Arts décoratifs 1925 : a personal recollection of the Paris exhibition by Call Number: 3-MAL+ 77-574ISBN: 0856702579Publication Date: 1975
Authentic Art Deco Interiors by
'Art Deco Interiors' examines the movement's origins, development and influences, observing its mixed and often surprising antecedents: the Arts and Crafts Movement, fin-de-siecle Vienna, Cubism, Expressionism and the Bauhaus.
Call Number: *R-ART NK2049.A1 D83 1989ISBN: 1851491198Publication Date: 1990
French Art Deco by
An essential survey of French Art Deco, with alluring photographs that render it an art object in its own right The French Art Deco style, which encapsulates the complex, modern sensibilities of the early 20th century, is epitomized by the French works exhibited at the Paris 1925 Exposition Internationale des Arts Décoratifs et Industriales. The exquisite craftsmanship and artistry of the dazzling works displayed spoke to a sophisticated modernity, yet they were rooted in tradition. Interest in Art Deco has not only endured to the present day, but has grown steadily, and the style is now better known and more collected than ever before. This informative publication provides an introduction to the historical backdrop for the Art Deco movement and outlines the most salient aspects of the aesthetic. Sumptuous, all-new photography features over one hundred masterpieces, created by forty-five artists, from the Metropolitan Museum of Art's renowned collection. Each chapter focuses on a specific designer, and includes a biography and discussions of the objects, enlivened by generous quotes from contemporary writings. As one of the only English volumes devoted to French Art Deco, this is a significant contribution to the study and appreciation of the style.
Call Number: JQF 14-1282ISBN: 9780300204308Publication Date: 2014
The Machine Age in America by
This study offers a comprehensive look at American art, architecture, photography, film, and industrial and graphic design in the years between the two world wars.
Call Number: *R-ART TS23 .W55 1986ISBN: 0810914212Publication Date: 1986
Modern Taste: Art Deco in Paris 1910-1935 by
The definitive book on Art Deco: an elegant large-format hardcover with hundreds of museum-quality color reproductions featuring exquisite examples of Art Deco jewellery, ceramics, laquer, fashion, textiles, graphic design and art work Modern Taste: Art Deco in Paris, 1910-1935 offers readers an opportunity to appreciate, examine, assess and enjoy an artistic movement that defies easy definition but which has been described as "the last of the total styles": Art Deco. Comprehensive and beautifully designed, Modern Taste includes nearly 400 works in a wide array of media: painting, sculpture, furniture, fashion design, jewelry, film, architecture, glassware and ceramics are all represented, alongside the photography, drawings and advertisements that helped create "the modern taste." The book aims to question the almost total absence of Art Deco from the history of modern art and from curatorial practice, and to vindicate--as some exemplary cases did in the wake of the Deco revival from the 1970s onwards--not only the evident beauty of Art Deco but also the fascination exerted by this singularly modern phenomenon with all its cultural and artistic complexity. What we know as Art Deco was an alternative style to the avant-garde. It stood for a modernity that was pragmatic and ornamental rather than utopian and functional, and it became the great shaper of modern desire and taste, leaving its characteristic stamp on Western society in the early decades of the 20th century. An elegant and stylish addition to any design library.
Call Number: JQG 15-473ISBN: 9788470756290Publication Date: 2015
The Roaring Twenties by
No longer dismissed as a protracted New Years Eve party between the First World War and the Great Depression, the twenties are seen today as a watershed, a time that saw the birth of mass consumer society as it exists today. This anthology examines the ingredients of that new society as well as individual turning points in the decade that brought us modern sales promotion, chain stores, radio, tabloid newspapers, jazz, mixed drinks, organized crime and the 1929 stock market crash.
Call Number: ILH 05-2083ISBN: 0737718099Publication Date: 2004
The Roaring Twenties by
The 1920s constituted a decade of change and contrast, when modern America began to emerge from the shadow of World War I. Updated and expanded from the last edition with new information in many sections, ""The Roaring Twenties, Revised Edition"" offers new coverage of the social, political, and economic history of this decade, including developments in science, from astrophysics to laboratory science to discoveries and inventions; the creation of new professional sports leagues; the labor union movement; censorship, and writers, artists, and moviemakers are looked at in more depth. This volume captures the complexities of the 1920s and brings to life the various events that occurred during this tumultuous yet exhilarating decade. ""The Roaring Twenties, Updated Edition"" provides hundreds of firsthand accounts of the period - from diary entries, letters, speeches, and newspaper accounts - that illustrate how historical events appeared to those who lived through them. New eyewitness testimonies to this edition include J. Edgar Hoover, Emma Goldman, Calvin Coolidge, William Randolph Hearst, Eugene O'Neill, William Faulkner, Walt Disney, Thomas Edison, John D. Rockefeller, and Winston Churchill. In addition, this new volume features an introductory essay, new chronology entries for each chapter, a notes section that provides students and researchers with further information, as well as an updated bibliography with new sources and new editions of sources. This updated volume also contains many new critical documents, including Arthur Compton's Banquet Speech on Winning the Nobel Prize in Physics, as well as capsule biographies of more than 90 key figures; 95 - new - black-and-white photographs; seven maps, graphs, and tables; appendixes; and an index.
Call Number: *R-USLHG E784 .S76 2007ISBN: 0816064237Publication Date: 2006
Top drawer : American high society from the Gilded Age to the Roaring Twenties by Call Number: JLF 84-1636ISBN: 0689114311Publication Date: 1984-09-01
The Encyclopedia of Art Deco by Call Number: NK789.5.A7 E54 1988ISBN: 9781577150466Publication Date: 1998
Historical Dictionary of the 1920s by
This is yet another fine historical dictionary from Greenwood. . . . This carefully edited work should prove an asset for all reference collections and as a useful handbook for students of twentieth-century American history. Reference Books Bulletin The Dictionary presents more than 700 short essays on people--George Herman Babe Ruth, Warren Gamaliel Harding, and Roscoe Fatty Arbuckle; legislation--Agricultural Marketing Act of 1929, the Revenue Acts of 1921, 1924, and 1926, and the Reconstruction Finance Corporation Act of 1932; popular culture--baseball, motion pictures, radio, jazz; foreign policy--the Washington Naval Conference of 1921-1922, the Nine Power Treaty, the League of Nations; politics; social history--women's rights, the Harlem Renaissance, immigration; and culture--the Lost Generation, expatriatism. A detailed chronology and selected bibliography with twenty-three subcategores complete this history of the 1920s.
Call Number: *R-USLHG E784 .O44 1988ISBN: 9780313256837Publication Date: 1988
A History of French Passions 1848-1945 by
This is a history of the French, which attempts to explain their idiosyncrasies, enthusiasms, and prejudices. It goes beyond a mere recital of events to investigate the attitudes and behavior over an unusually wide range of activities. The first part scrutinizes the peculiar way of thinking and of talking adopted by the French and their ambivalent feelings about foreigners. It shows what it meant to be a Breton or a Provencal, an Alsatian, or an Auvergnat. The second part analyzes French taste and the role of the artist. It enquires into the quality of life, the French view of happiness, friendship and comfort, humor, reactions to scientific progress, compromises with corruption, and superstition. This survey is a major reinterpretation of France's achievement as a nation and of the individual experiences of the French. It has taken its place as one of the great works of scholarship on modern France.
Call Number: *R-RMRR DC330 .Z44ISBN: 0198221045Publication Date: 1973
The Routledge companion to art deco by Call Number: JQF 19-1611ISBN: 9781472485144Publication Date: 2019
