pictures of Jews in the Netherlands, Poland and Romania after World War I.

Nathan Baruch letter to Bernard Baruch Director of American Vaad Hatzala Emergency Committee. Letter written from Germany in regard to protecting Jewish interests and recovering Jewish heritage in the aftermath of the Nazi regime.

CARE records  Records of CARE document the organization's early years as a temporary relief agency in post-World War II Europe, and the evolution of its scope into international relief and development work. Materials include the files of CARE's executive staff, project files, administrative correspondence between CARE's headquarters and its overseas missions and regional field offices in the U.S. and Canada, reports, studies, press releases, and financial records. 

Emergency Committee in Aid of Displaced Foreign Scholars records  The Emergency Committee in Aid of Displaced Foreign Scholars was formed in New York City in 1933 by American academicians for the purpose of employing refugee German scholars in American institutions. Many of these refugee scholars were Jews displaced by the National Socialist government. The collection consists chiefly of grant files on refugee scholars who applied for aid from the Committee. The records also include correspondence with other refugee and philanthropic organizations and with the educational institutions which accepted refugee scholars.

Joint Boycott Council of the American Jewish Congress and Jewish Labor Committee records  The Joint Boycott Council was formed in 1936 by the American Jewish Congress and the Jewish Labor Committee in order to coordinate their boycott of German goods and services prior to World War II. The Council researched imports of German goods, demanded that companies end such purchases, published a list of boycotted firms, and picketed those not abiding by the boycott. The boycott was ended when the U.S. entered the war in 1941.

American Committee for the Guidance of Professional Personnel records  The American Committee for the Guidance of Professional Personnel was formed in December, 1938, as a result of a meeting in Chicago of the Association of American Law Schools. Its purpose was to provide fellowships in the United States for refugee lawyers, many of Jewish origin, who sought retraining in American law schools.

International Committee for Political Prisoners records  The International Committee for Political Prisoners was founded in 1924 to to agitate for the release and raise funds for the relief of political prisoners throughout the world. Contains information on German refugees between 1935-1940.

Richard Plant papers  The Richard Plant Papers document the literary activity and academic career of the author and educator best known for his book The Pink Triangle (1986), a study of the persecution of homosexuals in Nazi Germany. The collection consists of correspondence, manuscripts, typescripts, research files, photographs and audio recordings. The files contain a great deal of information related to Plant's study of the persecution of homosexuals in Nazi Germany and the composition of his book on the subject, The Pink Triangle. Particularly important in this regard are letters exchanged with Rüdiger Lautmann, Albert de Cocatrix, Jim Steakley and Ian Young. 

Anne Marx papers  Anne Marx was a poet, lecturer and editor. She was vice-president of the Poetry Society of America in 1978 and regional president of the National League of American Pen Women in 1992. Marx, who was Jewish, realized that her future was not in Germany when her further matriculation into medical school was prohibited in 1933. With the political order rapidly degenerating around her, she prepared all the necessary affidavits and documents for her and her younger sister's emigration from Germany to the United States in 1936. 

Jonathan Ned Katz papers Jonathan Ned Katz (1938 - ) is an independent historian, author, LGBTQ rights advocate, teacher, and textile designer. hey most heavily document Katz's research and writings on LGBTQ history and activism, and encompass his personal life, family, friends, and the LGBTQ liberation movement. Includes an interview with Richard Plant and interview with Ruth Peter Worth (lesbian emigre from Nazi Germany).

Saul Kussiel Padover papers  Saul Kussiel Padover (1905-1981), historian and teacher, was born in Austria but came to the U.S. in 1920. From 1938 to 1943 he served as Assistant Secretary of the Interior and did intelligence work in Europe during World War II. Collection consists of materials generated in Germany from October 1944 through May 1945 by Padover and two colleagues, Lewis Gittler and Paul Sweet. They were members of the OSS (Office of Strategic Services) attached to the U.S. Army. Papers contain copies of psychological and political profiles based on interviews with Nazi party members, workers, industrialists, radicals, government officials, former prisoners in concentration camps, children, and others. Also included are analyses of conditions in the liberated areas, daily summaries of intelligence and political reports, personal journals kept by Padover with reflections on conditions in Germany in the final days of World War II and on-the-spot descriptions of death camps, a few photographs, typescripts of articles by Padover and Gittler, newsclippings from American newspapers, and some memorabilia. 

Ernst Papanek papers  Ernst Papanek (1900-1973) was an Austrian-born child psychologist and educator known for his work with refugee children during and after World War II and for his involvement in socialist parties in Europe and the United States. Collection consists of Papanek's correspondence, writings, diaries, photographs, sound recordings, and other materials, most of which relate to his work with children's homes in Europe and the U.S. General correspondence concerns juvenile delinquency; refugee children of World War II.

Erich Fromm papers  Erich Fromm (1900-1980) was a psychoanalyst, author, educator, and social philosopher. He was born in Frankfurt, Germany and emigrated to the United States in 1934. In New York Fromm was associated (until 1939) with the International Institute for Social Research. The papers also reflect to some extent the plight of European Jews several of whom sought Fromm's aid in emigrating from Germany, France and Poland just before the outbreak of World War II.