Looking for Journals or Magazines
Wondering if the library has a particular journal, magazine or newspaper?
- Use the catalog's Journal Title search function to find magazines, journals, and newspapers that are held in our research library.
- Journals and Magazines of the time period may serve as some of the best resources.
- Some recommended Journal titles are listed below:
Gazette des beaux-arts.
Call Number: MAA (Gazette des beaux-arts)ISBN: 0016-5530Publication Date: 1859Gazette du bon ton : art, modes & frivolités. by
Call Number: 3-MMA (Gazette du bon ton)Publication Date: 1912 to 1925
L'art décoratif: revue de la vie artistique, ancienne et moderne.Call Number: 3-MAA (Art Décoratif)
Electronic Resources
The following is a list of some of the art databases that can be of assistance when looking up information on the Art deco movement and style. They can be found under Articles & Databases from the Library’s website. Please keep in mind that not all will be available outside the Library.
- Interested in what resources you can access from home?
- View our guide: Art Resources from Home.
- Interested in a more comprehensive guide to our Electronic Resources?
- View our guide: Electronic Resources at the New York Public Library.
- Design and Applied Arts Index
International index to design and craft journals. Dates of Coverage: 1973-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles from an international selection of periodicals including French, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, Swedish, and English-language journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Art Index Retrospective
Indexes articles in periodicals, yearbooks, and museum publications, 1929-1984.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Dates of Coverage: 1974-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes articles on architecture in its broadest sense, including archaeology, decorative arts, interior design, furniture, landscape architecture, and city planning from 1930s to present. Includes a large number of architects' obituaries, a rich source of biographical information. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online offers users the ability to access the vast content of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms all in one interface. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon (AKL)
Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon Online (Artists of the World Online) is biographical reference guide to artists. It contains up-to-date, authoritative information on over one million artists.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ARTstor
ARTstor is a nonprofit resource that provides access to more than one million images in the arts, architecture, and other fields in the humanities and sciences.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- AskART
AskArt covers American artists providing biography, images, citations, museums owning their work and galleries representing the artist's work. AskART also provides access to auction results.
Available only in Room 300, the Art & Architecture Collection. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.** - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A searchable, digitized archive -- from the first date of publication to the last three to five years -- of major scholarly journals in many academic fields. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of JSTOR. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
